We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go here! Small, bad service, owner without integrity. Many way better and way cheaper hotels in Malcesine.”
Review of Hotel Peler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peler
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We travel a lot and went to this hotel last summer.
We did not like it at all, so that we had to spend one day of our holiday to look for another hotel...

But let's start with the good points:
1. The hotel has a nice website, with beautiful, professional pictures. However, this gives you a misleading of the hotel. You cannot see that the rooms are very small and that the hotel is on a very busy road. Further it seems as if you have full frontal lake view, but the lake view is only (very) partial or not (room on the back) and you have to look behind a busy road, houses, buildings and shops to see a part of it.

2. The rooms are tastefully decorated, many IKEA stuff. I you like that, this is a positive point for you.

Now what we did not like:

1. The hotel is on one of the busiest places of Malcesine, right on the main road, with many noise, all night long. You'll here people shouting, car horns etc. So definitely NOT a place if you want to relax on your holiday and definitely NOT right at Lake Garda.

2. The room is very, very hot. Not doable without air condition, which of course is at extra charge. 1 and 2 gave us sleepless nights...

3. The room is very, very small. No room for two suitcases, you can hardly move in your room. And you don't want to, because it's so hot and noisy. The bathroom is super small! Not even place for a rack in the shower to put your shampoo/ soap on. It was the smallest room we have stayed in.

4. The room was not cleaned, when we arrived back in the hotel after a long day, although we were away from 12:30 - 22:30. When we politely asked the owner if cleaning was not included, she answered: yes, but I like to do that in the morning after breakfast. When I said that we left after 12:30 her reaction was: I cannot keep up when my guests leave their room. No excuses or anything!

5. The price is very overrated. We paid EUR 200 for two nights, more than we paid for our other, way better, 3 and 4 stars hotels on this trip. When we looked for another hotel in Malcesine, we found many, many hotels with a better view, bigger rooms, more quiet, better breakfast and service and also a pool. Prices of way better 3 stars hotels start around 60 euro in high season. We ended up moving to another more star hotel in Malcesine, paying 80 euro per night for a fantastic room! Large, romantic, right at the lake, no noise, relaxing, with pool, parking, free internet etc. In Malcesine there is a hotel office, that can look into all hotel availability. They will be more than happy to help you with a better hotel.

6. The hotel has no pool or other relaxing area. The terrace where the breakfast is served (only till 09:30) is right on the busy main road, so not a place to sit and relax.

7. The hotel has a few parking spaces, however, when we arrived around 22:30, there was no space left...so we had to park in the street.

8. Internet is at extra charge and very slow/ does not work properly all the time.

9. Not suitable for persons with mobility issues, no elevator, you have to walk stairs with your suitcases to enter the building and then again to go to your room. As we are a young couple, this was no problem for us.

10. Last but worst!! The owner is not service minded at all. We had many contact with her in the days before our booking and arrival, telling her that we were looking for a Malcesine hotel as part of our honeymoon. And that we were looking for a romantic, quiet place to relax at the lake front. Yes, this was possible at hotel Peler, said the owner.
We were very dissapointed upon arrival. Not because we did not get any honeymoon flowers or fruit, like in the other hotels, but because of the small, hot and very noisy room - not relaxing. I wanted to leave immediately, however, my wife felt sorry for the owner and asked to stay at least one night. We mentioned our disspointment politely, but did not get any understanding from the owner.
Next morning we asked her if she knew any other hotels in the area, that would meet our needs. Again no help and understanding at all.
At night we came back, we had not booked any hotel yet. Owner was not there. That night was just really horrible with the noise and heat, we did not sleep at all.
The next morning we asked the owner very politely if we could leave, saying, we like the decoration of the rooms, but when we stay here, this would be spoiling our own holiday, simply because we were looking for relaxation and quietness. She said that indeed her hotel was the best decorated hotel of the area and was angry with us. When we finally checked out, we paid cash, but because my wife (still) felt sorry for her, since it is her own hotel and not a big company, we did not mention the cash payment discount she promised.
She on the otherside, said there will be no discount and that the price would be 20 euro higher as said before, because of the short stay, and that this additional price of 20 euro was written on her website. Although we explained to her, that not only for her it was loss of a client, but also for us a loss of our holidays to look for another hotel, she had NO understanding at all. She kept asking for the extra money. We paid, because we really wanted to leave and thought: she probably needs it more than we do.
When we were at the hotel office, the lady showed us the hotel Peler website, that did not mention the 20 euro extra at all. And she told us that if the client is not satisfied at all, the hotel owner should at least NOT give you a hard time to leave, if the complaints cannot be solved. How the owner of this hotel threated us, without any respect for our holiday, is really a bad attitude for someone in the hospitality branche.

In short: don't go here, many way better and way cheaper hotels in Malcesine.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank San P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Peler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a freshly renovated hotel with all you can want in this pricerange. Great location, good service, neat, tidy, good breakfast. Ecology has been taken into account. Recycling is encouraged, bathroom equipment has water saving functionalities, complimentary soaps and shampoos are all eco, there is a wide variety of organic foods served on breakfast etc.

Only thing missing is a swimming pool. There is an internet connection available for a little extra charge, but it was pretty slow and unreliable at times. You can check your email, news, weather and such, but don't expect to be able to upload all your holiday photos to facebook.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are longer in the sun and hotter than mountainview rooms. if you dont buy A/C for 6...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Peler for 4 nights during our stay in Malcesine, upon arrival the first thing that hits you is the hotel has a fresh new feel. After making our way to reception (please note that this hotel is not for those with any mobility issues as there is no lift!) on the first floor we were quickly dealt with and shown to our room which was clean, modern and as good as we've had for the money. The balcony was large and despite being on the main road the views up to Monte Baldo and to the castle and Lake Garda were beautiful.

We were in Malcesine for a wedding at the castle and the hotel was perfectly placed,only a short walk away, especially given the heat!!! It is also perfectly placed for those wishing to take the cable car up Monte Baldo.

The hotel seems to be efficiently run almost single handedly, she acts as receptionist, cleans and runs breakfast. Breakfast was good and is taken on the balcony overlooking Malcesine, the castle and the lake.

All in all this was excellent value for money for those exploring the area, or wishing to be close to the castle for a wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dossy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed there for a week in summer and was very pleasant stay. Small but comfortable hotel with good breakfast and good location. Next to the mountains which were perfect for hiking. Malcesine is a little town but has some nice restaurants and cafes. And the views are excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anu_ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed in the hotel Peler for 5 days with our friends/family for our wedding in July. Elke, the hotel owner, was so, so helpful in the run up to our stay - sorting out the various rooms for various lengths of stay, arranging various transfers, making sure people were on the requested floors - she even ended up taking my mum to the hospital after she was bitten by a dog!

The hotel has beautiful views across the lake and castle to the front and of the mountains to the back of the hotel. Although it has no garden/pool, there are very limited hotels in Malcesine which do offer this (I think we looked at about 20+ hotels/appartments before selecting this one and only saw 4 with pools), it does have a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast overlooking the lake, and for us, we didn't really have time sitting around the hotel. Although the main road is directly below, I personally never found it too noisy, and we were there in fairly high-peak season.

The location is ideal - it is very close for walking into town, which was ideal for us, and you can park directly below the hotel.

Be aware if you have mobility issues - you have to climb a flight of steps to get to the hotel as it is above a shop and there is no lift. On the same note, you can hire wheelchairs from the pharmacy which is really easy, and really came in handy as you cannot drive into most of the town (all small, cobbled streets and hills).

The breakfast is limited but more than adequate, and you can get a limited selection of organic drinks from the bar. The decor, although quite simple, is nice and fairly modern, and everything is kept very clean and tidy. I think most rooms have TVs and aircon (you have to pay extra for this, but the room rates are so reasonable, I think this is only fair) and the shower was very good. The only negative I think both us and our guests found was that the beds were far too hard! This may be ideal for some people, but I think we are all used to softer, comfier beds and so found them too firm.

Finally, our room was beautifully decorated for our return on our wedding night, and we had a lovely little gift and card from Elke and her family, which we thought was really kind of them, so thank you!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheybaby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

a small family- run B&B pension with bright, modern uncluttered rooms, comfortable beds and good bathroom. The front rooms have a balcony with castle views.
Breakfast is `continental´ with a reasonable but not extensive choice. Underground parking is available & it´s very convienient for the old town on foot. Service was friendly & helpful. A drawback for some may be that as it is on the main road the traffic can be very noisy but other than that, I would say the Peler is a good value choice for a short stay in this beautiful town.
Tip- to find this hotel when one is driving along the busy road ...look for a watersports shop next to the turning for the funicular- the hotel is above!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatleySpencecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Hotel Peler is a lovely place to be based in Malcesine. So near to everything. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the castle and lake - just wonderful. Everything kept so clean, fresh and bright. As a Ceoliac I have to have a gluten free diet and this was catered for very well for breakfast - it meant I did not have to worry about what to eat or being unable to eat very much. Thank you for making our stay brilliant.

Denise and Alan Morris
England

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee19753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vela Azzurra
Hotel Vela Azzurra
#65 of 71 in Malcesine
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#54 of 71 in Malcesine
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Diana
Hotel Garni Diana
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
59 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#29 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peler

Address: Via Gardesana 290, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peler 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Peler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peler Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Peler Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing