We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malcesne, superb.”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #14 of 34 Malcesine B&B and Inns
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Malcesne, superb.”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My partner and I recently whent to Malcesne and stayed at the hotel San Marco, we both thought the service was excellent, the rooms were spacious and well appointed and the view from our room looked right down the lake. We had B&B this gave us a good range of breakfast things although no British fry up, but this is not a problem it is always nice to try other nationalities food. We ate at our hotel two or three times during our stay and yes there are better places to eat in the town but you have to pay through the nose, whilst the hotel San Marco will serve you good well cooked food at a reasonable price, so good value for money. We found the staff very friendly and only two willing to help.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallaceSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed at this lovely hotel at the end of June, room spacious, clean & very well decorated, shower great. Fantastic location right on the Harbour so could hop on a boat to other parts of the Lake. It is also worth getting the cable car up Monte Baldo, stunning views & cute cows with bells. The Venice & Verona trips were very enjoyable & the Inghams reps were brilliant, nothing too much trouble & were very helpful & friendly.
It was great to wander round the cobbled streets after dinner & finish off the evening at one of the bars in a square full of beautiful blossom trees, the Art Cafe was our favourite.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again we had a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We recently travelled to Malcesine at the end of June 09, with neither of us having been to Italy, let alone Lake Garda before. We booked the hotel through lastminute.com & didn't really know what to expect of the hotel due to some average reviews in 2007. However, we were both very happy with our choice. The rooms have all been recently renovated & are extremely comfortable, with more than enough space. The bathrooms have all the amenities you'd expect/want/need (including hairdryer) & were spotless. The air con was very good & quiet & there was also an electronic safe in the wardrobe.The hotel had a great situation, right on the harbour, looking out over the lake. It’s the perfect place to people watch if you want to watch the world go by. If that’s the case, you may want to try a Spritz Aperol (local beverage – very tasty).The food was really good quality in the hotel. Breakfast, although continental, had a good choice of cereal, cold meet, fruit & few other bits & bobs with the normal beverages to accompany them. The evening meals were also very tasty with a variety of food being served throughout the week. The starters & mains were all cooked very well, and frequently we couldn't get around to dessert which was a great choice of ice cream or freshly made cakes & gateau’s. The wine & beer served was also very pleasant. The only thing we tended to find speaking to others staying all over the lake was that vegetarians are catered for, but only just, they didn’t seem to have a great deal of choice a lot of the time at hotels & restaurants.The staff were all very friendly, although, as commented by others, the mother doesn’t smile that much, but she is friendly enough. They all speak enough English to understand your needs, although it’s always nice to meet & greet them in the local dialect. The rooms we made immaculate by the maids each day.Don’t take too much notice of the weather forecasts before you go on holiday there as the mountains make a mockery of them. It will be more than warm enough if you go in the summer & it won't rain all day at all, altough you may see some great storms rush through.Malcesine itself has a whole load to offer. It’s a real quaint town with plenty to see & experience on its cobbled streets. There is the Mount Baldo cable car there which is well worth the visit with stunning views. It is also a really good place to go & experience the rest of the lake from, especially via the ferries. There is a load to do there if you are keen on mountain biking, hiking, climbing, windsurfing, sailing or just enjoying nature. There are excursions to Verona (including the Opera in the amphitheatre), Venice, the Alps, Dolomites, Vine yards & a whole load more if you want to experience them. I wouldn’t suggest that it’s the sort of place to go to sunbath for a week, although you could happily do this, it would be a waste with all that's on offer to you.I would highly recommend this hotel & resort to those who are interested in visiting Lake Garda.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I arrived back on Saturday from a week's holiday with Inghams, booked through lastminute.com. The room was a good size, with a massive bed, well decorated with air con and was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. I had read about the owners reputation for being a little unfriendly, it is true the female owner doesn't smile a lot, but the whole family made us feel welcome and could all speak some English and made every effort to help us during our stay.
The hotel is located in the historic part of Malcesine right on the harbour, perfect for catching the boat to other places on the lake, or listening to the live music at the different cafe's on the harbour front. Many of the cobbled streets in Malcesine don't accommodate cars so most of the hotels in the historic part do not have parking or room for a garden or pool. A few tables outside is generally all you get.
The breakfast was good by continental standards and for most of the week there was Granola and Muesli type cereal as well as the traditional Cornflakes and Rice Crispies. The hard boiled eggs were chilled every morning and had obviously come straight from the fridge, who knows maybe they have been reading these reviews! The food in the evenings was very good, it wasn't the best of Italian Cuisine, but what do you expect for a small hotel that only seems to offer half-board through lastminute.com as a thrown in extra. The point is if you had to eat out every night it would have cost a lot of cash as the food and drink was not cheap. The meat and fish main courses were very well cooked according to my boyfriend. As a vegetarian I didn't eat any of the main courses on offer and was able to choose what I wanted to eat every night and I didn't eat an omlette all week! If you didn't like the main course or dessert you were always offered an alternative. There was plenty of food, I witnessed many turning down one of the three courses because they couldn't eat any more. I heard a rumour that at other hotels in the area the vegetarian main course was sometimes chicken or a cheeseboard so I was very pleased that the hotel was so accomodating. In my opinion one of the best features was being able to take your wine or drink from dinner outside the front of the cafe area and to sit and watch the boats and people around the harbour. Malcesine is not a place I would go to sit around inside a hotel, the beautiful weather and scenery means you don't need to!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

we stayed on a lastminute trip to Malsecine and were a little concerned when we read about Fawlty towers in the reviews. I would like to point out that the food was delicious, a lovely evening meal with pasta or soup to start, fish or meat for seconds and then a gorgeous pudding. Usually salad on the side to help yourself. it was great quality home cooked food, i don't think they could do any better! Not suitable for fussy eaters as not much choice, though they would cook special requests. Breakfast more basic but perfectly fine. The staff were very friendly, the lovely Stephano very polite and speaks good English.
The room was very clean and spacious with new windows that kept out the noise. Lovely bathroom and nice comfy beds (one large and one pull out bed). The location was great as next to the ferries so after a hard days sightseeing we just got off the boat and collapsed in the room! No hills to climb, was nice change. We were mother and daughter so it was a nice relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iscreamforicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the San Marco hotel in Malcesine, on a holiday organised by Inghams, who were great and very efficient. We booked using last-minute.com and were pleased to be offered half-price excursions and free evening meal. The hotel has been very nicely refurbished and the rooms are like new. The location by the port is ideal but somewhat noisy, both at night and early morning, it's OK if you can sleep with all the windows shut and the air-conditioning on. The main complaint is with the breakfast, OK we know it's continental and we can't expect an English fry-up but we only had a choice of rice crispies (white or brown) and corn flakes, no muesli or similar alternative. There was tinned fruit (not fresh) and yoghurt but the bread was stale, sliced meat and cheese always the same, cold boiled eggs and sultana cake, all very strange. The "free" evening meals left a lot to be desired, the first course was usually pasta or soup, which most of the time was typical Italian and interesting, if a little strange. The second course had no choice and was typically some sort of meat (not always clear what) and potatoes, never any vegetables. The puddings were very basic (blancmange) on two ocaasions. This was all served very rapidly without waiting for everyone to finish the first course. The waiting staff were generally friendly but the lady owner we nicknamed "The Dragon" as she seldom smiled. The dining room was very cramped and people had to move to let others in and out. There is nowhere to site and relax at this hotel, other than on the pavement or in the tiny bar, where you are obliged to buy a drink. This was a wonderful holiday for us in spite of the hotel, we very much enjoyed the "Inghams" experience and the excursions with friendly and knowledgible reps and would recommend Lake Garda to friends, but I think their must be better hotels to choose, this one certainly doesn't merit three stars, there is no lounge, garden, gym, swimming pool or parking. Do take plenty of spending money with you as the cost of living is considerably higher than here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingwoodMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2009

A small , friendly family run hotel in the heart of San Marco, directly opposite the port, providing easy access to all parts of the lake.
Rooms are clean, air conditioned. Note all have views - some side view have to brick walls!
I would describe this hotel as a cafe / bar that runs a hotel on the side. Meals were taken in a cramped dining room. Breakfast consisting of the usual meats and cheese. Bread rolls appeared to be the product of unused items from the day before. Boiled eggs were left out overnight! My wife and I were on half board and the set menu showed little imagination. Chicken was served on two consecutive days. Vegetables were very few and far between. The last night consisted of a choice of jacket potatoes’ and trout – fine if you like trout or an omelette and yes just an omlette. Now keep in mind this was a main meal.
The hotel let itself down by the quality of its food. A shame when you consider that there are a huge amount of restaurants in this small town . If I had been aware I would have booked bed and breakfast and taken an evening meal out every night.
Would I go there again or recommend it to a friend – the answer would be no. There are no doubt far better hotels in this resort offering better quality of food.
Keep in mind that you go on holiday to enjoy the area and eat well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
344 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#49 of 71 in Malcesine
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#42 of 71 in Malcesine
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Capitanato 9, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing