We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT BRILLIANT”
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vega
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Vega Malcesine, what a hotel to stay at. Location, hotel, food, service was BRILLIANT, as was Marco and his team - my friend and I attended a wedding whilst there, no problem with staying out late (as mentioned on trip advisor) I was given a key and code by Marco. Our bedroom overlooked the lake. Marco certainly runs a perfect hotel he should be proud of himself. THANK YOU Marco for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pompey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vega
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 456 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just returned from my second visit to the Hotel Vega,This is my 22nd visit to Italy and my 9th in Malcesine,The Vega is the best value for money in all those years,The dining room as been refurbished to a very high standered,Marco is still is usual regimental self but has only your cmfort in mind,all the staff are very accomadating.PERFECT.

Room Tip: Lakeside good but expensive,why not try the hotel front and watch the world go by its good fun.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinbarnes1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

we have just returned from hotel vega, it was a very enjoyable stay.marco was very helpful, he likes you to pay cash, we prefer to pay as we go along rather than at the end of our stay,and we paid for drinks and snacks each following day.the hotel is very clean everywhere,the food very good. our room was standard,overlooking the street and mountains, we enjoyed the shadey balconey late afternoons,while the lake view balconeys were too hot to sit on.we enjoyed wonderful lakeside walks,fantastic views from the castle,monte baldo not to be missed,,(no queues for cable car when early).the hotel in a perfect position to walk into town,, get a ferry, or go to cable car. we have stayed at other resorts around lake garda , and malcesine is our favourite.we made new friends and had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: lake view rooms in full sun...room 5 had side lake view with long balconey standard rooms are quite...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bezken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Returned to Malcesine this year as there were still things we wanted to do and see in the area.Decided on this hotel as we'd liked the look of it when walking by it each evening last year - we were not disappointed. We had read the reviews from previous guests and on the whole they were quite good, we also knew a couple who had stayed there last year. Anyway, we didn't have any trouble with the air conditioning, paying the room bill, or the owner, Marco! We simply had to ask for the air conditioning to be switched on (took all of 1 minute) we knew they only took cash so made sure we had enough at the end of the holiday to pay the room bill, and we found Marco, cheerful, pleasant and helpful. I can see perhaps that some people might find him OTT, but we did our own thing and didin't find him intrusive at all (as some guests have suggested) All in all, it is a lovely hotel, we had a "superior" room without a lake view, but were actually glad of a nice shady balcony in the afternoons after a long day in the hot sun. The Hotel is decorated stylishly and is extremely comfortable. The lack of a pool didn't bother us at all, there are 3 very easy ways to access the lake from the hotel's deck for some serious swimming, but I simply loved the whirlpool spa right next to the deck looking out over the lake - it was lovely to sit in the spa and cool down while watching the ferries come and go. Because we were made so welcome and comfortable, I have to say, all our plans for "up and doing" went out of the window! We spent a really lazy week in the sun, just walking around Malcesine and the area in the evenings, although we did manage one trip across to Limone! The ferry points are 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Location, location , location. Hotel Vega is right in the town of Malcasine, but not on a busy street. The back of the hotel is directly on the lake with a marvelous wooden terrace for relaxing or swimming. If you do not wish to relax on the deck, the hotel has a wonderful private garden with plenty of lounge chairs in the sun or shade. The Vega is modern and could be described as elegant. Everything is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are modest in size, but more than adequate with air conditioning and modern bathrooms. Rooms facing the lake are more expensive so we opted for a room facing the street and the mountains, which was just fine. The Vega has a secured parking lot for your car and the cost is a reasonable 5 Euros per day. The hotel provides a remote devise to open and close the door to the parking lot. Breakfast is provided in their restaurant with floor to ceiling windows that face the magnificent scenery of lake and mountains. Most guests seem to favor the half board arrangement. Since we like to try different restaurants we opted for the bed and breakfast rate. There are many fine restaurants in Malcasine and they are a short walk from the hotel. Marco and his wife run the hotel. Marco seems to be everywhere at once making sure that his guests are comfortable and satisfied. Malcasine has is a popular vacation city for German tourists so make your reservations early. Keep in mind that the room rates are based on a per person basis.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, choose the lake view rooms, but they are more expensive than those fa...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was our first visit to Lake Garda, and we made a great choice with this hotel. The location was perfect - close to the centre of town and the ferry terminal, yet in a quiet spot; next to the lake, with stunning views all around. Walking the other way, away from the town centre, was a lovely walk by the lake with beautiful views looking back towards Malcesine. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the castle, and also the cable car up Monte Baldo, both of which are worth a visit.
We went half board, and thought the food was excellent, with a choice of 3 dishes per course, all beautifully cooked. There was also a salad buffet to begin the meal, which was very good. Guests were asked for their choice of evening meal after breakfast each morning. Breakfast was a selection of breads, cheese, ham, fruit, nuts, yoghurts, etc and eggs were available if you asked for them. They also made very good tea, which is quite unusual in Italy!
The owner, Marco was very attentive to all of the guests and was quite comical with it. All of the staff spoke excellent English and were very kind and helpful.
The rooms were reasonably sized and very clean. The air conditioning was good, which is important to us, and the ensuite shower room nicely done.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and also Malcesine itself, which is well positioned for visits to other parts of the lake.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra to get a view over the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SWB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just back from our 2nd visit to Vega, highly recommended in a great location. We stayed on the HB option and really enjoyed the evening meals which includes a choice of starters and main course. A great way to enjoy good Italian food without spending 20 mins trying to choose from the many restaurants in the town.

The town can get busy with day visitors but it clams down in the evening often with live music around the local bars.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view to either the mountains or lake, we stayed in room two which had a side vi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $140 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing