We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Alpino, we had read all the great reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is right in the centre of Malcesine yet only 5 mins from a lovely lakeside walk. It was spotlessly clean and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We were on a bed a breakfast basis, breakfast was very good. We ate in the restaurant most evenings and it was excellent value, guests at the hotel get 10 percent off the bill too. We did try a few other restaurants but none were as good as the Alpino. Dont be put off by the 2 star rating, ok it doesn't have a pool but everything else about it is 4 star, it also has free wifi throughout. The hotel is only 10 min walk to the cable car to the top of mount Baldo which is well worth a visit . The bus station is also only 5 mins away. We caught the local bus to Verona which at just under 6 euros each, each way, is much cheaper than booking on a trip and as Verona is quite compact you can easily find your way around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avril T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
180
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fabulous restaurant, great choice of food and drink, reasonably priced and very central. We didn't stay here but a party of 30 of us visited malcesine for a week in April 2013 and everyone ate here on separate occasions and some more than once because the food and service was so good. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

just come back from here , wanted just a quick cheap break so we found this hotel ,the hotel was absoloutely second to none ,the staff, the manager, everyone was 1 st class,we had b and b the breakfast was great plenty to eat and drink ,the hotel itself was spotless,the room was cleaned everyday new towels, soap everyday,we had a room in the front with balcony overlooking the square pretty busy but no prob ,if u want somewere to stay im sure u wont be dissapointed with this hotel a big 4 from us

Room Tip: try this one 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iawnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

just back from 5 nights in malcesine at hotel alpino, hotel was immaculate rooms cleaned every day .the hotel is right in the centre of town with a lovely well priced restaurant. the staff were very helpful, organised transfers to the airport at very short notice .would certainly return to this hotel and lake garda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

While we did not stay at the hotel we do have a story to tell about the staff there. Our plan was to ride the ferry down Lake Garda and stop in Malcesine for most of the day. Problematic was the fact that we had a 50 lb bag apiece and there is no luggage storage provided by the ferry system, the bus station, or the tourism office! We started contacting hotels to inquire about baggage storage and were getting negative responses. We were beginning to think we might not be able to see Malcesine and Monte Baldo! Finally, we received a very gracious offer to store our bags at Hotel Aplino for free. We were able to have a wonderful visit while ours bags were stored in a locked room in the front of the hotel. Both of the staff that helped us were very kind and helpful. We had a great lunch in the restaurant there which had quite an extensive menu and a really nice house wine. Our offer of compensation for the baggage storage was refused. They were exceptionally nice people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LENGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

i stayed here just over a year ago, with 15 other members of family, we were in malcesine for my sisters wedding, beautiful town.
the hotel was basic, bed, bathroom, telly,... great as i only need a hotel to sleep! the bed was comfy. the view i had was over the snowy mountin amazing!!!!!!! clean room, really clean bathroom. warm welcome, great food, lovely staff great with the kids!!! whole place was spotless.... really enjoyed it, want to come back! the area of malcesine is beautiful! thankyou

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aagreasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and excellently located for the town centre. The staff were friendly and there was free wifi throughout the building.

It is a two star hotel so you can't expect it to be luxury, but it was great value and we'd happily go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Property: Hotel Alpino
Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing