We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for our wedding, we had friends and family staying all over Malcesine for our special day. We picked this hotel because it was a little way from the town centre giving us a little breathing space and time to relax. The facilities are perfect coupled with excellent service from the family; running the hotel. They were soo helpful and kind. They even allowed our friends and family to use the facilities at the hotel when visiting us making each day soo special for us.

We had booked one of the suites of which was very spacious and perfect for us, the view is spectacular on the lake and mountains.

The walk into the town takes all of 10 minutes, its a lovely walk along the lake side, really romantic.

I really do not have a negitive to comment on, we can not wait to return for our 1st anniversary, see ya in July 2013!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite, it really is beautiful to wake up with that stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaBorgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My sister and I had every need catered for by the helpful friendly staff at this family run hotel. Our room was close to the water, clean and well equipped. The food was excellent and beautifully presented.
The position was lovely - close to a ferry to cross the lake and only a short walk to the town so less hustle and bustle than the hotels nearer the town centre. It was a calm quiet oasis.
I would happily recommend it and will endeavour to return myself some time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel Europa, it was a fantastic location on lake Garda and had an indoor pool with access on to the gardens. We had one dinner at the hotel which was reasonable but there are loads of great restaurants nearby. We tried hotel Castello and had a lovely meal overlooking the lake and also ate at ristoro where the food was fantastic. Breakfast at the Europa was fairly basic but ok. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel in May. The hotel is located right on the edge of Lake Garda, away from the bustle and noise of the old town area. The view from the dining room, across the lake to Monte baldo was fantastic. I could happily sit and enjoy the view but there was sightseeing to be done. If you are reasonably fit the castle can be reached in 30-40 minutes on foot. There is free parking at the hotel and several good eateries within easy walking distance, for anyone wishing to enjoy some wine with their meal. I would recommend la foresta (I think that's what it was called) as the place to be on a Friday night as it was busy with locals - couples, families and business people alike.
Staff in the hotel were pleasant and knowledgeable and made us feel very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room overlooked the car park but this didn't bother us as we sat outside the hotel overlooking the lake or sat in the bar/lounge area with other guests. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

3rd stay at this hotel, was back for our wedding anniversary. Firstly the Pallua family are fantastic and really make us welcome. Modern hotel, but its the location that makes it special for me right on the lakeside. This time we went for a standard room, which was a mistake. All rooms are pretty much the same apart from the view. The standard room was on the ground floor, you didn't really get the benefit of the view and negates the reason i stayed there.

Room Tip: Lake side, on first or second floor. Don't bother with ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

There is one thing the brochures don’t tell you about the Hotel Europa: the lakeside footpath that passes through the hotel grounds. The constant streams of passers-by peer at the hotel and its residents whether on their balcony, in the restaurant, in the garden or by the lake. The walkers and cyclists are also joined by builders’ vehicles working on a site further along the lake, clearly with the agreement of the hotel owners since they control access.
If you are considering booking through a package tour operator then be aware that they will get you the cheapest rooms on the ground floor. If you’re really unlucky you’ll get room 107, which we were allocated. The tiny seating area outside this room is below the level of the lakeside footpath just 5 metres away and next to the access ramp to the hotel car park so all the passers-by look down on you while you’d like to relax. Plus the view is restricted by the path, a set of traffic lights, a bush and a log (the last two are probably meant to be decorative but I couldn’t see why they were there). Sitting there you won’t see much of the lake or the setting sun - the bush is in the way. To make it even worse the drains are outside this room so you get the occasional sounds of running water and unpleasant smells.
We told the hotel staff on reception that we didn’t like the room but they made it clear that it was the only room available. The tour operator’s rep listened but didn’t come to see the room so they didn’t help. This was the end of the season and I don’t believe the hotel was full. They had opportunities to offer us a better room but they declined to do so.
The hotel prides itself on the quality of the food. It certainly is interesting. Our experience was that the first two courses (antipasti and primi piatti) were very good but the meat or fish course (secondi piatti) was generally too complicated, overcooked and overseasoned. I like to have fresh fruit salad at breakfast but they offered tinned fruit – prunes, pears or peaches – although there was fresh fruit available. I wouldn’t eat there out of choice but it was included in the half board package.
The hotel does have its good points. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
As other reviewers say it is modern and clean, but for us it lacked the character, hospitality and atmosphere we usually find in Italian hotels. They don't take credit or debit cards to settle the bill unless it's over 300 Euros. Our holiday there was expensive (in the brochure it is one of the most expensive hotels in Malcesine) and disappointing. It was certainly not a four star experience.

Room Tip: Malcesine is delightful and a great introduction to Lake Garda but we can’t recommend Hotel Europa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had a week at the beginning of September at the Hotel Europa Malcesine and we will definately be going back. Small family run hotel with perfect position on the edge of Lake Garda, creative gourmet food and excellent friendly staff. A room with a Lake view is a must and preferably above the ground floor level.

Room Tip: Lake view on the 2nd or 3rd floor for best views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#16 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#10 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sailing Center
Hotel Sailing Center
#36 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#17 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Hotel Excelsior Bay
#44 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile

Property: Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Address: Via Gardesana 173, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Europa Malcesine
Hotel Europa - Ristorante Al Pontile Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing