We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding & Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vega
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose Lake Garda for our wedding in June, based on it's breathtaking views and the fact that there was an amazing castle to get married in - we chose the Hotel Vega predominantly based on comments made on Tripadvisor and it's location by the lake - both Malcesine and the Vega exceeded our expectations and we had a truly superb two weeks - Marco and his staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble - we found the Vega extremely welcoming and loved the everyday humour and banter from Marco and his staff - the food was out of this world and we can not praise it highly enough - the hotel location is perfect from it's breathtaking lake side views to just a short walk into the town - we had such an amazingly special wedding day and this was helped in a huge way by Marco and his staff, to whom we will both be eternally grateful - we will be returning to Malcesine and there is only one hotel we will be staying at and that is of course the Vega - Thank you Marco and your staff, we will look forward to seeing you all again soon

Nigel & Suzanne (Lincoln)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

My third time at the Vega ,my 10th time in Malcesine and 23rd time in Italy ,so you can say i know what i am talking about,Vega still remains a top place exept for the main course on the menu which as a lot to be desired ,lack of ideas here ,the trouble is and my good friend Marco at the Vega also agrees Italy has felt austerity problems to the full ,Ihave noticed this last two years how hotels and bars have laid staff off and not replaced them ,they expect the remaining staff work long hours with little time off .This reflects badly on service wich has dipped a little over the years.Having said that Malcesine is stiil tops in my mind and Vega and Marco up there with the best .Just telling it how it is without bias.

Room Tip: Room 11 corner lake view very good but sunny around 4pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetruthwillout1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

You will be hard pressed to find fault at this hotel. Its wonderful and the food is first class and always beautifully presented. Location superb for the town, 2 mins walk. The town is gorgeous too a perfect gem which has it all for peace and couples alike. Our first trip ever to Lake Garda.
Cannot stress enough the cleanliness everywhere and the family who run the hotel are, like all the staff very helpful, speak fantastic English and cannot do enough for you.
Everyone we spoke to was on their third, fourth or more return trip to the hotel.
We hope to go back ourselves, we are off to get saving!

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a lake view. We so wished we had when we got there. It would be worth it, I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandGirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in Malcesine for our daughter's wedding and stayed at the Vega with my parents. The hotel is excellent-clean, comfortable and very well run by the owner, Marco. We had evening meals and they were first class. Breakfast was excellent as well.

Marco and the receptionist, Natalie , were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. As others have commented , it seems Marco works at least 16 hours a day seven days a week. !!!! All the other staff were friendly too.

The location of the hotel is fantastic- only a few minutes from the centre of Malcesine but in a quiet location. Various members of our family visited us ( Marco is fine with this as long as you let him know) and they were all very impressed with the hotel.

We stayed on the bottom floor, in room 25 ,which has three steps inside which leads onto the decking and we also had our own table and deck chairs outside our door. This room was very quiet and the only sounds we heard were the waves ,which was quite relaxing.

I would 100% recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here the next time we holiday in Malcesine. Thanks for a fantastic holiday Marco.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A warm and cheerful welcome from Marco and his very friendly, professional team ensured we were immediately put at our ease. We stayed half board and were impressed with the high standard of food at both breakfast and the evening meal. Breakfast was cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, fruit juices, eggs and a good selection of breads. Evening meal was three courses, with three choices of first and second courses followed by a choice of dessert (no repetition of choices for at least a week and then there was a twist to it - so no boredom). The dining room gave superb views over the lake to the mountains beyond, the waiting staff provided a first class service. Rooms comfortable and very clean with plenty of storage; loungers on the balcony allowed us to enjoy the amazing views in comfort. Marco was always on hand and we were able to use his local knowledge to plan our days. Swimming in the lake and use of the hot-tub and gardens allowed guests to enjoy the hotel when they aren't out exploring the town or local area. Ferries were a very short walk from the hotel. I have to agree with other reviewers that this hotel should have a much higher star rating. Many thanks to Marco, Natalie and their team for a very happy and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 98NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in the run up to our wedding in one of the four junior suites which are spacious and modern with views of the lake that are breath taking . We stayed half board which I would recommend as the food in the evening was outstanding! You would happily pay £100 a couple for that quality of food in England and the dinning room has unbelievable panoramic views of the lake which are breathtaking! The owner was very helpful during our stay up until the night before the wedding when we invited two friends in to view the room and for a glass of wine at which point he burst into the room pushed our friends who are both teachers out of the room and threatened me and my fiancé with being thrown onto the street at 12 at night the night before the wedding for apparently being to loud!!! An amazing place as long as you are 70+ or like to be in bed by 9. Shame could of been perfect!

Room Tip: Junior suits need to be seen to be believed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco m, Proprietario at Hotel Vega, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Daniel K, you and your fiancee did indeed stay here in one of my four Junior Suites, which, as you say, are spacious, modern and have breathtaking views of the Lake. I was pleased that you stayed half board and were able to enjoy the evening meals, which, as you say yourself, were outstanding! I was flattered to read that you would happily pay £100 per couple in England, for this quality of food. I was pleased too, that you recognised the helpful attitude of myself, the owner, prior to the night before your wedding. I am disappointed, however, that your recollections of that night are incorrect! The truth is, I was alerted at 03.00 by a number of calls from other guests angrily complaining that they had been awakened by a group of loud and clearly drunken individuals swimming in the whirlpool. Leaving aside the consequences of allowing non-residents to stay overnight, you, your fiancee and your two friends, teachers or otherwise, should have known that your behaviour was quite simply unacceptable. Your group’s behaviour that morning, the morning of your wedding, was shameful. Because of it, a number of guests left on that very day, and others indicated that they would not return. The only explanation offered in defence of your actions, was that you were young, getting married and that’s the way it is done!
Shame really, for as you say, your stay could have been perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The positiion of this hotel is excellent, right on the lake side and quiet although within three minutes walk of the town. Our room with balcony overlooking the lake was first class - clean and comfortable. I think the hotel has very recently been refurbished to a very high standard and the food couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: I understand all the rooms have a balcony and are good and quiet but our room number 4 was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $133 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing