We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Practically perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were not really sure what to expect for such a great price given we stayed 7 nights, but I literally cannot fault the hotel. All staff we encountered were friendly, chatty and very eager to help with information on local amenities, organising day excursions etc.

We were only half board, but the breakfast had a selection we were happy with.

The rooms were lovely - extremely comfortable bed and not too hot with a fan in each room.

Would not hesitate to go back...highly recommend to other visitors to Malcesine if you plan to be out for most of the day and can make do without a gym for a few days.

Room Tip: room booking for 2 does not allow specify double or twin beds, so you should call in advance of arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JN1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    116
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
172
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel was a little basic but very clean and more than adequate for requirements. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and assisted with airport transfers and brought our luggage to our room when it was delivered after being lost my the airline. The location is right in the centre of Malcesine, and ideal for walking the the lake (about 2mins walk) or the lovely restaurants in the area. All the staff were pleasant and even gave us a gift of a calendar of Malcesine on our departure. They also have a restaurant offering a variety of dishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLRDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in this excellent family run hotel for 6 nights to attend a wedding. The staff were very friendly helpfull and the food was simple and reasonable. The location was just right for the town centre near shops etc but not near the main road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Malcesine, Italy. Our stay at Hotel Alpino was fantastic. The hotel is located right in the center of one of the most beautiful little Italian towns we've seen. They don't advertise parking, but found a spot for us free of charge. Patrizia went out of her way to gives us detailed information and tips about the area, both in emails before our arrival and in person once we checked in. Breakfast was simple and good. Wifi was free and worked well. Everything was terrific. And the trip to Mount Baldo was breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just arrived home after a wonderful week at the alpino food great rooms spotlessly clean staff so friendly and helpful and make your holiday so special. Our room was 214 my parents 215 the small balcony looked to the side of the hotel we could see to the harbour my parents sat there in the mornings with a coffee we were alowed to take from the breakfast room with no problems staff even offered a tray. The reatruant is certainly worth a visit even if not staying as the food is the best in malcesine I would certainly return to the hotel alpino . Thank you to all staff for your kindness should be higher star rated .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Alpino from 23rd June to 30th June. We emailed ahead requesting a "nice" room as it was our silver wedding anniversary - they replied next day that this had been done. Our initial room (109) was large, spotless and with a huge bathroom. It overlooked the outside restuarant area with some mountain views but did not have a balcony. We found it fairly noisey and really wanted a balcony so next morning we requested if there was a room with a balcony. We were lucky that room 205 was available later that day. This room was very small but had probabley the best views of any room with a balcony on two sides with glorious views of the mountains and church from one side and lake glimpses from the other balcony.It was also a lot quieter (except when Italy beat England and then Germany in the European Finals!!)
We booked half board before leaving based on Tripadvisor reviews (£10/night). There was a separate menu for those on half board with limited choice(2 starters, 2 mains, 1 sweet). However we always found something we likeed on the menu and the food and service was excellent. We found out later that you can make an arrangement with the hotel to have the half board menu on a day by day basis for 12 Euros which would give you added flexability. To select a similar meal from the a la carte menu I guess would cost around 20 - 25 Euros with slightly larger portions so for us we were happy with the fixed menu.
Make sure you try the ice creams from the parlour just by the castle entrance - the best we tried and cheapest.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front with balcony 203, 204, 205,206
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Alpino from 15 to 22 June. We were given a lovely ground floor room and to our surprise it opened onto a delightful raised patio from which we could see both lake and mountains. The breakfast was respectable by Italian standards and like others we found the restaurant a good choice - it was certainly popular. There were useful information files in the bright and airy reception area and also a computer that we could use. The Alpino occupies an excellent position halfway between the ferry port and the bus station - the car park opposite is very unobtrusive. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and as a final touch gave us a beautiful calendar of Malcesine to take home with us. This hotel is excellent value and the only improvement we could ask for would have been a fridge in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Room 001 is perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CoolCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#29 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Property: Hotel Alpino
Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing