We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional standards with a familial atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellness Hotel Casa Barca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Professional standards with a familial atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

There is very little I can add that hasn't already been said in a host of other positive reviews for the hotel. We stayed her in mid-October 2012 for our honeymoon and the hotel was the perfect fit for the type of holiday we wanted.

We had emailed an expected time of arrival as around 10pm, but we arrived late on our first night due to the idiosyncrasies of our Satnav system. We were greeted by the receptionist who informed us that she had been worried about us (sounding not unlike our mothers). This set the tone for our interaction with the staff of the hotel; always welcoming, informative, helpful and personable. Needless to say that their English was better than our Italian. They could teach Harry Redknapp a bit more about the language.

The hotel itself has a modern, almost boutique style, having only been refurbished in the last few years. It was always immaculately clean and tidy and it certainly looks the part. The steam room, sauna and jacuzzi rooms were excellently relaxing places to retire to after busy days of sight-seeing. The gym is full of a huge range of modern equipment. The room isn't massive, however, so I don't know exactly how comfy it would be in high season when jammed full of people.

Our 'Exclusive' room was very comfortable. Having arrived in the dark and not yet had a glimpse of Lake Garda, imagine our awe when raising the (electric) blinds on our first morning to see the breathtaking view. Personally, the only thing I felt the Exclusive room was lacking in was an iPod dock.

It may seem to be harsh to rate a restaurant three stars when their isn't really a restaurant as such. It's certainly a perfectly pleasant place to eat your breakfast and there is a decent choice of food available with a choice that would be welcome to Irish, British, German and Italian visitors. The big omission at breakfast is the lack of fresh pure orange juice. The room also has lovely lake views. The option of having dinner in the hotel would have been nice for a little flexibility.

If you've got this far in reading about hotels in Malcesine, you hardly need any further opinions on the town or Lake Garda itself. All I'll say is that it is a very versatile place to stay. A holiday at Lake Garda can be pretty much anything you want it to be, from dangerous water sports to basking in the sun. Even in October there was still plenty of bustle about and the temperature was still lovely and mild.

I would recommend Lake Garda as a fantastic holiday destination to anyone and for many reasons would say that it would be very hard to look past Casa Barca as the place to stay. The attitude of the staff would be the top reason for that. They made us feel at home for ten nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
400
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the casa barca hotel for a week during September for our wedding. We cannot fault the hotel and the staff, the hotel staff we very welcoming and helpful ensuring we were as stress free as possible, any communications with the hotel prior to our stay were answered quickly and efficiently, they arranged for my dress to be kept somewhere safe and away from my husband to be's eyes, allowed my bridesmaids to stay over the night before the big day and there was plenty of room in our suite for us all, they also provided us with extra bedding and towels. The room was large and well appointed with espresso machine, docking station, laptop, electrically adjustable beds and a lovely terrace with the most gorgeous view of the lake. The whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean and just smelt gorgeous, in fact the hotel gave us a small gift on check out of a Reed diffuser containing the oil that they use so we can be reminded of our perfect stay now we are home :-)

Breakfast was exceptional every morning, with coffee machine that made a perfect coffee each morning, fresh fruit, yogurts, bread, ham and cheese and cake that made my husband goosy!!

We cannot thank Claudio and all the staff enough for making our stay so very special, we never tried out the spa so we cannot comment on that but I'm sure we will be returning many times in the future and we wouldn't stay anywhere else so I'm sure well try it out soon.

Steph & Darren

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephsoontobeough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for eight days at the beginning of October,and we are so glad we did.From the airport transfers(which the hotel organised)to the days out in Venice,Verona and the Monte Baldo cable car trip ,nothing was too much trouble.The Location is fantastic,great views of Lake Garda from our room and from the roof terrace.Malcesine is a two minute stroll and there are great bars and restaurants serving some really great food.I
can not reccomend the Casa Barca Hotel highly enough,lovely clean large rooms,breakfast room very comfortable and food is first class.We never felt uncomfortable and were made so welcome it was like being with a long time friend.Will we visit Lake Garda again?,Definately YES,and we will stay at the CASA BARCA WELLNESS HOTEL,Fabulous.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct for airport transfers from Verona,great rates and picked up in private car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me, my mum and my partner stayed here when I got married in September.I must say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.It is very stylish and also very classy.The staff are second to none.They consistently did things throughout our stay that no other hotel has ever done.On the morning of our departure different types of fruit, yogurts,coffees,biscuits etc were awaiting for us even though the breakfast room was closed.It is a little bit more expensive than the standard ones in the centre but worth every penny.The roof top terrace is stunning,gets the sun all day and the views are unbelievable.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the upper level floors as these are the best views..There is no restaurant whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela_hutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stylish, clean and extremely helpful & friendly hotel! If you are interested in hiking or just relaxing and having superb food, this is the place. Unbelievable breakfast and close to the old town full of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel in September. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival and shown to our spotlessly clean and spacious room. Although the room lacks a bit of charm (it is a modern hotel after all) it has everything we needed and we had a wonderful terrace.

The facilities at the hotel were also great and we enjoyed sitting by the pool, and on the roof terrace. There are several areas where guests can relax and they are in th sun/in the shade at different times. We also enjoyed using the jacuzzi and we availed oursleves of the half price massages on offer during our stay.

The breakfast was also first class; so much to choose from and the breakfast room was a delight and very welcoming. The rest of the publc areas are also very well maintained and had a lovely smell.

As for the location, the hotel is slightly elevated but it is not far to the centre of Malcesine and there is a Spar at the bottom of the road - perfect for stocking up on supplies. There is also plenty parking at the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Casa Barca is a very good hotel, no doubt about it, but there is room for improvement, and in our view some of the previous reviews are a bit OTT - this hotel is good, very good, but it is nowhere near world class.

To start with the many positives:
-the location is good, slightly elevated on a quiet road with nice views of the lake but only a 10 minute or so walk into the town centre. The hotel doesnt do evening meals, but it really is no hardship to stroll into the lovely centre of Malcesine
-the room we stayed in (number 25) was spacious and had been redecorated recently with a smart new carpet, in room fridge and slim TV
-the fridge was very useful, and the hotel was quite happy for you to put your own drinks in it, which isn't the case in many other hotels. the fridge was empty so clearly all guests must do this.
-there is a large Spar supermarket on the main road only a short walk away, so very convenient for stocking up with water and other drinks
-the breakfast room was large airy and modern, and the choice of food available was wide, with the benefit of long serving hours (till 10.30am) so allowing a lie-in! the food choice was good but not exceptional when compared to high-end hotels elsewhere in the world
-the staff seemed pleasant enough and spoke good English
-the whole hotel was peaceful, and the room was so quiet that we had some of our best night sleeps in any hotel - this is of course a key thing for any hotel! having carpets causes less noise than tiled floors, which no doubt helped
-the bathroom fittings were nice and modern
-the hotel and grounds were spotless, and the cleaning of the room was quick and efficient
-the roof terrace had lovely views of the lake with comfortable chairs and was mostly very quiet, with lovely sunsets
-most of the guests appeared to be Germans who had driven there, judging by the large number of German cars parked there, and most were middle-aged and quiet

so what stopped it being excellent?
-the key complaint we had is that we paid for an upgraded room "Exclusive" but were surprised that it only had a narrow side balcony, not a front balcony, and there was so much vegetation that we could hardly see the lake at all. it may be because we booked through Thomsons and so got the worst "Exclusive" room, but so far as we could see most of the other rooms (at least those on the upper floors) would have had nice lake views. on reflection we should have queried this when we checked-in, but we had been travelling for hours and were exhausted. overall, we felt short-changed in this respect and meant we spent very little time on the balcony. also as the hotel faces west you do get the full sun in the late afternoon

some other issues:
-the fruit juice at breakfast was the worst we have ever had in a hotel of any class - it was a sugary watery squash, not "proper" fruit juice and felt the worst kind of penny-pinching. it spoilt the rest of the breakfast which was good.
-on arrival at your first breakfast you are basically allocated a seat and it is made clear that you have to sit there for each breakfast for the rest of your stay. some people may like the certainty, but we didnt like being told where to sit, especially as our table was not near the windows. it seemed to us that this was simply for the convenience of the staff so they didnt have to hurry to clear the tables. that said, on our first breakfast there was not even anyone there to guide us to our table and we had to work out our table from a plan by the door. We suspect that there are simply not enough staff at certain times of the day.
-the bathroom toiletries were cheap and uninspiring, not even a separate conditioner
-the bathroom tiles were brown/beige and rather 70s, unless this is the latest Italian style?
-the bath towels were a bit thin
-other reviews go on and on about the service, but we are puzzled by this. Apart from check-in we had almost no contact with the hotel staff other than brief greetings. Most amazingly, on our last day we had to leave fairly early (7.15am ish) but the reception was closed, no-one was there and there was a screen down (!) we had to leave our room keys on part of the desk behind a screen and we were thankful we didnt have a bill to pay. we have never had this before in any hotel, there is always someone in reception (even just a night watchman) especially when they knew we were leaving fairly early. a previous review has mentioned receiving as diffuser on departure - we didnt see anyone about, let alone get some kind of leaving present!
-the hotel's sun terrace was quiet but the low wall meant that you couldnt see the lake unless you stood up

Some of these issues seem minor, but equally they would be very easy to put right.

To conclude, this is a very good, well-run and well-furnished hotel, but there were a few issues (especially the lack of lake view even for an upgraded room) which stopped us giving it top ratings. It is probably the best hotel in Malcesine but we felt that, for the money we paid, it did not justify an "excellent" rating - very good but certainly not excellent. If you are thinking of coming here, make sure that you do have a clear lake view from your balcony by booking a room at the front on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Room 25 at the end has no lake view. Best go for a room at the front on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
8.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellness Hotel Casa Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Casa Barca

Property: Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Address: Via Panoramica 15, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellness Hotel Casa Barca 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barca, which was completely renovated in 2007, lies embedded in an olive grove of 4500 square meters and it is only a stone's throw away from the historic old town and the lake. The guests can enjoy the privilege of a rejuvenating and relaxing atmosphere.The modern design is the perfect starting point for a holiday under the motto of comfort and physical wellness.Our new health spa will help you to make your dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wellness Hotel Casa Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo Casa Barca Wellness
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing