We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly, will be back!”
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We received a warm welcome and friendly service. The room was clean, comfortable and regularly serviced. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of fresh choice every day. It's a short walk downhill to the centre of Malcesine where there is an excellent range of restaurants for evening meals by the lake. The hotel is slightly out of the main centre which makes it a quieter location. Try to get a room with a view over the lake. The rooms are the same but the view is beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhughes382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel could not be better. Stylish with charming & helpful staff and a great location. A few minutes walk to the town centre which has enticing ancient alleyways and plenty of cafes where you can people watch.
The hotel terrace is on the first floor and we would certainly recommend breakfast here as you feel as though you are in the boughs of the olive trees. Talking of breakfast it is as good as everyone says!

Room Tip: Side lake views gives you lakes & mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Hi
We've just returned from a stay of the Hotel Meridiana and a great holiday in Malcesine.

The hotel is well located with a 5 minute walk from the main shops / restaurants. It's well maintained & clean throughout the hotel. As other guests mentioned the breakfasts provided are fanstastic with a great selection of food. The only downside to the hotel was the noise from the other rooms. The walls are thin & could hear people in other rooms, toilets flushing, showers running etc.. which wasn't great at 6am! Staff were pleasant - not the most friendly.

There is a "pool" but not for swimming in - more like a jacuzzi.

Apart from this we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Meridiana is a boutique hotel just a short walk outside of the centre of Malcesine, more or less opposite the cable car for Monte Baldo. Malcesine is a hilly town and therefore it can take quite a bit of energy walking to and from the hotel; as such I wouldnt recommend it to people who would struggle with the walking.
The Hotel itself is immaculately clean, cleaned by a team of cleaners every day! You get fresh towels and bedding every day and the rooms are cleaned top to bottom; great even to my very fussy standards. The hotel is not family-run, but staff are attentive and helpful to the limits of their limited english (and our limited Italian). Breakfasts are beautiful, a great spread of cooked and cold food, cereals, fruits, breads, cakes and yoghurts. Coffee is very fresh and the food, etc is continually topped up.
We didnt pre-book a balcony room and I would recommend this now: we were given a basement floor room, which was great, but had nowhere to hang wet clothes and towels and we suffered a poor night's sleep one night because of some noisy holiday-makers outside our room, sitting by the 'pool' until early hours. Ah yes, the 'pool'. It's actually a jacuzzi-type thing for sitting in, paddling. etc and not worth anything else, but at least you can sunbathe by it on warmer days.
Another thing - there's a fridge in each room which they stock with bottled water; buy your own! We naively didnt realise that they actually charge you per bottle if you drink it (1 euro per 500ml bottle!) and we were landed with a bill at the end of our stay!
Malcesine itself is beautiful, a variety of shops and restaurants and beautiful architecture. Nightlife seems to centre around a square which has live music a couple of times a week during summer months. We saw a wedding one day and both agreed that Malcesine would be a magical setting if anyone considers getting married there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I don't know if I really want to tell everyone about this lovely boutique hotel! What if you all go & there's no space left for us?! This was our third visit to beautiful Malcesine: last time we stayed in Hotel Sporting apartments, but they were a long walk from the centro so we were after location this time. We really don't want half or full board in Italy, especially when there is the range of restaurants boasted by Malcesine, so bed & breakfast was ideal.

Meridiana is a delightful combination of a boutique hotel and a family run B&B! It's not for kids .. truly .. and that was a major attraction for us. Breakfast is european and plentiful and is served on a lovely balcony/terrace. The social areas and bar foster lots of talk with other holidaymakers, probably not brits .. another major plus. For the occasional rainy morning and for the evening there are leather sofas and shelves of cultural coffee table books ... glorious.

Service is fabulous; they couldn't do enough for the guests.

Location is perfect. It is in a quiet street about six minutes walk from the lakeside but two/three minutes from the funicular to the top of Monte Baldo. You can't see the waters of the lake from its windows, but the mountains soar on both sides.

Only minus is that the pool in the quiet garden is not a swimming pool, but a small square jacuzzi/spa pool; there are loungers round it however, and it didn't spoli our stay.

The only reason we won't be back there next year is that there's a whole world to see. If I could roll the Meridiana up & carry it with me, I would! Please don't breathe a word about it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monica086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Having read other reviews about the Meridiana Hotel, it was more or less as we had expected it to be. We loved the location - it is slightly out of the town but in easy walking distance of all the lovely shops and restaurants - we didn't have or need a hire car. The Meridiana is modern and clean with good quality finishes throughout. Our room was on the lower ground floor and was comfortable and reasonably spacious, although the bathroom could have been better planned. Breakfast was excellent and included everything we wanted - the coffee and croissants were divine!! We had a couple of light lunches on the terrace which were also excellent. As we had gathered from other reviews, the two sisters were indeed rather unfriendly but I guess that's just their way - it didn't bother us unduly. There was a receptionist who was often on duty in the afternoons and she was lovely. There is a small pool at the Meridiana - only deep enough to cool off in but it was perfectly adequate for us. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would give it 9 out of 10 overall.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed at the Meridiana for a friends wedding at the castle. A nice little hotel with decent rooms and tasteful decor. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially compared with the standard Italian coffee and bread option. Unlike other reviewers we didn't have any problems with sound or noise and the owners were perfectly cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatemonkeybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Address: Via Navene Vecchia 39, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $108 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful green setting, only a few steps from the old city centre and the lake, the Hotel Meridiana provides guests with the privilege of enjoying a relaxing atmosphere. Very close to the station, a short distance down from the Mt. Baldo cableway, it's the perfect starting point for hikes and bicycle trips. A modern design, attention to detail and a warm, bright atmosphere - combined with a marvellous landscape, mild climate and the fine cuisine of Lake Garda - will turn your holiday into a pleasurable, relaxing experience. Free WI-FI throughout the hotel. Easy, secure access from your devices with your social accounts. And you'll find our geoportal to be a great source of useful information and services: public and private transit, sailing and cableway schedules, itineraries for walks and hikes, museums, shopping, water sports, beaches, golf courses and a selection of local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Meridiana Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing