We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #12 of 35 Malcesine B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The location, right on the water in Malcesine, is this hotel's main asset. The rooms were average, nothing special but comfortable, quiet and clean and breakfast was slightly below average. But the view from our room all but made up for it!

Convenient parking is just a few hundred meters from the hotel, which was very easy to find. We took a short sail boat trip, and it departed just steps from our door. We were surrounded by great restaurants (go to Al Gondoliere!!) and all the sights.

It's pretty annoying that the entire bottom floor is a restaurant. A not-so-great, incredibly-overpriced one at that. To get in to or out of the room we had to pass diners every time. And forget asking for a food recommendation. On our first day there, we asked where you could get a good gelato. They of course told us right there in the restaurant. We were suckered in to paying 10-euro for giant cup of cheap ice cream and un-ripe fruit.

If ever back in Garda, I'd probably stay somewhere else. Actually, I'd probably stay in an entirely different town on the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taryn615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here with friends in July 2011 for two weeks. Room wasn't big - particularly since here were three of us, but we managed. The room was in good condition - the cleaning wasn't excellent, but ok. Beds & bathroom ok. Breakfast ok. but since we stayed so long, we were starting to long for some variation - the selection was exactly the same every morning.
We had a big balcony with lake view, and we loved it. It was on the second floor, but with the doors closed and the air-conditioning on, there was no noise.
The location was perfect. I missed having internet connection.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SannaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Beautiful small hotel overlooking the port in Malcesine. Although our room was in the front of the hotel, once we closed the double-glazed windows and turned on the air-conditioning, we didn't hear a thing.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, served with a friendly smile by the waitress.
One word of warning - don't be tempted to have a meal at the Ristorante Italiano across the road, we did, and the food and service was awful. Every other place we tried was at the very least good, several excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annehbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the hotel San Marco for a friend's wedding in Malcesine. The hotel is as central as you can get, overlooking the harbour where the Lake Garda ferries dock and you can hire boats. We were in room 42 on the 4th floor (there is a lift), which was a lovely, clean and spacious room with the added bonus of a small roof terrace with sun loungers and stunning views of the lake. Breakfast was fairly standard continental fare and if you're still hungry you can be tempted by the lovely array of cakes and snacks in the Cafe San Marco in the bottom of the restaurant. Although the hotel is in the centre of town and the noise may bother you if you want the windows open, with them shut and the very effective air conditioning on, you can hardly hear a thing. The lack of communal areas may also bother some but with so much literally on your doorstep, you won't miss them. Finally, the hostess was very understanding when my husband was unwell on our final morning and, when I offered to pay extra to allow us to check out later, agreed to a very reasonable 20 Euros extra so we could stay in our room until late afternoon until he felt better. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_Badger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Fantastic location by the harbour.With windows shut at night and air con on,you can't hear a thing and are guaranteed a good nights sleep until the recycling wagon arrives in the morning collecting bottles.If you like the windows open then you need to be a sparrow enthusiast.That aside,the rooms are really spacious nicely decorated and furnished,plenty of wardrobe space and hangers,but above all spotlessly clean.The bathroom looked brand new every day.The electrics and door opening systems are bang up to date.The owners and staff are very nice and friendly contrary to what else you may read on this site.If anything they keep out of your way,which is great Breakfast is continental style and very nice.Above all it is very Italian,and if you are looking for a Thomson style "Eurohotel"with buffet bacon and eggs,this is not for you.If you want small and friendly,clean,perfectly located,with a freedom to come and go without disturbance,then I cannot reccommend this Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InghamTypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the San Marco. We had been concerned to read some of the earlier reviews and didn't know quite what to expect. We thought the hotel was very well decorated (it's been recently refurbished) and were fortunate to be allocated room 12 (fantasticly spacious room with a balcony overlooking the harbour - we reckon the best room in the hotel). We loved sitting on the balcony at night overlooking the harbour and listening to various street musicians who graced the street outside on several evenings. The bathroom was again spacious and well appointed - the shower was powerful and there was always hot water available.

The hotel is in a very busy area but we were amazed at how efficiently the double glazing and shutters shut out the noise. The air conditioning worked well in the room and was very welcome too. It's not possible to get a taxi to the door of the hotel so we were dropped off by taxi at the top of a small hill and then had to walk a short distance with our luggage to the hotel - not a big deal.

The breakfast was continental but very adequate, and the breakfast room very nicely furnished.

We loved the location of the hotel, our room, the balcony etc. However, if you're looking for warm hospitality be prepared to find it patchy. Other reviews refer to Mr & Mrs Locrini being cold and distant. We certainly found this with Mr (senior) Locrini - he was rude and completely blanked our existence on various occasions, despite trying to be nice and pass the time of day with him, endeavouring to talk Italian to him (however amateurish it may have been). Mrs Locrini on the other hand was distant at first but she was very helpful to us on several occasions and went beyond what could be expected when she took my husband's passport to her home to iron it (long story, it got wet when he dived in to the harbour after I had an accident falling in!) The younger Mr Locrini (the son) was lovely - he always passed the time of day and said hello to us. Marco, the waiter, is also a great guy - a character who we had a laugh with.

It wasn't possible to charge your room with drinks from the bar area (something which would have made life a bit easier) so it did seem like rooms above a cafe rather than a hotel as there wasn't a lounge area for guests either, but it wasn't a major disadvantage.

Malcesine is a beautiful town with pretty streets leading up to a castle where weddings are held throughout the year. After getting married the newly weds walk the streets to cheers and clapping - we were privileged to witness several instances of this. It's a great location from which to get ferries around the Lakes. We hopped on an express boat to Limone on several occasions (8 Euros return), and the ferries were just outside the hotel.

We very much recommend Malcesine and the Hotel San Marco is a great hotel. If you're not too worried about the kind of reception you might get from the owners then book to stay there - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MandLManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My partner and I recently whent to Malcesne and stayed at the hotel San Marco, we both thought the service was excellent, the rooms were spacious and well appointed and the view from our room looked right down the lake. We had B&B this gave us a good range of breakfast things although no British fry up, but this is not a problem it is always nice to try other nationalities food. We ate at our hotel two or three times during our stay and yes there are better places to eat in the town but you have to pay through the nose, whilst the hotel San Marco will serve you good well cooked food at a reasonable price, so good value for money. We found the staff very friendly and only two willing to help.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallaceSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Erika
Hotel Erika
#1 of 35 in Malcesine
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
3.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#60 of 71 in Malcesine
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via Capitanato 9, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Malcesine
Price Range: $122 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing