We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful week at Lake Garda...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Aurora
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A beautiful week at Lake Garda...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

Myself and my wife arrived at Malcesine and were astonished at the welcome we received at the Hotel Aurora.The hotel isn't especially large and is a family run business,but the people who run this establishment are truly wonderful.

The Lake Garda region is exceptionally beautiful,and Malcesine is the sort of place where unaccompanied ladies can walk at night feeling perfectly safe.It's a fantastic family destination,and if you want to sit up soaking in the atmosphere and have great food (or alcoholic beverages!) until around 2.30 a.m. I can't think of a better place to go.

But my greatest thanks go to the family Trimeloni-the hotel itself may not be 5 star rated but the service they gave us was well beyond any star rating,they were the true stars!

I have only one reservation,and that is I saw no lift on the premises (Maybe I missed it!),so those who have a problem with mobility might need to contact them prior to booking.

In all other respects I have nothing but praise for the Aurora and thoroughly recommend it. We intend to return as soon as it is practicable.

Arriverderci Malcesine and the Aurora!

A thousand thank you's from Dorian and Julie!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DandJfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

Arrived at this hotel on an alllacation on arrival. We were pleased with the location of the hotel and the cleaniness throughout. The owners are friendly and we had a back room which was quiet. Breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about. If you are looking for a clean no frills hotel in centre then this hotel fits the bill. The only thing i missed was a balconly to sit on in the evenings.

  • Liked — spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — no balcony
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Aurora for 4 nights at the beginning of May. The hotel is small family run and spread over three floors (without lift). It is well situated in in the heart of the town in a small square which is surrounded by shops bars and restaurants. Although our ensuite room was small, it was on the top floor and at the rear of the building so we weren't troubled by any noise form the bars and restaurants in the square. The bed was large and comfy and although the en suite was tiny, the shower was hot and powerful enough, even though the bracket holding the shower arm itself was broken. The breakfast was 'contintental' based but included bread, croissants butter and jams; yoghurt, cheese and hams with boiled eggs offered; fruit juice and coffee or tea (although the italians have yet to learn the art of english tea). The proprietor and his family were all extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and, as like a previous reviewer, we had an early departure and a special breakfast on a tray was prepared the night before, incuding coffee in thermos, fruit juice, croissants, and jams. As the hotel itself is small, the rooms can suffer from the bathrooms of one room being adjacent to the bedrooms of others - but as long as everyone staying there is considerate (and has similar timings with their abluting habits) its all fine (we did however suffer one night with our nearest neighbour - Brits). Malcesine is a great resort for a short break. We had some great pasta - especially at the nearby restaurant Aristotle (again family run with small menu (only really fresh salad to start and the husband making fresh pasta or pizza dishes to order). There are many small bars scattered throughout and along the alley ways and passages, with good beers and wines. Unsurprisingly (I suppose given its proximity to Austria) there is a strong germanic prescence amongst the tourists, represented by signs and menus given in german as often as itailian and weissbier being almost the tipple of choice. The journey up the mountain on the gondola is well worth the trip (some great views and walks) and its easy to get across and around the lake, particularly to Limone (almost opposite). Overall we were able to find many places where the prices were surprisingly low - providing great value for money at a time when the euro is so strong against the pound. And finally (on the matter of money) we can confirm that there is one ATM situated at the harbour (close to the ferry ticket office) - as this seems to have been a concern expressed by others in the forum.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Next doors adjacent bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

just home from the Aurora hotel which was most pleasant, great value for money, clean comfortable room, owners extremely nice, gave us a nice breakfast with extras if wanted,the coffee was delicious, offered us early breakfast on departure day at 6.30am, only down point was coming home, will definately be going back next year.

  • Liked — central
  • Disliked — lumpy beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank italyloverGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Malcesine was the perfect choice for people like us who dislike the brash funfares etc. of southern lake Garda and who prefer the higher mountain scenery and quieter harbours and beaches at the northern end of the lake; without compromising on things to do, places to stay and restaurants to eat.
The hotel Aurora is in the pretty town centre, is clean, family run and friendly. Our room was smallish with a cramped en-suite, but was clean and peaceful as it faced an inner courtyard. Air conditioning was available for a small extra fee. Breakfast was not of the highest quality but we could eat as much as we liked and there was a large choice. There is no lift and the hotel only boasts one star but deserves more for the amenities and service it does offer.
Above Malcesine is Monte Baldo accessed by a great revolving cable car. The walking is fantastic up there and its cooler at such heights. The eastern bank of the lake is easier to travel by bus than the other side. If bus timetables aren't convenient you could use the cheap airport transfer offered by a number of hotels in town, but you have to ask for it. Mind you we used just such a transfer and we learned the true meaning of 'white van man' with the most terrifying journey in a transit van we've ever had!

  • Liked — Underrated quality
  • Disliked — Smallish
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cymruNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#10 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#32 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#51 of 70 in Malcesine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#46 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Aurora

Property: Albergo Aurora
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele 10, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Aurora Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing