We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barsalini
Nearby Hotels
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Ilio(Sant'Andrea)
$132
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Corallo(Marciana)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brigantino(Procchio)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$163
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

L'Oleandro(Marciana)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Belmare(Marciana)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Del Golfo(Procchio)
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $480/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Desiree(Procchio)
$295
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $377/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
183
64
10
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
64
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssant andreamid junemain portelba islandthe hotel is cleannice roomsmall beachseagardenrentdinner
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 261 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I wanted to recommend this hotel, I really did! But the owner of this hotel actually *yelled* at me in both Italian and broken English b/c I had forgotten my luggage there ("abandoned it" as she said) and she threatened to leave it at some police station on this Island for me to 'go pick up' while I was standing, luggage-less, in a Rome hotel some 4 hours away. Yikes. So that sums up the service at this hotel. :(

I DO however wish to thank BIANCA for getting my luggage back to me, even if it did take over a month, and I alone had to figure out where and how it should be shipped back, after many dozens of phone calls and emails. Unlike US, where if you forget luggage, you get it very next day at your next hotel, "no charge and no complaints", in Italy if you leave luggage behind by accident, it can easily ruin your entire vacation and you will think Federal charges will soon be filed against you - so learn this lesson well! Yikes.

Bianca who thank God knew enough English to communicate with us, went the 'extra mile' to get my things back and without yelling at me even once. Yah Bianca! Many thanks again. :)

So with that aside, here is my review...

Location & Beauty: Truly unbelievable. I agree with the reviewer who said "probably you never forget this hotel" as the location was BEYOND gorgeous. We had a lovely balcony with view of pool and sea. The sea sparkled from just over the red clay tiles of the hotel and there were tons of lovely vistas and tiny beachy paths to walk down to get to the sand, which is literally RIGHT below your hotel room. Very convenient! Yes there are lots of kids but they were well behaved and it was overall a very good mix of young, old, and everything in between. I think everyone would feel comfortable on that beach as it is so inclusive and Europeans have such a "whatever" attitude anyway. Nice!

Beach: Absolutely gorgeous. We rented a boat from Daniel's Boat Rental, which is just a shaky card table + chair propped up on the beach. :) BEST BOATING EXPERIENCE EVER!!! We felt like rock stars cruising around the Mediterranean in that FAST little boat and getting out to swim up to the various caves!! If you look down you'll see ship wrecks, fish of all kinds (eel, sharks, etc) so be careful! I'm sure snorkeling would have been great but we were just wanting to buzz around and lay out for sun. PERFECT. Boating here was THE BEST experience we had in Italy, hands down! We will never forget it!

Food: Always there is something open! This is key if, like us, you like to eat! Most of Italy "closes up shop" at various (highly unpredictable) times of day and then you will be stuck with noplace to get a meal for literally hours at a time. By US standards this is definitely strange so it was great to find this particular beach area where always there is SOME place to nosh - either in hotel or at one of the little kick back, feet in the sand, beach restaurants. Gelato choices were endless on the beach too - big plus! Had breakfast at hotel's restaurant (included in fee) and there was plenty to eat though nothing different from other hotels across Italy.

Lanuage Barrier: BIG problem here. We went in September and 95% of visitors were German. No English speakers whatsoever. Nice to be in a completely non English speaking area for a bit, b/c you feel as tho you are TRULY "away from it all"! But owners speak ONLY Italian. I do wish they knew some English so we could have talked easily. I love both languages but speak neither so communicating was truly impossible. You would be surprised how stressful this can get after a couple of days (and esp if you leave your luggage behind! Forget it!). Also all 3 of us got the feeling that Americans are not exactly "welcome" here, as in all of Italy, so if you are from US prepare yourself for that.

Spa: Didn't work as advertised. You pay $10 to use it for the hour. The "hyrdrotherapy tub" is NOT a hot tub whirlpool as you would assume. It is just BARELY lukewarm water, kind of chilly actually, and it has bubbles - that's all. We used it anyway and the view was pretty but it was COLD! The sauna did NOT work at all. It was not even plugged in. No apologies or refunds for that either. When we asked about it they said "oh well, the main tourist season is over". Ohhh-kay. But I paid $10 to use it? Not their problem. Right after we left, a group "ran in" behind us without paying their $10 and nobody busted them, even though we told the Front Desk about it. An hour later, they were still in there partying it up. :^o So apparently the $10 per hour 'fee' is pretty random. If you are dumb enough to go to the front desk like we did and tell them you are using the Hot Tub Area, then you WILL be charged but if you SNEAK in, apparently it is FREE. That's Italy tho in general. You have to shrug off a lot of things you see there.

Rooms: NO English channels on TV! Bummer. Tons of German & Italian stations tho. Even one station in English such as CNN would have been VERY very welcome as after 2 weeks in Italy we were wondering what is going on at home. Rooms were clean tho which is all we actually expected. Loved the balcony with the swimsuit 'dryers' and fantastic view, which is where we spent all out time, while not on the beach!

Friendliness: NOT friendly. By American standards, our group found them quite unfriendly and not at all 'welcoming'. I know in US we have much higher standards and in general "the customer is always right" does NOT exist in Italy whatsoever. So be forewarned!

In general, we LOVED the location so much that everything else was eclipsed by that. This is truly a one of a kind spot!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly_in_ChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Spent a long weekend here in mid-June. Excellant swimming/snorkeling weather. The hotel was friendly and charming--tiled floors, flowers everywhere. They put out a lovely antipasti spread with drinks on the terrace before dinner. Good local food in modest proportions. The beach just steps away was typically Italian with lounge chairs and umbrellas lined up for rent, and walks to rocky coves. We followed the "lifeguard" to lunch each day at the tablecloth (but reasonable) restaurant right on the beach. Had wonderful crostini and seafood pastas, good local wine. The 2 mountain towns nearby (hair-raising hairpin turns), Poggio and Marciana, looked like fun to explore but we couldn't drag ourselves away from the beach. We definately look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

It is 3 stars hotel but for hospitality and cuisine it gets 5 stars! The Barsalini Hotel is the best place to spend the holidays if you want to find cosy, relaxing place and delicious cuisine, great surrounding and amazing views. Eva and Davide - owners of the hotel, and their staff make you to feel special guest! Every your wish is their command. If you need sth. just ask and you can be sure that your request will never stay without response. You can enjoy the wellness area, or take few lessons of scuba diving, or just stay at the swimming pool. You have to try the delicious dinner on the tarrace of the Hotel Barsalini with the charming see view and good wine recommended by Davide who is an expert.
There is only one thing that you probably can not get in Hotel Barsalini -Stoping the time!!! Try to do it with us next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagdaAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The ambience in the general areas of the hotel was terrific ~ Daniel in the bar was excellent, a real treasure. The food in restaurant was (only just) OK. The rooms were a real disappointment, 70's furnishings, faded and mis matched, also garish dark green paint on walls ~ dreadful lights on wall over bed ~ like something out of a public lavatory and way too bright ~ like interogation lights. Virtually no drawer space (one small one in desk) and two awful built in tiny wardrobes around bed ~ no bedside tables. Whoever was responsible for the very attractive decor in the general areas of the hotel should take a look at these rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barsalini, Proprietario at Hotel Barsalini, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2010

Dear clients,

Thanks for your comment…. Our hotel was building 50 years ago from my father .
Year after year, the hotel update a restyling, in the room and in the public area and always with a good quality price …and we think that we always must go in better.. Just for this, in one month, we begin the work-progress for restyling the last rooms of the hotel the cant compare to the other new room and public area too. Your room in fact was one of those.. ( we are a small family-company and we really cant make every year “important” update, for this we must take our time..) So, for the future we invite you to back to visit us that you can rate us again..

Best regards

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very disappointed by this hotel, as it really is not couple-friendly, despite their own advertisement as a relaxing and romantic location. The room was very noisy, right next to the pool. The beach is small, very crowded, lots of families with kids. For families this place might be right, but for younger couples, truly not the right place. Due to the noise and how crowded it was, we left after one night. The owner made us pay for another night - not the best service. I would only recommend this place for families with little kids.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttrave11er25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barsalini, Proprietario at Hotel Barsalini, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Kind Sir,

I do remember you, like I remember all ours clients. It’s right that in our hotel, because we are located near the beach at a few steps, sometimes you can find a lot of kids, but the hotel dispose a small -spa or well-being area in an open space garden with view over the Gulf of St Andrea, sauna and hydrotherapy, all for the relaxation of our clients.
On your arriving day, September 5, on the bar’s terrace took place my son’s 2 years birthday party , where we had invited all the clients of the hotel, fiends and kids. Sorry ‘but how can we not party our son’s birthday?!’
About the beach, I have to say that every single one of Elba Island you will find’it crowded until September 15, and the same the beach of Capo St Andrea, but there are wonderfull silent places on the cliffs with clear water also..
And the other night that you payed, with discount, is only a normal tax that is payed everywere when in the full season you book a week and you choose to leave after the first night, without giving us any possibility to make you enjoy the staying in our hotel or get to know us.

All the best!
Davide, Eva and the little Paolo Barsalini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews