We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable Hotel, Excellent Ristorante”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable Hotel, Excellent Ristorante”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Alpino. The hotel is centrally located and just a minute's walk to the waterfront restaurants and ferry. Lots of shopping and restaurants within 5 minutes, and maybe a 10 minute walk to the castle. The hotel was able to find a free parking space for our car, which we left parked and spent the next two days on foot and ferry. The room was typical for the area, but comfortable with a nice, large bathroom. We asked for a quiet area and got the back of the hotel with a very small balcony just large enough for a small table and two chairs, but it was enough to sit out, have a glass of wine and look down toward the waterfront. It was perfect for us. The breakfast was quite good, and better than what is customary for similar hotels the region. Breakfast is served in the same Ristorante that is open for lunch and dinner, which I've reviewed separately and is excellent! The staff was very helpful, although the reception desk is not open and staffed alll day. But that was only a minor inconveneince. All in all, we thought we could not have picked a better Hotel to stay at in Malcesine.

Room Tip: If you like it lively, then ask for a room over the Ristorante. If you like it quieter, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    126
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
76
186
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere as a base to use for sleeping, showering and getting ready for days/nights out then this is ideal. If you are looking for somewhere with loads of hotel comforts then it is not.
For my needs it was perfect, I spent little time at the hotel as I was sightseeing by day and out most evenings. When I did return the staff were helpful and friendly and there were some useful assets such as free wifi, resteraunt with 10% discount for guests, street maps and flyers for various attractions. Furniture and fitting were a bit worn but clean and bedding was sheets and covers rather than duvets. No air con but fans were provided in the room. I'd guess that you would have to sleep with the window open in the summer which might increase noise levels from early morning traffic and church bells!
It's more in the style of a British seaside B&B than a hotel but a good example at that. If you are driving, parking is an issue. There is very limited and crowded parking for the hotel, 3 or 4 cars. There is a car park directly opposite the hotel costing 12.50 Euros a day and another a short distance away costing 9 Euros per day.

Room Tip: Back of hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMagp1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we stayed at the Alpino in early September, it is very well situated as previously stated. We had a lovely room with great views, although as we were attending a wedding we did not have much time to appreciate them. We ate at the Alpino restuarant only once and thought it was good and if our stay had not been organised because of the weddind would not have hesitated to eat there again. The breakfast was a very good buffet with crereal, toast, eggs, cheese, ham and crossiants.We ate once at the restaurant just across from where the tall ship docks and only sat there because of the views, big mistake the food was dire . If you are attending a wedding dont pay megga money for posh shoes, I did and wore them for 5 mins during the ceremony the cobbled streete are very unforgiving and most of the time I was in low wedge flip flops. If good,spotlessly clean accomodation is what you are looking for then you cannot beat the Alpino, lovely hard working owners who really try to ensure you have a good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fileybrig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of August. Small clean and friendly with lovey staff. The owners are more than helpful with trips etc. There is 10% off the restaurant bill and a cheeky free drink after the meal. The food by the way is excellent. There is a buffet breakfast which has ample food. The hotel itself is in a superb position in Malchesine. And the town is beautiful.
If your not too faint hearted you must do the tandom paraglide off Monte Baldi, it is spectacular!
Overall we had a wonderful stay here and if we ventured back to the Lake we would most definately choose this town and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room and with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having returned from Malcesine last week - we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alpino. The room and bathroom were very clean and serviced daily. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is ideally placed to all the amenities and this was of paramount importance to us. We were able to come and go as pleased and enjoyed all the "buzz" during the evenings as the shops were open very late.
Excellent breakfast - plenty of food and good variety.
10% discount in the restaurant with complimentary drink at the end of the meal - good value. Very friendly table service.

The only negative for us - although we had a fan in the room - we would have liked air conditioning as we were in Malcesine during a very hot week.

Room Tip: Ensure your room has "air con" if you are visiting during the hottest months
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend have just got back from a 9 day stay at Hotel Alpino and the hotel was absolutely brilliant.

Location - Right in the centre of the lovely town of Malcesine, everything within walking distance. Although the hotel is in the centre noise was never an issue due to the shutters on the outside of the window so always got a great nights sleep.

Room - spacious and immacualte - TV with a couple of English chanels and a balcony overlooking the main sqaure. Air conditioning was a big help as it was 35 degrees plus during the week. The bathroom was small but suitable for our requirements. Beds comfortable and made up everyday.

Staff / Owners - Absolutely amazing, nothing is too much trouble and you are always greeted with a friendly smile. We even got a pack lunch to take away with us when we checked out on the last day as we left at 6.30 am!

Food - Breakfast was ample, constantly replenished and a good selection of breads, fruits and cereal. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and with the 10% discount offered to residents made for excellent value you for money.

Overall - remarkable value for money, clean, great service and an excellent location. I would definitely stay again if ever returning to Malcesine and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed a week B&B and couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. Friendly, helpful always with a smile. Ample food at breakfast, continually being re-stocked, so no shortages.
We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and the food and service was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannySpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
778 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Property: Hotel Alpino
Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing