We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Residence Pianetamaratea
Nearby Hotels
$156
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Martino(Maratea)(Great Value!)
$44
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana(Maratea)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Murmann(Maratea)
$70
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$64
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gabbiano(Acquafredda)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
151
93
47
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
93
47
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini martbeautiful resortbreathtaking viewsdaily maid servicereception staffdaniellabeachescondo
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 336 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a 2 weeks holiday via RCI-Points program. First week was quite quiet since this resort seems to be popular with Italian people and the summer holidays in the schools started after our first week (w24).
Good thing was that there were only Italian people and you don't feel like being in a "turist place". Of course the language (lack of english) generated some complicated situations but nothing you could not solve with a positive attitude;) There was 1,5 people in the resort speking english - 0,5 in the reseption and one waitress in the (only) restaurant of the resort (thanks Pietro).
The is a small shop in the resort where you can buy food and drinks and actually it was very good one offering fresh meat, cheese, bread etc.) and the service was excellent, price level ok.
(Only) Restaurant was good 'though the meny was a bit too short for two weeks holiday.
There is a free shuttle bus in every 20 min to the beach. It worked fine 'though it is a little bit scary to listen the breaks screaming on the way down in the narrow road.
Pool area was clean and nice and the pool itself is big enough.
During our second week there was much more action when the employees arranged some theather, dancing lessons and also activities for children (games, theather practise...). Our children enjoyed very much even there were no-one speaking english....
City of Maratea is about 5 km away from the resort so it is better to drive or take a taxi (for 5 people it was 15 €/direction).
Internet connection (extremely slow) was 1 €/20 min and you need a passport, driving lisence or some other "document" to register. There is a faster connection at the city of Maratea, but note the opening times.
There is a good restaurant about 10 min walk up from the resort towards to Hotel Pianeta - worth of visiting.
We stayed at the apartment of two bedrooms, kitchenette and small living room. Everything was fine - not luxory but ok. It was not hot in the flat even it was over 30 degrees outside. Only unconvenient thing we found was the moisture in the flat. Maybe you should keep the windows open all the time to get rid of it......
Overall the area is worth of visiting with a lot of nice small towns like RIvello, Sapri etc. There are many long beaches nearby. The price for the sunbeds for 5 people was about 35 € for a day.

Room Tip: With the children is better to have a room uphill or downhill - if you do not mind climbing
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jari_Kempele_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Mountainside, overlooking the sea (often with blocked views!) and a great location--if you have a car. Driving on switchback, narrow roads is not for the lighthearted but doable and beautiful views. Many comments previously stated are accurate. Furnishings are uncomfortable and inadequate, especially if one wanted to cook meals (no microwave or stove). Weather cool, cloudy and foggy due to high mountain location. Never had a bad meal anywhere in the region, including the resort restaurant. Great hiking, friendly people despite very little Italian.

Room Tip: Get a second floor unit for better views/privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frequent_traveler061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This place was not hospitable since we checked in and were placed in a two bedroom without any view. We then moved to a one bedroom that hadn't been cleaned. The staff was quite rude to us whenever we went in the office for information. The facility lacks any enjoyable activities, except for the pool. The restaurant had nice servers and good food. We will not be coming here again and not recommending this location to anyone! The city of Maratea has nothing to do, and we didn't know until the middle of our stay that the city locked it's gate at midnight. So, don't get locked out at 12:30 a.m. like we did! It is so far it takes about 6 hours to get to Rome or any big cities.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew73LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Our first impression of the timeshare was that it hadn't been updated since it was built--in probably the 60's. The furnishings are old and worn looking, and there's minimal decoration in the rooms (one small, faded picture hung on the large wall in the living room). They give you a plastic bag with the sheets and towels, and another bag with rag and mop head; the brooms, dust pan and mop are prominently displayed in the bathroom (not a nice first impression when you walk into the timeshare...but you get the message--you're cleaning your own room, honey!). It was rainy and a bit chilly while we were there and there was a tiny, ineffective wall heater in the bedroom that didn't even heat the bedroom. The stove is gas, and you have to light it yourself...with matches you must purchase from their store. The unit does not have shampoo, hair dryer, kitchen soap or sponge, microwave, or laundry facilities. The front desk staff speaks minimal English. We found out after we were there a day or so that they have activities--no information was given about activities at the resort when we checked in, other than the schedule for the shuttle bus to the beach. The property has a very nice view down the beautiful coastline, and the units have verandas that face the view...which they obscure with large trees that are planted in front of all the units! Getting there is a challenge--it's located above the town of Maratea, and signage is great on the road--until you get into town and then there are no signs and there's no way you can find it on your own, so you either need to call the resort or stop and ask "Dove Pianeta Maratea?" and hope the gestures will get you there (fortunately Italians talk with their hands). They do not have internet available; there's an internet cafe in Maratea, about a 10-minute drive away. Dinner in the restaurant is excellent; breakfast choices are limited---they only offer croissants and coffee/cappuccino. There are a couple of nice towns to explore locally--Fumicello, Acquafredda and Rivello--and Maratea's worth an afternoon, but unless you want to lay by the pool or on the beach and the weather cooperates, there's not a week's worth of stuff to do there. We left after 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine_of_Fallbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

In my over 20 yrs. of exchanging timeshares, this is absolutely the worse one I've ever seen!!!! It is totally outdated in every respect. The only good service there is the travel agency, they were very accomodating; however, the reception area is not. It was cold while we were there and there was no heat in the unit and we called twice for extra blankets and finally had to go to reception to get them. The beds and all furnishings must be from the 70s! There is no microwave or oven and only a 4 burner gas stove top to cook on and you have to light the burners with matches, which were not even provided!!! The place smells moldy and it is. There was a very limited amount of hot water so we had to take hurried showers so not to run out of hot water for 3 people. The restaurant on site is nice but the food was mediocre at best. The grocery store on site is fairly well stocked. I can't imagine why RCI even has this in their directory!?!?!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liza426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews