We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cozy hotel with a beautiful view”
Review of Hotel Peler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peler
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are very pleased of our stay at Hotel Peler in Malcesine. The room was tidy and fresh with a perfect view over the old town and lake Garda. The personnel was kind and helpful with everything. The location of the hotel was outstanding. We loved especially the breakfast and the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank P_ivi_HMalcesine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Peler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have just returned from the Hotel Peler.
We rented 2 rooms for 4 nights whilst visiting for a wedding at the castle
Rooms are spotless
Beds Firm but comfy
Breakfast consists of homemade items such as breads and cakes/pastries with good coffee.
We were in room 20 which had a decent size bathroom and amazing lake views
Our son was in 31 which was a little dark and faced neighbouring hotel, if you looked to the left you saw the mountain and cable cars. Again room was spotless with a smaller bathroom.
All rooms had balcony s
There was also a large balcony area leading from the reception area which smokers could HSVE breakfast on.
We used the balcony area wih the lovely comfy seating area to entertain other family members that were her for the wedding
The hotel was in a prime spot for everything you could possibly need.
The hotel is on the main road but to be honest I never found it a problem
The owner and family were nothing but hospitable and helpful to us at all times even to the point of helping organise a transfer for my sister who wasn't even staying at the hotel.
I would most certainty recommend this hotel, in fact my brother changed to this hotel after coming to visit us, as he was so impressed with it...
When the day comes for a return visit yo Malcesine , I will defiantly be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view, ask or room at front.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1018jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with amazing views. Our room was nicely decorated with a spacious balcony overlooking the lake and the mountains. The bedroom wasn't as clean as it could have been with a lot of dust on the floor and under the bed. The bathroom was very small and needs updating really - the shower is tiny and has this very long shower curtain which gets in the way and is awkward to arrange - it was ok but not a pleasant experience.

Our room was right below the stairs but you couldn't hear anyone tramping up and down - the sound-proofing was excellent. Unfortunately the sound-proofing on the outside wall with the patio-doors to the balcony is not so good and it was impossible to sleep through the noise of a bar down the street playing loud (and really bad) music. Luckily the music stops at midnight on the dot.

Air-con isn't included and you have to pay extra for it. In July/August it was very hot and we needed it. There is no fridge in the room.

Breakfast was ok. The best bit was the freshly made, very good coffee. Also, on one day we did have delicious home-made cake which was great.

The owner, like many hoteliers and restaurant owners in Malcesine when we visited, seemed tourist-weary and ready for the tourist period (busiest from May-August) to end. However she was very helpful when it came to assisting with local information/planning local trips.

I thought this hotel was a good location, but quite expensive for what you get. I'd definitely look around first before booking with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyree-and-Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fabulous location! Right at the centre of Malcesine with views of the castle and lake from the hotel terrace (and rooms depending on the side of the hotel you're on). Spotlessly clean, great breakfast with lots of choice and lovely homemade cakes. Was initially disappointed to find hotel situated above the surf shop but turned out to be ideal. Only downside was the noise of scooters going by on the main road outside and the bottle banks being emptied at 6 in the morning but if you can put up with this it's a great value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel is great value for money, central location, and very clean. The views of the castle and the lake from the hotel terrace are amazing. The rooms at the front of the hotel have the same fantastic views and the rooms at the back have views of the mountains. The rooms are a good size.
The staff were helpful and friendly and when it was raining on our last day they were very accommodating. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Absolutely fantastic location!!!!!!!! Right by the castle, the cable car, the gorgeous cobbled lanes and shops and the lake- perfect!
Very pleasant staff,hotel more like a motel whereby it closes up at 10pm so you have access to a back entrance and your room only after this time.
Breakfast buffet pleasant with great espresso and homemade cakes, cookies etc as well as the usual.
The only downside is the lack of room items such as safe, tv & hairdryer other than that the rooms all have pleasant balconies and are clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moirachalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We travel a lot and went to this hotel last summer.
We did not like it at all, so that we had to spend one day of our holiday to look for another hotel...

But let's start with the good points:
1. The hotel has a nice website, with beautiful, professional pictures. However, this gives you a misleading of the hotel. You cannot see that the rooms are very small and that the hotel is on a very busy road. Further it seems as if you have full frontal lake view, but the lake view is only (very) partial or not (room on the back) and you have to look behind a busy road, houses, buildings and shops to see a part of it.

2. The rooms are tastefully decorated, many IKEA stuff. I you like that, this is a positive point for you.

Now what we did not like:

1. The hotel is on one of the busiest places of Malcesine, right on the main road, with many noise, all night long. You'll here people shouting, car horns etc. So definitely NOT a place if you want to relax on your holiday and definitely NOT right at Lake Garda.

2. The room is very, very hot. Not doable without air condition, which of course is at extra charge. 1 and 2 gave us sleepless nights...

3. The room is very, very small. No room for two suitcases, you can hardly move in your room. And you don't want to, because it's so hot and noisy. The bathroom is super small! Not even place for a rack in the shower to put your shampoo/ soap on. It was the smallest room we have stayed in.

4. The room was not cleaned, when we arrived back in the hotel after a long day, although we were away from 12:30 - 22:30. When we politely asked the owner if cleaning was not included, she answered: yes, but I like to do that in the morning after breakfast. When I said that we left after 12:30 her reaction was: I cannot keep up when my guests leave their room. No excuses or anything!

5. The price is very overrated. We paid EUR 200 for two nights, more than we paid for our other, way better, 3 and 4 stars hotels on this trip. When we looked for another hotel in Malcesine, we found many, many hotels with a better view, bigger rooms, more quiet, better breakfast and service and also a pool. Prices of way better 3 stars hotels start around 60 euro in high season. We ended up moving to another more star hotel in Malcesine, paying 80 euro per night for a fantastic room! Large, romantic, right at the lake, no noise, relaxing, with pool, parking, free internet etc. In Malcesine there is a hotel office, that can look into all hotel availability. They will be more than happy to help you with a better hotel.

6. The hotel has no pool or other relaxing area. The terrace where the breakfast is served (only till 09:30) is right on the busy main road, so not a place to sit and relax.

7. The hotel has a few parking spaces, however, when we arrived around 22:30, there was no space left...so we had to park in the street.

8. Internet is at extra charge and very slow/ does not work properly all the time.

9. Not suitable for persons with mobility issues, no elevator, you have to walk stairs with your suitcases to enter the building and then again to go to your room. As we are a young couple, this was no problem for us.

10. Last but worst!! The owner is not service minded at all. We had many contact with her in the days before our booking and arrival, telling her that we were looking for a Malcesine hotel as part of our honeymoon. And that we were looking for a romantic, quiet place to relax at the lake front. Yes, this was possible at hotel Peler, said the owner.
We were very dissapointed upon arrival. Not because we did not get any honeymoon flowers or fruit, like in the other hotels, but because of the small, hot and very noisy room - not relaxing. I wanted to leave immediately, however, my wife felt sorry for the owner and asked to stay at least one night. We mentioned our disspointment politely, but did not get any understanding from the owner.
Next morning we asked her if she knew any other hotels in the area, that would meet our needs. Again no help and understanding at all.
At night we came back, we had not booked any hotel yet. Owner was not there. That night was just really horrible with the noise and heat, we did not sleep at all.
The next morning we asked the owner very politely if we could leave, saying, we like the decoration of the rooms, but when we stay here, this would be spoiling our own holiday, simply because we were looking for relaxation and quietness. She said that indeed her hotel was the best decorated hotel of the area and was angry with us. When we finally checked out, we paid cash, but because my wife (still) felt sorry for her, since it is her own hotel and not a big company, we did not mention the cash payment discount she promised.
She on the otherside, said there will be no discount and that the price would be 20 euro higher as said before, because of the short stay, and that this additional price of 20 euro was written on her website. Although we explained to her, that not only for her it was loss of a client, but also for us a loss of our holidays to look for another hotel, she had NO understanding at all. She kept asking for the extra money. We paid, because we really wanted to leave and thought: she probably needs it more than we do.
When we were at the hotel office, the lady showed us the hotel Peler website, that did not mention the 20 euro extra at all. And she told us that if the client is not satisfied at all, the hotel owner should at least NOT give you a hard time to leave, if the complaints cannot be solved. How the owner of this hotel threated us, without any respect for our holiday, is really a bad attitude for someone in the hospitality branche.

In short: don't go here, many way better and way cheaper hotels in Malcesine.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank San P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vela Azzurra
Hotel Vela Azzurra
#65 of 71 in Malcesine
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#54 of 71 in Malcesine
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Diana
Hotel Garni Diana
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
59 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#29 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peler

Address: Via Gardesana 290, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peler 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Peler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peler Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Peler Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing