We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location, great staff”
Review of Beach Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fantastic location, great staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

lovely hotel recently refurbished. Lake view room is preferable. Everywhere spotlessly clean and staff were very friendly - we stayed pre wedding and they were all so interested in our day. Confortable rooms - only complaint is lack of storage space - would have struggled on a normal holiday but with all our wedding gear we lived out of the suitcase.
Eberywhere was spotless, restaurant good value for dinner, would have preferred more fresh fruit at breakfast. Overall a very good hotel, fantastic location and view and will happily go back.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    86
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
209
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from the Du Lac.
First the bad news.....the temperature was around 33 degrees for our entire stay and on day one I reported to management that my air conditioning was stuck at 27 degrees!
Despite being told that "someone would attend to it" nothing was done and I spent a very uncomfortable first night with very disturbed sleep. The following day when I returned to the room, temperature was still 27 degrees (my wife was in a similar single room and her room ambient temperature was 22 degrees, postively chilly compared to mine). I again reported the situation to the management, this eventually brought forth a response that " we have problems with the air con in the summer months"!!! Guess it's OK in the Winter then...I had broken sleep for our entire stay as a consequence.
HOWEVER, despite this the hotel is stunning and location (at North end of the lake) is perfect. The foothills of the Dolomites and the summit of Monte Baldo are right behind the hotel's lakeside location and to take breakfast each day on the terrace, with unsurpassed views across the lake at one of its narrowest points is breathtaking in its natural beauty.
The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and is very clean and contemporary in its styling. Albeit that both my wife and I are average size but found the single room showers approaching 'tight' in terms of fitting ourselves in. If the double room showers are the same size, I guess you would need to shower with the shower doors open!
All meals are taken in the dining room which for most of our stay had its floor to ceiling panoramic windows open to the lakeside view.
I must relate what the rest of the English guests we talked to found almost 'Fawlty Towersesque' in its humour....the restaurant staff (who were very friendly and professional) told us that 75% of the guests at any one time are German, 15% English and the rest Italian, Russian etc.
The humourous situation develops as the dining tables are laid out in 4 or 5 rows across the width of the room...the front row (with undiluted views of the lake) are given to German guests as are the second row and third row. During our stay in July the fourth row was populated by English and/or other non-German guests! Only at breakfast can you coose your own table, so the English made sure they ate first!
We all found this 'postive discrimination' humourous in the extreme since service levels also appeared to roughly follow a similar approach! Whilst we all found this a la Basil Fawlty, I guess some would feel a little put out by the 'discrimination'.
2 of the staff warrant special note, Jasmine, a young woman on reception would always have a happy approach and charming smile, and nothing was too much trouble for her along with Adrian, a Romainian waiter who served us throughout our stay with professionalism and often went the extra mile to make our meals the most pleasant experience.
I won't comment on management for fear of biasing any potential future guests.They weren't exactly bad, but rather 'indifferent' at times. The management team are husband and wife as the hotel is family run.
The hotel has excellent facilities and is within a 15 minute stroll along a lakeside promenade to the town centre of Malcesine.
A really beautiful gem among the many lakeside towns we visited by lake steamer.
A tip here is to ask for a 'Welcome Card' from the hotel before buying any steamer tickets...we were not told of this by our tour rep and consequently lost 8 Euros each time we bought tickets, subsequently finding out on the fnal day by accident.
Another tip, the cable car ride up Monte Baldo is a must, but queues rapidly build up by 10 a.m. since tourists come from all over Lake Garda to Malcesine...solution is to get to the lower cable car station before 10. After that we noted the queues sometimes took over 1 hour to get through the barriers..in 33 degrees of heat - no joke!
All in all, we would strongly recommend this hotel and the town of Malcesine.(My air-con problem was 'solved' by leaving the doors and windows open all night which brought the temperature down by a couple of degrees until morning came.....)
Final tip.... there is a real 'hidden gem' in the old town near the castle, the 'il Pace' restaurant is set at the end of winding, cobble stoned alleys and located in the old harbour area which is off the track of the throngs of tourists and offers really good value for money meals i.e. 3 courses with 1/2 litre of wine for 67 Euros for 2 people and food is fantastic real italian fare unlike the more touristy resataurants around the town centre and new harbour......enjoy! Happy to give more info if desired....

Room Tip: I have included various tips in the body of my review above......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Beach Hotel Du Lac. This year we had a room on the 4th floor which was lovely, very modern, spacious and immaculate. Loved the view by day and night and the furniture on the large balcony was very comfortable and you get the sun in the afternoon.. This hotel is very popular with regular guests returning year after year and therefore early booking is a must for a premium room. We loved the small and friendly feel, the staff are very attentive and their food is as good as any you would get anywhere in the town of Malcesine, we chose the half board option each evening which you get as a concession when staying at the hotel for an amazing 12 euros per night! You order your choice the night before which is not to everyones liking but it suits us, their pasta dishes are divine.Sitting at our table looking out at the sun setting on the lake every evening was wonderful. We loved the local wine which was also excellent value. The location is perfect, a nice walk by the lake takes approx 10-15minutes into the town. Lots of interesting things to see and do and plenty of boats to catch to cruise up and down the lake. Lake Garda is the most wonderful place my partner and I have visited and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Always pay the extra and have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justyna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at the Beach Hotel Du Lac. This hotel is directly on the lake side and we chose a lake view room on the 4th floor. The balcony was quite large great for a shared bottle of wine in the evening. We booked bed and breakfast to take advantage of the many fantastic restaurants in Malcesine.
The hotel is clean and spacious, with very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommended the hotel if only for the fantastic views, not many hotels can boast it's location. This was our third visit to Malcesine, a magical place and this is probably the best hotel we have stay in, would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Came back yesterday from a blissful week staying at the Beach Hotel Du Lac.
We were given a room with a long balcony and sunlounger, a lovely room and bathroom with shower. Extremely clean everywhere, bathroom spotless and well equiped.
The hotel could not have been situated any better, and we really enjoyed the walk into town, sometimes two or three times a day.
Would have hired bikes, but as I have not ridden one since I was a teenager thought it was best not to risk it. The staff were very very professional and friendly, food was excellent and the Gala night on our first night was lovely. We did the Lake Tour and that was worth every penny, a very nice guide and a pleasant boat trip back to Gardone for our journey back to Malcesine.
My friend and I have decided all being well next year we would gladly return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Admiralsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week..
We had a balcony room which was fantastic clean and modern with great views of the castle and malcesine town.

Breakfast was your typical continental style more than adequate with juice tea and coffee..

Bathrooms with large walk in shower were nice and modern and very very clean.

Stunning setting on the lake with a nice outdoor seating area for drinks and food with a view..

Only a 10-15 walk into the town centre we shall return....

Room Tip: Lake view room are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suntime79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved the hotel, it has the perfect positioning and amazing views. The staff is really friendly, the food is excellent and the rooms are spacious and clean. There is something to do for everyone: relax at the pool/lake/jacuzzi/terrace on the lake , explore the mountain, visit nearby city's like Verona or Venice, visit Garda Land ... plus many more (you will find brochures at the reception with all the activities , and the staff is always ready to recommend places to visit or stuff to do) . I will return in 2012 for sure

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi_cluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#10 of 71 in Malcesine
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Du Lac

Property: Beach Hotel Du Lac
Address: Via Gardesana 63, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is completely renovated and equipped with the newest standards of the 4° star category.Our hotel boasts about an enviable, elevated position with stunning views overlooking the beautiful blue waters of Lake Garda with a romantic view facing the old town of Malcesine. It is always estimated for the heavenly quiet position directly on the lakeshore with beach and private wharf with sun-chairs. Walking along the Lake-Promenade a half mile you reach the town.The forty large bedrooms all with balcony or terrace and positioned directly on the lake are all furnished with modern facilities: telephone, safe-deposit box, TV-SAT, fridge, electric kettle, AIR CONDITIONING or heating, modern bathrooms with shower, hairdryer. Hotel facilities, lift, INTERNET POINT, swimming pool, solarium terrace with sun beds, sun umbrellas, pool towels, panoramic view. Whirl-pool (33°) on the lake terrace, parking, carport, fitness room, surf deposit all inclusive.Dining room with air conditioning, dinner with table service, menu choice with salad and dessert buffet, weekly Galadinner by candlelight, Italian cuisine and regional specialities.You can choose daily half board or just Bed and breakfast. Generous breakfast buffet also on the panoramic terrace on the lake side with its splendid view over the Lake.Bar service, snacks and meals, coffee, sweeties, ice cream, cocktail bar. Tv-Sat room.We assure you our best attention, own good language knowledge and wait for your booking inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Beach Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Malcesine
Beach Hotel Du Lac Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing