We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy place with spectacular views.”
Review of Hotel Martino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Martino
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived just before sunset after a very long and eventful drive. We found the hotel easily and parked with ease, as there seemed to be a small number of guests at that time.
The receptionist was friendly, very competent and helpful, despite the fact that she was struggling with a severe allergy - she was a real trooper.

We had a superior room: spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The terrace came with gobsmacking views across the bay and out to sea. It was so lovely that we weren't too keen to go out for dinner, but eventually we mustered the energy and were glad we did - another good restaurant worth writing to Trip Advisor about.

Quiet, cool nights made for very restorative sleep.

Breakfast is continental, so it might feel a little repetitive during long stays, but the coffee tastes great and the views from the breakfast tables are enchanting.

There is plenty to do in the area besides roasting on the beach, but it's best to have a good car or at least a scooter (if you're brave/reckless) to get around Maratea. We had a 4x4 and it proved very useful in reaching some of the towns up in the mountains (fantastic sea views from up there, incidentally): Basilicata and Calabria were hit by landslides and roadworks have been slow to start, so along some stretches of road (well away from Maratea, though) some surfaces were very uneven.

Maratea is rightly popular in July and August, but I'd love to go back during the low-season. The quiet, service and quality of our stay at Hotel Martino were amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffeebean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 378 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Martino is one of those hidden beauties. Spectacular views from the rooms and a short walk to beautiful grey sand beaches. Maratea is a short drive away and offers a lovely seaside town with marina and bayside dining.
Rooms are modern and sparkling clean, the dining is wonderful and the staff knowledgeable and helpful. Plenty of parking onsite and internet available but only in the reception and lounge/bar area. we will be using this as a base in future to explore the highlands and valleys behind Maratea

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWYSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice simple family run hotel. Great views from our room and hotel in general. The weather was cold for the time of year and my only disappointment was that the indoor pool was not heated and was so cold you could not use it. Restaurant and breakfast is very nice. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful area and is convenient to get to. Very good price, rooms, staff and ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brobb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were at this hotel in the off season so all amenities were not in full operation. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea and was quite comfortable. I could not find the hotel listed in my GPS and, in fact, could not find the address so I was concerned that it would be difficult to find. As we drove along the SS18 suddenly there it was; it could not have been easier to find. Parking is adequate and there is a quality restaurant associated with the property. This area appears to be very popular during the summer as most of the attractions are beaches. The area around the marina is very attractive with several restaurants but it must be crowded in the summer. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If an elevator is required view the room before you accept it as some rooms require a half floor cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We loved this little family run hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. Everything about it was great, the rooms, the balcony, the view, the food, the service and the owner. They had a large birthday party in the restaurant but certainly didn't ignore us, the service was really good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This must be my favourite hotel. Our Sat Nav found it easily. There was easy parking. You enter the hotel and there is a wonderful tiled floor - quite beautiful. Our room was huge with a balcony looking over a garden with lemon trees where we watched the most beautiful sunset over the sea and the distant hills. The room and bathroom had everything that could possibly be needed except Wi Fi. However that was available in the main reception area where breakfast was served next morning. Breakfast was excellent. There was a wonderful indoor swimming pool but to my disappointment it was not heated. The staff were charming and very helpful. We had only booked 1 night and I very much regret not extending our stay. I could quite happily have stayed for 2 weeks

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
6.2 mi away
Hotel Club San Diego
Hotel Club San Diego
#4 of 4 in Acquafredda
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.2 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#9 of 15 in Maratea
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martino

Address: Via Marina Citrosello 16, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maratea
Price Range: $425 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green coast, the hotel is situated in a strategic position for tourist excursions. The private beach, with shuttle bus service, is just 700mt far away and furthermore you can find indoor swimmingpool, restaurant and bar. Rooms are very comfortable, recently renewed and all with sea view, bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martino Hotel Maratea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing