We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long way up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

At the end of a day of motorcycling from Vibo, we slowly wound up the cliff to reach the top and a beautiful view of the sea. We were with a small group of 11, and were the only guests for one night. Roberto made our stay comfortable--we visited in between heating and cooling season and found that the main restaurant was too cold for our group meal. Roberto moved everything into the more comfortable lounge area for our group to enjoy a warmer area. He made sure that service was excellent and ensured that breakfast was also served in this smaller, warmer venue. He made sure that our stay was most enjoyable. The room was clean, bed very comfortable, everything worked well, but the overall look was dated.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a small group in the off-season, remind the hotel to turn on the hot water...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 600 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

I liked this hotel,my room had a great view of the swimming pool and the bay,It was a spacious room with a mini bar, good shower/bathroom,TV and balcony.Breakfast was OK,nothing special with standard fare of meat and cheese,some pastries.Service was a bit on slow side in finding someone to get you a coffee.Didnt eat there at night though there are plenty of places in Maratea to eat in the Centro Storico area though there is a nice place nearby called the Piccolo Ranch which is popular with the locals.There are 2 private beaches that the hotel use where buses can take you there and back throughout the day.
Dont expect much in the way of entertainment at the hotel - far better (in my opinion to go down to Maratea town which is a beautiful place plenty of attractive shops and some bars/restaurants there - and plenty of lively activity with the locals taking the families down for 'la passeggiata ' at night

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We chose this hotel for our Wedding day and it was the best decision ever made! We flew over with 17 other guests. We could not have picked a better hotel to have our wedding. The staff were attentive at all times, they could not do enough for us!

Special thanks to Valentina who organised the wedding entirely, we planned our whole day in 2 hours when we flew over June 2010. We didn't have to worry about a thing. Everything was even better than we could have imagined!

The cake was gorgeous, the flowers were perfect, the setting for our wedding ceremony was beautiful, on the beach with the waves crashing, it was amazing! The food was delicious and the price was reasonable, not only for our wedding but also to stay there. The rooms are spacious, the food is great - very fresh and very well priced too.

We also want to thank all the bar staff, especially Enzo who made our stay very special too and was always very attentive & helpful.

The location in Maratea is stunning. There are lots of little coves, beaches, great bistro's and bars. Very reasonably priced food too as it's all locally sourced. LOVE the wine!

I would suggest a car, it is very hilly and it is such a great place to drive and explore the area. Be careful driving though!!

We definitely recommend this hotel, the location is beautiful, the people are friendly, the food is great and it is definitly worth the drive....we will be back : )

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I found this hotel to be very over priced and very run down! We specifically asked when we arrived if the air conditioner worked really well because it was very, very hot. They reassured us that it did work extremely well. We were woken up in the middle of the night by the oppressive heat in the room. We called the front desk and they said wait a few minutes. No one ever came and it did not improve. We opened our windows to cool us and the room down. The next day when I asked for a discount because the air conditioner did not work they gave us a tiny discount. Besides the air conditioner issue the curtain in our room was not wide enough to cover the entire window and it was falling off one end of the curtain rod. The hair dryer in the bathroom had a big crack in the hose and also did not work. I informed the manager of our issues to which he just shrugged his shoulders. We also felt that the meals were way over priced and the kid pool was not in working order. Do I need to go on? I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank funnychurchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea was where my new wife and I chose to get married and to be honest we have never made such a wonderful decision in our lives. I come from New Zealand and my wife is from Sweden and we thought Italy would be a wonderful place for our families to come for a wedding. The hotel were absolutely fantastic in every aspect of the wedding. We were always able to contact them with question about anything. They organised everything we wanted and gave great suggestions and helped ensure that the wedding fell in line with the budget we had set up.
The hotel iteslf is set on the top of the hill overlooking the sea with the most amazing panoramic views you are ever likely to see. The area is not overrun with tourists and is nice and quiet. It has a beautiful pool and on the surrounding hill you are able to see the statue of the christ. The Staff are awesome too. Always smiling and willing to help even if they cannot fully understand what you are saying. They make every effort to ensure you are happy.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough for a holiday or for a wedding. It really is a dream place.!! Full marks

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travellingfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We were in this beautiful hotel just for one night but we wished we could have stayed for a month.Gracious ,professional and very attentive service with all the amenities that you need.
a beautiful place to go back

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank pierony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I have mixed feelings about this hotel - the lobby has gorgeous marble throughout but the furnishings are incredibly outdated and a little tattered... the room was a nice size with balcony and nice bathroom but once again, the furnishings look like something from the 70's, if not 60's. The restaurant was good and wait-staff wonderfully nice and accomodating. The hotel pool was nice but the smaller pools for children were completely impractical... and the pools close for three hours in the afternoon! There was a hotel shuttle that takes you to/from the beach about a dozen times throughout the day - the beach was pebbles/small rocks but very nice located in a somewhat-secluded and tranquil cove with a cafe nearby. The location of the hotel was a bit tedious to get up to but does have a wonderful view once you are there. I guess i just felt that if they're going to charge us 170 euro -1/2 bd, then maybe they should spend their money refurbishing the place instead of buying ANOTHER ferrari to put on display (for rent to guests for the day)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCatkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
0.8 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#8 of 15 in Maratea
402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Martino
Hotel Martino
#6 of 15 in Maratea
364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#9 of 15 in Maratea
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort

Address: Via Santa Caterina 50, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range: $94 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing