We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Modena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Modena
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

nice little hotel in a great spot. Dont get on the wrong side of the manager, was rude to us the whole holiday. Ur right in town and by the lake.

Room Tip: some rooms on the second floor are onto a court area, which can be quite noisy at night from people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    91
    51
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
131
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Just reliving the wonderful time we had in malcesine and the great hospitality by Gino and his staff; We were there in August 2010 for my sons wedding. Nothing was too much trouble, even providing room service for my mum and a trip in Gino's tup tup when she needed a hospital visit. I would love to return one day . Gino is a genuinely kind person with a great sense of humour. BIG THANKYOU .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2011 for a family wedding in the castle. We all (party of 4) found it to be an excellent choice and all of us would return. Location - fabulous - in one of the loveliest towns on the lake. Rooms were very clean and were more than adequate - just lacked air conditioning - as it was extremely hot during our stay. All the staff were really lovely and very helpful. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Malcesine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I am late in writing this ... apologies. My husband and I travelled to Malcesine by motorbike to attend a friend's wedding in August. We booked into the Modena as a 'cheap and cheerful' option as we were only staying three days. We expected an average hotel, given some of the reviews on here. What we got was a wonderful, witty, charming hotel owner who shared our motorbiking passion and was a lovely host. This hotel is very central, in fact, all the other wedding guests were jealous that it took us two minutes not two hours to stagger back to our bed. The room was fine, no, not 5 star, but we were really happy with the amenities, the breakfast and the service. Anyone who has a bad word to say about the manager or staff clearly has no sense of humour. I would very happily travel back to Malcesine and happily stay at the Modena.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and the window opened out onto the street, which was much more char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyneside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This was our second visit to Gino's hotel and again we were not disappointed. The bedroom was spacious and cool with everything we needed and was cleaned daily. There was a good variety of meats, cheeses, salad, bread and fruit at the buffet breakfast and a choice of tea, coffee, water, juice and chocolate etc. The set evening meals offered a choice from two starters, two main courses and a dessert, not large meals but very well cooked and presented, drinks and beverages were charged extra. The hotel is in a pedestrianised area at the bottom of a steep hill, but is worth it as you are literally one minute from the lakeside and two from the ferry landing. Some reviewers have been uncomplimentary about Gino but on our two visits he has behaved impeccably. Nothing seems a problem for him and on two mornings he even got up much earler than usual to provide us with breakfasts. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand-dancerBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife, myself, sister and sister in law came to Malcesine for our youngest son Andrew and his Fiance Kimberley's wedding, and stayed at the Hotel Modena. The hotels position is so close to all the attractions of Malcesine, its great. The Lake is only 50 yrds, if that to Lake Garda and some wonderful views. The centre of Malcesine is only about 60 yards away from the front door of the hotel. The food at the Modena is magic, as Gino the Hotel Owner does all the cooking - his comments of "its only a 2 star hotel" - don't seem right as his food is certainly 4 star if not better. Although Gino has a strange sense of humour - someone asked him one morning how he felt - he answered " well, or so my psychiatrist tells me". He appears to be quite gruff, but we found him exactly the opposite. Kimberley's Nanna had recently had a new hip fitted and found getting to the Castle venue for the wedding quite a strain. I asked Gino if he knew any way to get her to the Castle easier, and without a second to think, he offered to take her up to the Castle in his "tup tup" (a small vehicle only suited to the narrow streets of Malcesine) and considering she was in the hotel round the corner. I thought this was way beyond what he could be asked to do for a guest of another hotel. It certainly made the Bride happy, knowing that her Nanna would be at the Ceremony. We would certainly go back to Malcesine, and if we do we will go back to the Modena Hotel and Gino, if he will have us!!
CHEERS and THANKS to you GINO.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnderry4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I loved Hotel Modena. I was travelling alone for a wedding and stayed in a single room (breakfast included) which was less than 150 Euro for four nights, (which I thought was brilliant for Lake Garda).

The hotel is right in the middle of it all. It's near the Port, the Lake...it's a ten minute walk from the "lake beach", restaurants, bars..you name it.

The owner Gino is really friendly with a wickedly amusing sense of humour. We spoke with him on many occasions and he always made us laugh. Very nice guy and Claudia is very helpful too.

If you want to book a transfer to or from the hotel make sure you do it three/two days in advance of travelling.

The hotel itself is very clean. My room was perfect.

It is very close to the bus stop (five minute walk).

The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but who needs a swimming pool when you can go for a dip
in Lake Garda?!

At breakfast you were offered a very reasonable selection of food.

I loved this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locapepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#51 of 70 in Malcesine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vacanze 2000
Hotel Vacanze 2000
#8 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#56 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modena

Property: Hotel Modena
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 2, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Modena 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Modena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Modena Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing