We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda delle Donne Monache

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this unique boutique hotel at the end of our 10 day Calabrian vacation, and thank goodness we did! The hotel is well positioned in the historical center. It might be a challenge for some as you have a flight of stairs to climb on your way back up to the hotel, but after all the eating for us it was a blessing. The pool area is beautiful and very well kept. The common areas of the hotel are very tastefully decorated. The room we stayed at had all the amenities necessary and more! The only drawback, super tiny shower with shower curtain and the super soft mattress. We only stayed for one night so it wasn't a big concern, but if we had stayed longer I think it would effected our experience. Those are the basics of comfort, in my opinion, so the hotel should consider improving in that aspect. Maratea itself is truly a hidden gem. It is absolutely stunning and we surely will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveledEnough2know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    131
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
72
346
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfect location in Old Town, parking spots available, very good breakfast and service. You can easily find restaurants and places to eat in walking distance. Nice pool area. Our room was quite small (less than 10m²!!!) but expensive - this wasnt really justified. They also offer transfer to the beach with free sunbeds and umbrella - but the beach isnt really nice, there are nicer ones in surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a perfect week in Maratea. The town really is a hidden gem, a real Italian hill town. Small tavernas down hidden alleys, a couple of lovely squares with gelato and espresso 'on tap'. There's nothing pretentious or grandiose about the town. It has enough restaurants and tavernas to keep you interested, all at 30% the price of the Amalfi coast.

And the real surprise is La Locanda. Follow the winding streets or take the many steps to near the top of town and you are rewarded with a beautiful oasis of calm. The hotel is a converted monastery, with a gorgeous pool looking down on the terracotta rooftops and churches. It's family run and shows, they really care that you are enjoying yourself and everything is as you want. Our 'suite' had French windows opening onto the town below which we threw open every morning to let in the morning sun. Tastefully and simply decorated. Our only criticism is that the suite comprised a small corridor with a single bed which wasn't a good place to sit and read after a hard day at the beach. A minor criticism. Also, if you find it hard getting in and out off baths, the free form bath, shaped into the rock will prove challenging, (suite 9).

We loved La Secca, the beach club, a 20 minute drive away. We were treated really well as guests of La Locanda. Whilst a mini bus takes guests there each morning and returns at 5pm, we were glad of having a car for flexibility and the ability to stop via the lovely port part of Maratea.

Finally, we ate at the restaurant on two occasions. Both times, the food and service were excellent and really good value. Great wines and a simple but freshly cooked menu, on the verandah, are a great way to spend an evening. Its a shame that more guests don't eat here; a couple we spoke to worried no one would be there and there'd be no atmosphere. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Finally, at the bottom of steps out of the hotel, is a fab vinoteca. Sit on the steps and try a glass of prosecco and their cheese and local meet board. Heaven!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jgk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restructured old monastery on top of Maratea with a unique swimming pool close to an old church and overlooking the village and its surrounding mountains. The special location, the beauty of the gardens and patio are so relaxing that you feel quite out of the world, though you are just a five minute walk from the old village center. Our room - a superior - was spacious, tastefully furnished - simple but sophisticated. The only drawback was the lack of a view (facing an internal courtyard) more than compensated by the views from the swimming pool and the gardens. The staff is extremely kind, friendly and professional ( you are welcomed with a glass of iced tea and a guided tour of the hotel and its facilities). An extra bonus is the free shuttle service and complimentary umbrella and beach chairs at La Secca, one of the most beautiful beaches of the area. The breakfast is very good, the home made cakes are excellent, though it might be improved by croissants and pastries of better quality and fresh juices instead of the processed ones. The restaurant offers excellent food and attentive service in the beautiful setting of the patio close to the pool. Our suggestion - in order to improve the already high qualitative level - would be to add a bit more variety to the menu or to change it more often. This would be particularly appreciated by hotel guests staying for longer periods, especially since Maratea does not offer many high quality alternatives. Overall our staying at the Locanda was a great experience and we would strongly recommend the hotel to other visitors. In fact we hope to be back next summer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Strachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arriving at hotel I have been welcomed by the manager. Bellboy took care of luggage and have parked the car in a secured area. Hotel is very nice in a remote location. But you can still walk to the village where you find few shops and some restaurants. The breakfast service was well organized with plenty of choices. Room was nice, however the bathroom needs renovation as it was moldy and seems not very clean.
It is a great location if you want to relax and take a break for two or three days…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a pleasant small hotel overlooking Centro Storico - the old town of Maratea at the top of the hill. It felt rather cramped, but we did enjoy the two nights we stayed there. The pool area is small but the views are breath taking with fluffy clouds floating on top of the peaks behind the hotel. They have a car park, towels for the pool (provided free of charge) and a relatively good breakfast, cooked eggs on request. Service was friendly and courteous. It was rather expensive at £650 for two nights in a "suite". I was rather underwhelmed by the room - it certainly isn't a suite, just an average size hotel room with a separate windowless entrance room that was big enough to hold a sofa bed. A suite should have a separate sitting room so beware of the misnomer for room 9. The bathroom had a spa bath and rocky outcrop walls. Some of the decor is quite bizarre - arty maybe, slightly tasteless on occasions. This hotel tries hard and is a sweet little place, but hardly exclusive resort the guidebooks would have you believe. Maratea itself is quiet with tacky tourist shops, views are great though. The port area is good for people watching and looking at the yachts coming and going, but only a couple of hours visit is enough.

Room Tip: Check exactly what you are getting when you book a suite - may not have a separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and from start to finish all was amazing.
The hotel is an old monastery built overlooking the town of Maratea so it offers great views from rooms that we imagined had to be the rooms where monks stayed...but brought to 4 star modern standards!
The pool is nice and pleasant to relax after a day or walking around.
The restaurant was great we had a very nice meal and as we had decided to share the antipasti and the pasta the chef gave us each a plate with half portions which we thought was really nice. Wine from the local region was very strong.
Breakfast was one of the best in Italy with a wide selection.
We thought that the people running the hotel where very nice and looked after us well from greeting us with a drink on arrival to showing us the route to our next destination the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
3.7 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#10 of 16 in Maratea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
4.2 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda delle Donne Monache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda delle Donne Monache

Property: La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Address: Via Carlo Mazzei 4, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maratea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maratea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda delle Donne Monache 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Locanda delle Donne Monache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Delle Donne Monache Hotel Maratea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing