We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Hop Farm Family Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hop Farm Family Park is Kent's major visitor attraction. Open everyday (except on special event days). Pay/play rides/attractions and more.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Despite the bad reviews, we had a fab day! There was 6 adults & 2 kids (12 & 9). Yes, the whole farm is plagued by wasps & that is a problem that the owners need to sort out, but there is wasp traps all over the farm, so they are really trying.
Yes, everything could do with a lick of paint & a decent clean - ESP the Yesterday area (It was disgustingly dusty to be honest, but didn't detract from being an interesting stop off - but it could do with being bigger)
The staff were exceptionally helpful & genuinely interested in how our day was & if the kids were having fun! The Ladies in The Gingerbread Café were fantastic to chat too, & were considerate & patient with the HUGE queue of people waiting to be served.
The 4D film was the highlight of our visit & I would truly recommend a visit, the Photos are optional. My Husband & I had our photos taken on our own, so its not just kids :-) !
We also had a go at The Nerf Blast & although it was immense fun, I think the company need to pay a bit more & replace the Nerf Bullets that get damaged as the guns don't fire damaged ones, which meant you weren't always able to shot your opponents!

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!!!! A definite recommendation!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TraciC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    156
    139
    133
    293
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grubby loo/shower blocks need updating!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Big campsite, friendly duo booked us in. We were luckily near loos and showers, how some people managed in wet weather miles away was beyond me! Hop farm is afternoons worth, money hungry place for bare minimum facilities! Won't visit again, really needs clubhouse, invest some money in the loos and showers and replace bridge as its very slippery in the wet!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenellatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“It's not what it was a few years ago, however it is now cheaper, but lacks any heart.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We have a lot of fond memories of hop farm. It now has a cheap fair ground feeling to it. Yes it's free to get in, but you have this token system, a token = £1 and the more you get, the better value (e.g £20 = 20 tokans + 2 free) so compared to the old entrance fees it can work out a cheaper day out (golf, play area and pets/ farm is free). We spent less, but having to fish out tokans for the children, working out whose had how many is a pain. Also the park seems to lack something. They also have an eleclectric mix of odd shops that don't fit with the setting! Lets hope they sort something soon. As it is obvious there is a financial mess and the park is shared between a number of owners.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank extratowelsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is expensive unless the weather is good unfortunately but good training for a budget for your child/children and as commented on previously if you are unable to say no that is your problem not the parks. If the park adressed the barn activity as just payment for the children and not for the poor parent as well we would have given it a go, sadly it is payment per person and so very expensive. A lot of the rides were good and the only rip off in my opinion was the £3 catch a duck and get a prize that could be bought in the £1 shop. The staff were friendly even though it rained on and off most of the day. The gift shop, garden centre and furniture shop were all worth a look.The £1 parking a day was a suprise but fair enough as there is free play areas. We walked round to the pub just next to the park which is a lot more reasonable than the hop farm. Not a bad day but not sure we would go back on a regular basis.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 171Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hop farm”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

2nd week camping at the hop
Farm and enjoy our stay every time, free entry to the hop farm it's self is great I would like to see more older kids attractions and the younger kids rides either cheaper or with an option to buy a wrist band or something we have 3 kids so at 2 or 3 quid a ride can work out expensive other than this my only complaint is the wasp infestation! These two gripes aside it makes for a nice day out friendly staff and brings back many child hood memories of being brought here

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_and_Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop Farm Family Park also viewed

 

Been to Hop Farm Family Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing