We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Residence Pianetamaratea
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Prescott Valley, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than we thought it would be”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We shared a two bedroom unit with another couple. Both bedrooms had ample room. The beds were about on par with everything else in Italy--not as comfortable as we would've liked, but they didn't hinder our sleep. The bathroom was fairly large, including a full tub. The hot water heater had a hard time keeping up with four of us, but it has a gauge on the outside so you know beforehand if there will be enough. Yes, you make your own beds when you arrive, but at least you know they are clean. While the whole complex can use some updating, it had everything we needed and we were perfectly happy. The pool area is lovely. The town nearby is quaint and a pleasure to explore. This resort is rather out of the way--which can be a plus and a negative, depending on what you are looking for. The roads are not for the faint of heart, yet I would not recommend coming here without a car--unless you plan on only hanging out at the resort or traveling within a short bus ride. We had a nice large balcony. It did not have a view, but the views from other parts of the resort and the overall area are absolutely beautiful!! The kitchen is not very well stocked, but we managed to cook breakfast everyday and a few extra meals. There is a market on site that carries just about anything you might want for a reasonable price--but it closes during the middle of the day (like so much in smaller Italian towns). Sorry, I can't remember his name, but the young man working the cheese/meat counter was especially helpful and has an excellent grasp of English. The reception staff were quite cold, but the service in the restaurant was very good. We particularly enjoyed Peter--he was friendly, helpful, down to earth, yet always respectful. The restaurant food was fairly good--not so much the pizza. The best meal I had was the veal with arugula and shaved cheese. There is no real breakfast, but they do have a coffee bar and some yummy pastries available (like I said, we mostly made our own coffee and breakfast in the room anyway). There is no laundry facility on site and we could not find anything nearby either. However, we did find several good restaurants (from pizza to fine seafood) in the area. Be prepared to climb plenty of stairs! You also have to pay for wifi and it is only available down in the common pool/restaurant area, which may be quite a walk from your room.

Room Tip: If you have a second story unit (odd numbers), park on the level above so that you will be toting yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RickDonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    44
    22
    17
See reviews for
127
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'll tell the story, but first a summary. Great views, wonderful town, HORRIBLE resort and even worse customer service.

So... I had a timeshare exchange, read the reviews but they were so mixed (listing both good and bad) that I thought I'd roll the dice. I will never stay here again! I would come back to the area in a heartbeat! NOT this hotel though!

The bad customer service can be summed up in a few categories:
1) They cater to people from out of the area yet provide poor directrions and say there are signs to the resort where there aren't any. They don't make sure the signs that ARE in place are visible (covered with overgrown tree branches). The resort is very hard to get to and evn harder to find - even with proper signs. I had to ask three different people for directions because it was so hard to explain how to get up the mountain. It took over 90 minutes once I arrived in town to find it (it's 4 km out of town on a mountainside)!

2) Extremely poor housing conditions. In a two-bedroom unit, there was one double bed (made from putting two twin mattresses together) and one bunk bed. I asked and the desk clerk confirmed that ALL of their units are that way. I asked if the bunk bed could be made into a double and was told "No." I was able to figure out there is a trundle bed fram under the lower bunk bed mattress with legs and that makes the lower mattress into a double - except the heights are one to two inches off! The water damage to the walls was never fixed, just painted over. There were many spiders and bugs. Could hear the neighbors everytime they used the bathroom or shower. The sheets and towels were paper thin. The pillows and mattresses were uncomfortable. One of the pillows was covered with mildew. There was mildew in the shower. The shower handle assembly is horrible.

3) Clueless staff. It is not too much to ask to know basics like "Where is registration?" (Which is buried in the center of the resort with NO signs to it!" Staff was not able to give basic instructions on how to get there.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KerryM911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
1,237 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The place is in a really nice location on the hills of Maratea, fantastic view, fresh air. Hiwever the rooms are old, look dirty, the walls are thin and noisy. The disco goes on until late which is not good if you want to sleep. They clean the rooms once a week. Despite the Amex logo they do not accept it and you have to pay cash the city taxes separatly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

As mentioned on other reviews, this place is a bit sparse - but our 1 room apartments was very clean and adequate. We had four people staying in the one-bedroom, and we ended up sleeping on the futon sofa in the living area. It was actually comfortable. The kitchen was very small - no microwave, but it was adequate for breakfast. The pool was beautiful and there were plenty of young staff members there to answer questions and help us with anything we need. They ran various programs (water aerobics, card games, a show every night). They seemed to do a great job keeping the kids amused (but most didn't speak English). They had a market right there and it is very well stocked and the prices were comparable to the market in Maratea. Lots of fresh fruit, veggies and meat.

The hotel is very secluded. I recommend renting a car so you can get around the Maratea area (which is absolutely beautiful). We used a GPS and got there with little trouble. The hotel does provide a bus that runs to two local beaches throughout the day. Looked like most of the guests used that. The beaches were beautiful - black rocky-sand.

If you're looking for a place that's very "Italian", this is the place for you. We only ran into two groups of English speaking tourists the entire week we were there - the majority of guests were Italian. It was very relaxing and we just loved the area. My advice to you - don't expect luxury - expect a clean low-end hotel with great a great surrounding.

We weren't impressed with the restaurant at the hotel. The lunch we did have there was our least favorite in our two week trip around Italy. They did serve great chocolate croissants and cappuccinos in the morning.

There is no room service throughout the week - they give you a mop and bucket in your room so you can clean up after yourself and they don't refill the toilet paper or anything (although all cleaning supplies and more TP is available in the hotel market :) ). You're on your own here.

Yes, we would go back - but more so for the overall Maratea experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank middleofnowheregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Third time in 14 years and wish could come more often as it is a beautiful location, with views and green surroundings. Delightful local towns with nice shops. The apartments are actually good for the Italian standard holiday resort but don't expect luxury. Renovations since last time include smart new kitchen with oven and new mattresses in our two bedroom unit, as well as small flat screen tv. Lovely white linen by Frette guest. The entertainment staff are fantastic, didn't appreciate them before but now have a four year old who cannot be dragged away from the organized activities. Beautiful beaches really close, lots of local restaurants as well as the one on site. Understand those who don't stay a week if they want accomodation from which to go day tripping, as it is limited in that respect. But if you want a week of really relaxing Italian family holiday it's the place!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I don't know when the last reviewer left, but we just checked out on the 26th of May. The pool was closed and covered. The msle receptionist was rude and unwelcoming. It took us three hours to find the place with numerous phone calls for directions. When we asked for an upgrade s platinum members we refused out of hand even though the place was almost empty. The food was cold and uninteresting. The head waiter was very professional and nice. The best bread around can be found in the market. Our room smelled of mold and damp and the were put out when we asked for a heater. The bathroom was overrun with ants and the plaster was falling off the walls. I don't know where she stsyed but it was not the same one we stayed at. I would never refer any one to this place. Having said all this, Mareatea town is a delight and the people are wonderful.... just don't stay at pianeta mareatea!

Room Tip: DON'T go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank codee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is a great place for vacationing in Italy with family as these are not rooms, but rather apartments in an all-inclusive resort. They have something for everyone... tennis courts, swimming pool, transportation to the beach, I loved the atmosphere here as the staff is warm, welcoming, and accommodating. The view from the "patio" of our apartment was spectacular... unforgettable in fact. We loved the pool but the nearby, nearly-private beach was the best. Food is hardy and good... antipasti is the wonderful. And, perhaps best of all, there is Entertainment by the Staff... singing and dancing in the theater. You will love this for a real vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out at the Sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
3.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
4.9 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
339 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Club San Diego
Hotel Club San Diego
#4 of 4 in Acquafredda
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Residence Pianetamaratea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Residence Pianetamaratea

Property: Club Residence Pianetamaratea
Address: Localita Santa Caterina, 233, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maratea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maratea
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Residence Pianetamaratea 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Residence Pianetamaratea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Residence Pianeta Maratea Hotel Maratea
Hotel Residence Pianeta Maratea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing