We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just 2*”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not just 2*”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose Hotel Alpino because of it's cheaper price in comparison to other hotels in Malcesine and were very pleasantly surprised by their kind hospitality.

The air conditioning is set individually for each room (unlike some others, which turn them off in September) and the rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily. The rooms are equipped with shutters, keeping out the sun and noise from outside, making a lie in very easy! Noise could occasionally be heard from the inside, but a room at the end of the corridor meant we had very few passers by.

The manageress, Patrizia, was incredibly helpful in advance of our stay - having read some of the lower rated reviews we were concerned about the old / new part of the building and she politely informed us of the true structure of the hotel and booked us in a lovely room with a balcony with a view of the harbour. She also assisted us in transfers from the airport and bus times for our trip to Verona.

A fantastic location and great food (especially with 10% discount!), our only complaint would have been the "double" bed composed of two singles, but with a single double sheet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyUKemyTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    126
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
76
186
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday at hotel Alpino in Malcesine which was great! Considering it was 2* I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The staff were fantastic, really helpful and couldn't do more for you. The twin room we had was very clean and had air conditioning with a little balcony looking to the lake and mountains (we had room 114). En-suite was very clean and included a wicker basket full of sachets of shampoo and shower gel (a nice touch for 2*), as well as hairdryer. Had a good T.V in the room as well. Breakfast was excellent again considering star rating with a varied choice and good staff at hand once again.
We didn't try the restaurant at the hotel simply because we chose to be more adventurous and go elsewhere but I heard good things from other guests and you get a 10% discount as you stay at the hotel.
On leaving we were given a lunch bag by the reception because our flight was early. What a lovely touch from a 2* hotel.
Only minus I would say would be the noise coming from the kitchen below and deliveries and other hotel guests late at night.
Overall incredibly pleased and would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505joanna_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our second visit to the Hotel Alpino and still great in every sense of the word - great location, rooms spotless and with the added addition of air conditioning from our first visit, good food in the restaurant and 10 per cent off if you are staying in the hotel you just can't beat this hotel for value for money in a fantastic holiday location - would without question go back again and thoroughly recommend anyone else to do so!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-le-Fylde
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from a stay at Hotel Alpino, Malcesine, which was super. Hotel was v.good for a 2 star
and the staff were delightfull and most helpfull. The transfer from Milan took 4 hours due to an
accident and roadworks and was ontop of a baggage delay. All these things were not within the
control of the tour operator but try to fly to Verona which is only an hour away.I believe Monarch
fly from Manchester,and this is what I would do next time.If you go have a trip on the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo,WOW.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from a seven day package holiday with Italiangetaways staying at this nice little hotel.
We had room 205 with a corner balcony from which we could see the Lake and the Mountains, the only room with this view.
The owner and staff were very helpful even to providing us with a pack breakfast snak for our early morning return flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Fantastically located and food to die for. I would recommend this hotel. Rooms are fairly basic but bed linen and towels changed every day. Friendly helpful staff and you couldn't wish to meet a more helpful person than the owner of this charming establishment. Personally I won't look anywhere else the next time I visit this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just returned from our DIY trip of lake garda, cheap flights by monarch, a stay in the verona congress airport hotel, who offer free transfer into verona train/bus station, a saving of 15 euros for 3. We then caught a bus to garda for our 2 night stay at the palme suites, garda. Not a bad hotel, it had a pool, restaurant for breakfast was like a school canteen, however pool area was very nice. We ate out for our 2 nights. Cafe amore and al Porte on the front of the lake. We then took a bus up to torbole in the north, a pleasant 2 hour journey along the lake - beautiful scenery to our next hotel the Hotel club la vela, where we stayed for 7 nights. This was a lovely little town, with lovely sunbathing by the lake, we had half board - the food was lovely, and what better than free wine and water on the table, also coke and orangina unlimited for kids or adults. The pool area at this hotel was very relaxing and we always had sun beds. Finally we took a bus to the little town of malcesine. Lovely cobbled streets, a castle which hosted wedding every day and lovely to see the wedding parties in their finery walking through the town to get on a boat to take them to their wedding breakfast. whilst we were there, the wedding parties were british. The hotel we stayed in was the Hotel Alpino ideally situated at the bottom of the hill from the bus stop and 2 minutes to the lake, this hotel had great reviews even though it was only a 2 star, don't be put off as the room we stayed in was the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in on lake garda. We were in an annexe on the right of the hotel, room was beautifully furnished with 3 big windows, a balcony, a fan, air conditioning, free wifi and a free safe. The only thing that let this small hotel down was the breakfast, one lady on duty serving us all, there wasn't much room to move along the buffet, it felt cramped, however, if the owners would just let the breakfast room be in the restaurant that they use at night, it would have been perfect. Now the restaurant at the Alpino, this was the highlight, as guests we were given a 10% discount card if you ate lunch or evening meal there. The food was fantastic, the restaurant was packed each night and people after people tried to get a table, the owners son Gian Piero was the maitre de/head waiter. He was lovely and spoke very good English, nothing was too much trouble for him, needless to say the food was that good we ate here for the 3 nights and Gian Piero reserved our table for us.
Summing up our trip to lake garda our 6th time, it has confirmed to us that the north of the lake is far better and especially Torbole, loads to do, seems to be more geared up for the outdoor way of life, walking, cycling, and especially sunbathing as they have proper sunbathing areas not like the other towns. Riva has the good designer shops, Arco a little town along the River Sarca has great outdoor shops. All in all a fantastic holiday destination - just go and take a look.

Room Tip: D1 of the annexe in the Hotel Alpino is great
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tigwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
778 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Property: Hotel Alpino
Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing