We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb stay in a wonderful place”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Most of what we want to stay has been said in previous reviews. Lakeside location excellent with dramatic views of lake and mountains. Quiet enough to hear the waves lapping on the pebble beach and could watch surfers and para-gliders sailing by. Ten minute flat lakeside promenade to the old town with wonderful view of castle.
Hotel staff very friendly - the cuisine merited top restaurant with the varied menu offering delightful mixes of taste - compliments to the chef on his/her choice of menu. You chose your evening meal at breakfast which allows you to try other typical Italian food at lunchtime. Continental breakfast - do not expect a fry up!!
The hotel rooms and reception area were spotless. Fresh towels and linen everyday. Our only issue would be the air conditioning unit in the room. Functioned only when key card applied and was not as cool as we would have liked. Must admit we did not address with management whilst there but felt it could have been of a higher standard and annoying to come back to a warm room after a very hot day out on the lake.
We would still recommend the hotel, town and location to all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Malcesine although we were only there a week, the hotel was a short walk to centre of the old town. It was situated on the edge of the lake with all the bedrooms having a wonderful lake view although we were on the ground floor and maybe the view was not quite so good but that didn't take away from the enjoyment of having the sound of the lake in the morning lapping up on the lakeside. Shower was a bit small and not much pressure but the bedroom was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was continental which was fine but would have liked a better choice of fruit. The evening dinner which you chose from a menu in the morning was usually a choice of three with a five course menu was excellent with a lot of tasty homemade Italian dishes. Greatly enjoyed with lots of pleasant staff plus the owner taking care of you. Wonderful views from dinning room over the lake. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxing holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable. The food was excellent, breakfast was buffet style and the evening meal was 5 courses. Service from the staff was friendly as was the owners. German was their first laugage and English there second. We always think people should speak English but it made us learn a few words which was good. Would recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

The walk into Macesine town centre was about 10mins along the lake side very pleasant walk. The town centre and the walk ways were very clean very little litter, a credit to the Italians.

The town centre with it's cobbled street was very quaint and a joy to shop in.
Malcesine was not our choice of holiday destination as we were there for a wedding, but we will certainly return and stay at the Europa

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carltoncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Just returned from a week’s holiday at Hotel Europa. This is an excellent hotel, all staff very friendly and helpful and the food and wine (Italian, not cosmopolitan) is absolutely excellent. Initially slightly disappointed with lake view from our ground floor room, but was OK – shrubs may limit view in one or two rooms, and people on the lake path walking past about 10m away. Anyway this was not a problem as there was so much to see in the area that we did not spend much time sitting on the balcony. The hotel website video is a good representation of the hotel.
The town is a very pleasant 10-15 minute flat stroll along the lakeside on a separate path away from the main road, although the town is a bit hilly for anyone with a mobility problem. We travelled with Inghams, who were very efficient and helpful; reps were very knowledgeable and informative. One of the best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2TravellersDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

A very nice modern hotel, about 12 minutes pleasant walk along the lake path into Melcesine. We stayed half board and the food excellent and staff very friendly. My wife has a food allergy and they where very accommodating. The hotel pride itself in exhibiting art work and they had a Gala evening where we got to met the artist. It only has an indoor pool we did not use it as the lake was so refreshing. I suggest requesting a 1st floor room. Our room was on the ground floor, and when you sat down most of the lake was obscured by shrubbery. We asked to be moved on arrival but the hotel was full booked. The room was modern, spacious, clean and bright. Shower was a bit disappointing as poor water pressure.

I think if you book with Inghams (us Brits get the cheaper ground floor room , so I suggest booking direct.

My wife liked the “Shirley valentine “ pier where you can sit and have pre dinner drinks. The wine at the hotel was little expensive at 18 Euros a bottle.

A great holiday and We would happily stay there again.

I think Melcesine it is one of the nicest part of the Lake Garda to stay.

Melcesine info - http://www.italyheaven.co.uk/veneto/malcesine.html

A ferry trip to Limone is well worth it - 8 Euros return from main harbour port.

We did not go up the cable car to Mount Baldo as it seemed very expensive. Instead, I would recommend adrive up into the mountains in northern part of the lake (Riva del Garda) to Varone waterfall , Lake Tenno http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Lago_di_Tenno_Italien_2.jpg
& medieval village Canale di Tenno http://www.gardatrentino.it/cms-01.00/articolo.asp?IDcms=1350&s=560&l=en

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotts62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel we were disappointed. Our room was on the ground floor, which is slightly below the ground level outside the hotel. Our balcony was described as lake view but when sitting down most of the lake was obscured by shrubbery, and the balcony was overlooked by passers-by on the busy lake path. More particularly the overwhelming view when sitting down was of a 10 ft wall leading down to the garage doors. We asked to be moved immediately on arrival but the hotel was unable or unwilling to move us. We had asked for a high floor on booking but the hotel was adamant that they had not received this request - which Inghams refuted. We notified Inghams the next morning but it was another three days before they too tried unsuccessfully to get a change of room. The room was clean and bright, and the food and dining room service was good, but in most other respects this hotel did not meet our expectations of a four star rated hotel. If you value sitting on a balcony then our advice would be to insist on a room above ground level. We would not stay at this hotel again, nor will be book with Inghams.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We have just returned from five days at this lovely hotel and would recomend it highly. It is cool, modern and minimalist and has some lovely sculptures and art work around the hotel. The dining room is beautiful and overlooks the beach and lake. It is so close to the water that our children played there safely and were clearly in sight while we enjoyed our meal. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We had a great family suite with two gorgeous balconies both of which overlooked the lake. The hotel's location is perfect and it is an easy ten minute walk along the lake to the lovely town of Malcesine. All the ferries leave from the town so you can easily explore all of the other towns. Our only criticism of the hotel is that the lovely modern bathrooms do not have showers but a shower tap attached to the bath which means you have to shower with one hand holding the shower - not ideal. We used the pool but it is an indoor pool and because the weather was very warm, we would rather have had an outdoor one. Otherwise it is a great hotel and we would certainly go back. Be warned though - do not waste your time or money going up the cable car to Mount Baldo. They do not tell you that after you have queued for more than an hour to buy your ticket, you then have to wait for another hour to get on a cable car. It took us more than two hours to get up and because we could not face more queues on the way back we came straight back down having seen nothing...and all this cost us 50 euros - a complete waste of money. However the trip to Limone is great and the Tuesday market is really good. A great hotel for touring the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Marinella
Casa Marinella
#68 of 71 in Malcesine
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baia Verde Malcesine
Hotel Baia Verde Malcesine
#34 of 71 in Malcesine
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panorama Residence Hotel
Panorama Residence Hotel
#41 of 71 in Malcesine
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile

Property: Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Address: Via Gardesana 173, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#7 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Europa Malcesine
Hotel Europa - Ristorante Al Pontile Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing