We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views over Maratea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capo Casale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capo Casale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice views over Maratea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

Nice hotel with fantastic panoramic view however difficult to reach (handicapped not at all) . 3 Star hotel and rooms are as such. Friendly staff and possibility to drink a bottle of wine or so on the terrace (no restaurant), even after midnight. 5 minutes by car to the (beautiful) beach. Very quiet so good place to relax a couple of days

  • Liked — The view and the quietness
  • Disliked — Furniture in room. 3 Perons room only two (office like) chairs. Lack of parking space
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VittorioItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
65
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

We had difficulty arriving Maratea mainly because of detoured roads, which made our GPS ineffective. The Hotel Capacasale was nice and the room was comfortable and clean however there were many steep steps leading up to the entry of the hotel and no assistance from hotel staff to manage suitcases. It also appeared not to be totally finished with renovations. We asked a hotel staff person to recommend a place to eat and she recommended Taverna Rustica. It was terrible. My husband ordered veal, it was grizzly and tough and coated with very strange tasting herbs. I ordered scampi and expected something like shrimp, instead I received several spiney shell type urchins that contained very little meaty substance. Then we had to walk up very steep alleyways to reach the hotel and again go up steps. The breakfast the next morning was good. However, we were worn out driving trying to locate the area and 4 of us said this was the worst part of our 18 day trip through France and Italy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

As rooms with a view go, this one has it all - perched above the old town, just a few minutes walk away, there is a side sea view & panoramas of the surrounding mountains.

Staff pleasant & friendly, room good quality (bathroom, TV, good bed).

Lovely breakfast, ham, cheese, cake, olives, fruit & great coffee on the panoramic terrace.

Minibar prices for drinks reasonable.

Easy parking on the street below the hotel.

Rooms not very well sound proofed, but other than that a restful & relaxing stay in a beautiful spot.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Lack of sound proofing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book via mondomaratea website
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky76000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed for 4 nights in the Hotel Capo Casale in June for a friends' wedding and we loved this hotel!
After eventually finding it from the long and very stressfull drive from Naples (Never EVER do -trains run from Naples to Maratea every few hours I believe), we were amazed to find this great hotel near the top of Maratea, our room over looked the town and surrounding mountains. Every day the view waking up was frantastic.
The staff here are very very helpful, though only a couple of them spoke English they all made a real effort to understand our questions and queries and even helped us in the early hours when arriving back from town and other hotels in the area.
The breakfasts here were quiete honestly the best we've had at any hotel in the world we've stayed, a daily buffett of fresh local fruit, breads, croissants, cheese and meats, the coffee was out of this world to! Really set us up for each day, plus it had the added bonus of having a great balcony/dining area again over looking the town below.
A short walk into Maratea town(well down 1001 flights of stairs!) this hotel was ideally situated though a nearer beach would have been nice, the only complaint was that parts of it were still under construction but the crew members kept noise to a minimum were possible.
Maratea itself is a quiet tourist town though geared more towards Italian tourists, not many people speak English but again like the hotel most went out of their way to help, if you want a big beach head north towards Sapri, thats a slightly bigger tourist town with a nice beach however the locals did not seem to be so receptive to us.
if you are in the area, Hotel Capo Casale is a real find, the rooms are basic but very very nice still and it won't shrink your wallet either - also if getting a taxi around the area, Maratea's own Telly Savalas look a like is always on hand to drive you around (you'll see what I mean when you see him!)

  • Liked — location in area, staff
  • Disliked — to many steps(especially after a few to many beers!)
  • Tips/Secrets — the main entrance is up a huge flight of stairs - pack lightly!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smpenguin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

We went to Maratea for a wedding of a couple of our friends. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

Maratea is a village split into two with the Port at the bottom, but the main village centre about 2 miles up a steep hillside. This is where the hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the village centre above the village centre.

The hotel itself was excellent. The manager spoke very good English and couldn't be more helpful. We travelled there by train from Naples and he arranged for a car to pick us up from the train station (near the port) and take us to the hotel. In fact I could not fault a single member of staff at the hotel, they were all so friendly and helpful.

The room where we stayed was on a split level, downstairs being a lounge area with bathroom with a fridge, and up a spiral iron staircase was the large airy bedroom with another bathroom. The hotel was decorated in a traditional rustic style. Although the room didn't have a balcony, the lounge area had two large french doors which opened so that you had amazing views over the countryside and the village below.

Breakfast was served on a veranda which again gave fantastic views over the village and countryside to the sea. The breakfast itself was very good, and although we were late down one morning - after breakfast had supposedly finished (after the wedding!) they still provided us with a full breakfast service and didn't seem to mind at all.

We recommend a car for this region of Italy and the hotel, although small, has plenty of car parking available.

The hotel and our room were always spotless and cleaned every day.

This hotel I would classify as a small and friendly hotel and I could not fault it's friendliness or service. The rustic feel of the hotel has left me with very fond memories of this hotel, unlike any other I have ever stayed.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were in this region of Italy again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sooty1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
0.1 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#10 of 16 in Maratea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.6 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo Casale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo Casale Hotel

Property: Capo Casale Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Mazzei | Capocasale, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capo Casale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capo Casale Hotel is a hotel obtained from medieval houses, where travellers can experience the history and tradition of Maratea, along with its magnificent sea. The hotel has a strategic position in the heart of the delightful old town centre and it gives a marvellous view of the coastline from Policastro to Marina di Maratea, reaching the statue of Christ.The ancient village of Capo Casale originated between the 10th and the 11th century around the church of San Vito. The current structure of the village dates back to that period. Hotel Capo Casale, opened in 2002, retains the features of the ancient village thanks to its narrow streets and stairways that lead to the small houses, out of which the rooms where created. Moreover, the balconies and terraces offer unique views on the landscape and create an unforgettable atmosphere.The carefully renewed hotel rooms offer all mod cons and guarantee big and independent spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capo Casale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo Casale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing