We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!”

Osteria al Diplomatico
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Marghera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somewhere
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Casual restaurant with fresh food, cooked with care. We ate for entree "scheti" with white polenta and baby octopus stewed in tomato sauce. Below we ordered a shrimp pasta aglio e olio with shrimps and crumb and a fantastic plate of black tagliolini with cherry tomatoes and shrimps. Good house wine and coffee at the end ... unforgettable dinner with 22 € per person!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciribillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    179
    31
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant after finding it on trip advisor. It wasn't far from our hotel so we decided to hunt it out. It was full of locals and the waitress told us that the menu is different every day so it is only available in Italian, she explained what everything was and gave us recommendations. We both had the mixed seafood starter which included squid with polenta, sardines with pickled onions, prawns, scallops in garlic butter and others. For main I had pasta Vongole which was delicious and my parter had prawn lasagne. The food and atmosphere were great and the house wine is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant over others in Venice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raychimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just stumbled at this great restaurant and it was the best value to a great meal. They had just a "menu" of they day - fish and sea-food, and it was just the thing!! Don't eat in venice... It in Marghera :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyGrinshpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobral, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on Saturday night, made a reservation and advised there was live music which turned out to be an excellent trio of piano, bass and drums playing a selection of jazz. A limited menu with a choice of 3/4 starters and main courses, nearly all fish based. The food, service, ambience were all excellent. If you are in this area do not miss this restaurant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CabecodoSanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem outside the tourist trap”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I had our first dinner while visiting Venice at Osteria al Diplomatico and it couldn't have been more perfect. While the exterior is somewhat less-than-inviting, it should not deter you from entering and eating some of the best food in Italy. Once you walk through the front door, you find the restaurant clean, well appointed, and intimately lit, especially at night. The service was fantastic, with at least 3 different employees stopping by to make sure everything was satisfactory, to take away dishes, and to bring us the endless supply of their amazing house white wine. As Americans, we are always sheepish being unable to speak fluent Italian, but the employees of Osteria al Diplomatico were EXTREMELY friendly and were eager to help us understand some of the more traditional and complex Italian dishes. The menu was relatively small and written on a chalkboard and easel, which they would bring around to your table for your viewing. Despite the limited menu, they had a dynamic list of offerings sure to satisfy anyone. My wife ordered the fried fish filet and I ordered spaghetti with clams, both dishes were tastebud-blowing. The spaghetti was perfectly tender, with an outstanding balance of olive oil and herbs. There was a very healthy amount of clams, which were clearly fresh, in both appearance and taste. My wife's fish was also clearly fresh and flaky, with a light breading over a very large filet. Paired with the house white wine, which was some of the best we had on our trip (only 3 euro for a half liter), our food made for the best meal we had on our entire trip. Dinner for two, plus a few jugs a wine will only set you back about 18-30 Euros. If it hadn't been for our long days in Venice proper and long trip backs at night, we would have tried to eat here for dinner every night during our stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria al Diplomatico also viewed

Mestre, City of Venice
Marghera, City of Venice
 
Marghera, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria al Diplomatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing