We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vega
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our second time staying at the vega and if anything we enjoyed it even more. Apart from Malcesine being one of the nicest spots on lake guarda I think the vega would be very hard to beat. The hotel rooms are not grand but spotless and contain everything you need including a balcony. First time we had a side view of the lake and this holiday a back view of the mountains which was lovely to, we were not disappointed not to be on the lake.The food is of such a high stand and cooked fresh and to perfection, the chef is a perfectionist. The hotel has a lovely private garden with sun beds and we never had a problem finding a space, we enjoyed tea and biscuits and cocktails most afternoon here, all very reasonably priced. You can swim directly from this garden in the lake, fantastic experence although cold.The staff at the vega could not do enough for us and never intruded on a relaxing holiday. Marco works very hard at ensuring his guests are looked after in everyway possible. I can not find any fault with the vega ,we have just returned and have booked again for next year as I would only be disappointed somewhere else. You can't improve on the vega. We are so lucky to have found this gem of a place.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a similar standard and all have a balcony,either lake view or mountain view is love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 467 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Returned yesterday from Malcesine and the hotel Vega.It was our first trip to the lakes but will not be the last.Marco welcomed us personally and we were taken to our rooms which were at the front of the hotel facing monte baldo, Both rooms were lovely with one being larger so ask for end rooms if possible. The delicious evening meal was the first of many , and to us the waiter ,Mario ,was great ,always smiling and yes joking but you must have a poor sense of humour not to appreciate him !. Chambermaids were also friendly and rooms cleaned perfectly .A swim off the decking ,followed by a cool drink on the terrace or garden , heaven . I could write pages about this hotel and resort and all would be complimentary .Marco saw us into the taxi on the last day....at 6 in the morning ! He had also provided breakfast at 5.40 thank you Marco ,Mario and all other staff for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Front rooms cooler, end rooms larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jac-disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay in this hotel, which was in a great location with a lovely interior, rooms and wonderful food, was spoilt by a waiter who thought he was a comedian but alas was not. He would have been far better sticking to speaking Italian than trying to be too smart with his poor English and realise that when a customer asked for a boiled egg or a specific sweet that was what they wanted but instead he tried to be clever and in the end spoilt our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottie395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is first class run by Marco who is a bit of a character but he can not do enough for you. The hotel is only minutes away from the centre and ferry dock which when you have mobility problems is just what you want. The whole hotel is as clean as a new pin and everything is modern.
The evening meals were superb with three choices every evening and the service excellent. We told Marco we would not be in the next evening as we were going to Venice, he asked if we wanted a packed lunch which turned out to be a real feast.
Thanks Marco to you and your team for making our holiday a really nice experience.

Room Tip: We had room 6 at the front of the hotel and this was cool from late afternoon on, although all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A 3 star hotel offering 5 star treatment. This hotel was excellent from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the location was central but not noisey. The food was all that you could wish for just perfect. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter_silvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just spent a great few days in Malcesine Lake Garda. Hotel Vega was excellent situated on the lake side. We had a fabulous room and it was a good size with a terrace overlooking the lake, what a view.... The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The food was good every night with a selection of 3 choices for starter and main course and desert. The staff were very friendly and helpful with manager Marco very hands on and seemed to there all the time overseeing everything. The hotel was well situated on the outskirts of the town centre, 3 minutes to the ferry/harbour and 5 minutes to the promenade. We could not believe it was only 3 star and usually prefer 4 star or upwards, as we booked last minute this was a nice surprise. Thanks to all at the Hotel Vega from Steve and Anne.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hal19b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Vega for a week half board to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We really liked it there. It is a small hotel in a great position. It is sitting right on the lake so you can sunbath on the deck and enjoy the lovely views, and is very close to the harbour area and ferry point with its shops and restaurants. However it is really quiet at night so we slept well. We had a side lake view which we liked - could see the lake on one side and see the mountain and church (and people watch) on the other side. The room itself was a bit small and maybe in need of an update, however it was comfortable.
The restaurant is lovely, very modern and sleek with amazing views of the lake. We didn’t get a table right by the window which would have been nice, however you can see the view wherever you sit so no problem really. The food in the evening is traditional Italian which is our favourite. The pasta starters were fantastic and we looked forward all day to them. The fish dishes were good and I had a very good Osso Buco. One of the waiters gave very ‘interesting’ descriptions of the desserts eg “Eton mess without the meringue”! which turned out to be strawberry shortcake (very nice). We learnt to look at the desserts first and try to match the descriptions.
All the staff were very attentive and polite. The lady behind reception was really lovely, very helpful and kind. And Marco….well he certainly is a character but is very charming. We liked him and his banter, and he works soooo hard to keep his hotel running smoothly.
Malcesine is a lovely resort, with its castle and ancient narrow streets and lanes contrasting with the very modern cable car up to Monte Baldo. It’s definitely worth going up. It was lovely to walk on top of the mountain in the cool air. Lovely alpine flowers everywhere, herds of cows and goats with bells on – and serious mountain bikers and guys parascending off the mountain! The north of the lake is an interesting contrast of serious sporty types and those like us who like a gentle wander around admiring the scenery and eating the lovely ice creams.
If we revisit Malcesine we would definitely stay at Hotel Vega again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatoWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $162 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing