We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garni Casa Popi
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here mid June with two other couples. We all had garden/pool view rooms as we had heard that the lake view rooms were noisy as it is on a busy road. Good move! The rooms are basic but very clean and have everything you need. We had a hairdrier in our room but our friends didn't. We think the owners will lend you one if needs be though. Choice at breakfast consists of a selection of freshly baked breads every day, tinned fruits, cakes, cereals, cold meats and hard boiled eggs. You won't go hungry. The hotel is only a five minute walk from Malcesine town but there are no pavements on the busy road so part of the walk in is a bit dicey as the Italian drivers aren't the best drivers in the world. We paid 434 euros for the room for our weeks stay. Fantastic value. The town is lovely and very pretty. There are plenty of good inexpensive restaurants around with fabulous lake views. Don't miss a visit to the castle. You get views to die for from the top. Make sure you aren't at the top on the hour or half hour or you will be deafened by the bell! We visited Limone, Riva and lastly Bardolino which was our favourite. All in all we had a brilliant holiday. We would recommend Casa Popi to anyone unless of course you are looking for five star luxury but at these prices you obviously won't be getting that.

Room Tip: Have a garden room on the right side of the hotel..room one was good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Casa Popi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Casa Popi in May/June 2012 to start the celebrations of our 1st wedding anniversary! We had a lake view, the room was spacious and very clean! Breakfast was simple but nice enough, the garden and pool area is lovely and relaxing! Really good location! Only 5 minutes to walk to Malcesine which is perfect! We managed to park our car each day outside the hotel too! Downside which was small but you have to pay 3.00EUR to change your towels never had this before??!

Thank you Casa Popi a trip to remember!

Room Tip: Room 10 was great overlooking the lake :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaphosMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

July 2011 and this was our second stay at Casa Popi. My wife, myself, my daughter and her relatively new husband (from her wedding the previous year here). It is a great hotel - so friendly. We have fallen in love with Lake Garda and in particular Malcesine. My wife and I have already booked a week next year and look forward to returning to Casa Popi and familia Lombardi

Room Tip: Go for upper floor facing the lake - breathtaking views
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Once we found out that our friends were getting married in Malcesine during August, the hunt was on for a hotel that could offer us a good location, pool, lake view, very clean and friendly at a good price due to us having other holidays planned etc. Trip advisor did all the work for us as the majority of the reviews all said the same thing, so our instinct was to go with what other people had experienced. I am so glad we did as this lovely, well kept family run hotel is at the heart of Malcesine and offered us everything we wanted and more... I was amazed how clean it was, absolutely spotless and puts other hotel standards to shame.

We didn't have one complaint about this hotel.. breakfast was well presented every morning with home made fresh breads very traditional. The pool was clean and you could always get a sun bed in the afternoon after being out and about. The location was just great, a short stroll and you were at the shops, bars and restaurants and they had a Spa shop, so we would often go and buy drinks for the room and hot fresh chicken for lunch etc.

We found Malcesine good value for money as after being in Spain only a few weeks earlier we were able to compare food & drinks prices and it was much cheaper when eating out.

We hired a car that we picked up at the airport, we didn't have a sat nav to find this place just hand written directions off google maps etc and it was really easy and straight forward. I would most definitely go back to Casa Popi again and we are hoping to go back to the lakes in June 2012. I hope you have found this review useful, as I certainly found them useful when finding this little gem.

Thanks
Kerry - England Dec 2011 review

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had booked Casa Popi for one night on our recent trip and we ended up staying for two, I still cannot believe how cheap it is for the quality of the facilities and service. We had a lovely first floor room overlooking the lake which was really comfortable and spotlessly clean and had an excellent breakfast each morning including three different types of freshly made home made bread which was an absolute treat.

The hotel has an excellent swimming pool which was a bonus. Highly recommended and we will definately stay here again next time we are in this part of Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed here with friends when attending a wedding. The hotel itself is on the main road which runs up the east side of Lake Garda, and as such has fabulous views from the "lake view" rooms. It also has a good swimming pool with a few loungers and a hammock perfect for reading that book you've never quite managed to start! There are a few parking spaces out the front, and we never struggled to find a space, if you did there is ample parking on surrounding side roads.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, although take note there are towels but no soap, shampoo etc so don't forget to pack yours! There is also no air conditioning, which means the ceiling fan is very welcome! It hit 40 degrees when we stayed, so we had the balcony doors open all night. Be aware that the lake view rooms are also road-side, and you will hear traffic at all hours of the night, so light sleepers may wish to choose a room to the rear of the hotel.

Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, different breads, meat, cheese, fresh fruit and yoghurt. The hosts are hospitable and welcoming, and the pizza restaurant next door (where you get a 10% discount) is worth a visit.

It is a 10 minute stroll to Malcesine town centre, which is lovely and full of bars, good restaurants, plenty of ice-cream outlets and shopping opportunities. Even better is the fact that from hotel room to being submerged in the Lake takes no more than 5 minutes!

For the cost, Hotel Casa Popi is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Malcesine is undoubtedly the most attractive town on Lake Garda, and the Casa Popi is an excellent hotel, situated only ten minutes' walk from the centre. The view across the lake from our balcony was stunning, the room was immaculate, the garden was carefully tended and full of flowers, and the swimming pool was refreshing and well maintained. The Casa Popi is a family-run hotel, and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty - fresh orange juice, and they even bake their own bread. I can't imagine why the hotel only has one star. Not having a lift is hardly a problem, and the lack of air conditioning is offset by provision of an enormous ceiling fan, redolent of "Raffles" in Singapore! The Casa Popi is great to stay in, excellent value, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#57 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#29 of 71 in Malcesine
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#47 of 71 in Malcesine
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Casa Popi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Casa Popi

Address: Via Gardesana 28, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $64 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garni Casa Popi 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garni Casa Popi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Casa Popi Malcesine
Garni Casa Popi Hotel
Hotel Garni Casa Popi Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing