We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latest visit to Santavenere”
Review of Santavenere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santavenere Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service is excellent - we have been coming here for a number of years, location magnificent however the room we stayed in clearly needs updating and is beginning to be expensive for what is being charged - no flat screen tv, pieces of the wall falling off , chips and cracks and the overall appearance of the decor is looking tired and crumpled - attention to detail is slipping in the rooms however the overall outward appearance of the hotel is beautiful but value for money is sadly not as good as in the past.

Room Tip: Junior suites in the garden are very private and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Santavenere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group, it was booked by a friend who's wedding we were attending. Our friend drove and the hotel is nestled away and was not easy to find but on arrival there is lots of parking but the grounds are vast, so you and your luggage are taken to the main building by golf buggy. It's a beautiful hotel and the most amazing stunning views across the South Coast. Our room was slightly dated but seemed to add to the rustic charm. We had a lovely balcony and we could have watched the view for hours on end. Unfortunatley the night we arrived the weather was terrible with torrential rains which meant our plan of going to the harbour for a group dinner was cancelled and we ate in the inside restuarant which is small and was slightly 'fawlty towers' but actually the food was good if a little on the expensive side.

The pool and garden areas are just wonderful. There are lots of sun beds or places to sit. The beach side area is a walk down a very steep path which took around 20 minutes. Whist this was nice on the way down, we struggled on the way back up and after this took the golf buggy back up.

There are sunbeds on a slightly sandy ledge which was enough for everyone (umbrellas also available and towels provided) and then access to the water is via ladders. The water is clear and amazing. At this level there was bar access and a lovely restuarant where we had a very nice lunch. This restuarant catered well for our large group.

The evening bar area was intimate but very nice with access to the hugh terrace, again with stunning views. There are lots of smaller areas to take your drinks to or you can mingle with other guests. The barman was great and took great delight in practicing his english, and helping me with my Italian.

The outside restuarant which we only used for breakfast was very nice but quite bright and hot if you were not able to sit in the shade. The buffett was continental but offered enough choice and again the views are simply breathtaking - what an amazing way to sip your (very strong!) morning coffee.

One night we took a ten minute stroll down the picturesque harbour with its varied choices of bars and restuarants along with a supermarket and a few tourist shops.

Reception staff were helpful and polite and went out of their way to help us with our return journey planning. We really had a great time and a relaxing break and whilst it was a great hotel, I do not believe it is 5* yet, (rooms were more like a very high 3*) however the location and the lovely landscape, gardens and helpful staff do make it a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Absolutely loved this 5 star hotel, the staff was just so amazing. The best hotel we stayed in during our vacation. The property is beautiful elgant, pool and beach couldn't have been better. Will go back in a heart beat. Loved the owners daughter, Sopia and their adorable dog. Wish we could have stayed on for another day, almost did.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mollylucyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Santavenere has been a very exclusive hotel. In the Sixties it usedt to host the likes of Gianni Agnelli, Paola of Liegi and so on. Nowadays is a beautiful little hotel, a five stars with impeccable service, well kept and large garden, extensive pinehood with lovely paths, a private beach, two restaurants, excellent food. Nice pool. Incomparable view. Just one fault: the rooms need some renovation, especially the bathrooms: All in all, a lovely stay.
P.S.: pets are not only allowed but really welcomed, our cocker spaniel was in Heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaraItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for a week in mid - late September 2010, in fabulously warm and sunny weather.
Maratea is a very quiet location, ideal for mature couples or honeymooners. It is not really a place for nightlife or young families.
The hotel is small, (less than 40 rooms, I believe) and only half a dozen rooms were occupied at any time during our stay. We stayed in a standard sea facing room, which had a balcony and a terrific view.
The hotel is set in beautiful and extensive gardens, and has a prime stretch of glorious sea front, accessed by a steep and winding path - or by golf cart if you are feeling lazy!
The beach is rocky, so take your sea shoes for ease of getting in and out. The sea is very clean and clear blue.
There is a Le Terme spa, but I did not use the facilities, so cannot comment on them.
There are several options for dining - a lovely terraced bistro down by the beach or tables under the olive trees by the pool for lunch, and a very good restaurant for dinner. We ate in every night as the food and service were so good, although there are other restaurants locally. The Maitre D was particularly pleasant and helpful.
The staff generally were cheerful, obliging and polite, and most spoke some English.
The resident owners, mentioned by other reviewers, were present for part of our stay, but did not cause any issues for us. They appeared to us as any other family you might see on holiday, and were it not for the previous reviews we probably would not have realised they were the owners of the hotel. We saw them only at dinner in the evenings and never by the pool. The restaurant and terrace were closed on Sunday afternoon for a large wedding celebration which, in retrospect, I realise may have been a family event. There was no inconvenience to guests however, as arrangements were made for us to dine in other parts of the hotel.
The only minor criticisms we have are firstly regarding the beds, which are extremely 'firm' and not especially comfy, and after 7 nights we were glad to leave them behind. Secondly, it would have been a nice touch to have tea making facilities in the room, although (expensive) room service is available. Finally, and this is not a criticism of the hotel, merely a warning to prospective guests, the insects are vicious and persistent. We both had violent reactions to bites received both day and night during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The hotel is beautifully situated, it is very comfortable and the staff are charming. The problem is that it is owned by a family, who also live there and make their presence felt in a most extraordinary way... Eg they sit by the pool, mother father 2 year old tantrum queen, 8 year old boy riding round on his bike, 2 grandmas and assorted pals, they make sure they take the places that keep the sun for the longest time, as trees shade the lovely pool. The other Sunday they occupied 6 sunbeds. They are loud and do what they like. The staff must tread a difficult path as they don't know whom to favour, so when in doubt they attend to the family. They have a large table for all their meals, breakfast lunch and dinner and the only evening that my husband and I dined in, 4 staff danced attendance on the 7 of them, while we jumped up and down to serve our own wine and water [it's placed on a side table for you, not on your table]. At breakfat one morning the little boy, unsupervised, cut himself a slice of cake at the breakfast buffet, and put his hand over the rest of the cake to steady it. This is not a 5 star lusso hotel . I felt I had arrived at Mrs Miggin's boarding house, where I was permitted to use the pool by kind permission. We will never go there again as long as this situation persists.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank parkiw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Well, what can I say….We had our wedding with Slow Dreams at The Santavenere on 1st September 2009. After a year of careful planning and lots of apprehension we simply had THE best time. The hotel is one of those that ‘you only know about, if you know about!’ Set back in a secluded part of beautiful Maratea, white gates for an entrance and the most peaceful vibe as you travel down into the grounds. We kept the venue a bit of a secret from our guests as we didn’t want to over-do it. In the days leading up the wedding we’d go there for various meetings and each time we’d just be blown away by the pure simplicity and beauty of the location. Yes, the owners is often by the side of the pool on his phone but we never saw him being rude – quite the opposite, he was very calm, friendly and professional. We own a large hotel and we were more than happy with the service and attitude of the ownership, I even felt the huge to give him a big kiss when we left! Special praise must go to the hotel manager, he really seemed to put his heart and soul into our big day. In addition, the restaurant staff and bar staff on the day seemed genuinely happy for us and keen to do everything they could to make the day amazing. They were also very relaxed about what time the party ended and I will never forget our firework show over the sea and dancing under the stars! In a nutshell, we had the best wedding we could have imagined and it wouldn’t have happened if we hadn’t stumbled across The Santavenere. In many ways I want Maratea to stay a hidden gem, we don’t want the charm and natural beauty of the area to ever be ruin – but at the same time, if you’re thinking of having your wedding in Maratea at The Santavenere – fear not. Slow Dream, The Santavenere and the Town Hall will seamlessly ensure you day is as magical as ours and will welcome everyone inside.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylaHoneycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maratea hotels
1.0 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#8 of 15 in Maratea
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.1 mi away
Hotel Martino
Hotel Martino
#6 of 15 in Maratea
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santavenere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santavenere Hotel

Address: Via Conte Stefano Rivetti di Valcervo 1 | Fiumicello Santa Venere, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maratea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maratea
Price Range: $179 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santavenere Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santavenere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santavenere Hotel Maratea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing