We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, super food -- we really lucked-out here.”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We can only re-iterate the upbeat reviews on TA. I don't "do" reviews too often but felt moved to write after such a great ten days in the Maximilian. This modern hotel has a main building and two small annexes (we stayed in an annex and loved it) set in pleasant lakeside grounds. We managed to get moved to an upstairs room after initially being given one at ground level but some may not find this an issue.
Good sized indoor pool so my wife could do her obligatory "laps" and a smaller one on a terrace outside. Lots of space so you can lounge in the sun with some degree of privacy if you want. Good sauna (need to tell them you want to use it so it can be switched on) and steam rooms in the beauty spa and gym looked ok (but I never tried it!!).
Real "fine dining" experience but never felt bloated. I think that we felt disappointed with only one meal over our ten day stay. Hotel staff were great fun, even though we never quite sure how much our waiter actually understood!! Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lake was also great fun. The small bay was much more interesting than staring at the main lake itself.
Location is 2km south of Malcesine town so we enjoyed the almost-daily walk into town on the lakeside promenade and I am hoping that this has helped offset some of the added kgs I will have inevitably added by eating dinner in the hotel. The walk could be a bit of a "downer" for those with mobility issues (there is a bus service close by) but it was well worth it for us because the location seemed far superior to hotels closer to town. Be sure to walk south down the lakeside one day and visit the "fish museum" in the charming little port of Cassone for an insight into life in the area in the early-mid 1900s.
Loved Malcesine but that is another story.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rijel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2008

Just got back from our wedding in Malcesine and stayed at the Maximilian as recommended by Thomas Cook. The hotel is gorgeous, by far the nicest we saw in Malcesine which only has a few four star hotels anyway. It is right on the lake with amazing views from the terrace where you have breakfast if the weather is nice. The indoor and outdoor pool where always empty and plenty of empty sunbeds as well. I think this is down to the fact that most people staying at the hotel are quite a bit older so don't really bother with the pool and stuff. As it was our honeymoon we found it really relaxing and chilled. Most of the guests where German or English. Hotel food was excellent, we ate something different every night. It's four courses, you get a menu at breakfast to choose your primi course wihich is usually a pasta dish, and then secondi which is meat or fish. The antipasti is ususally a cold starter and there is a choice of desert. I recommend the salami chocolata.

Staff are really nice and helpful and maid service daily. We stayed in room 26 which shared a massive balcony with the junior suite. We could sunbathe out there and the views were amazing. Maximilian is about half an hour walk from the town centre, it's actually in Val di Sogno (Bay of Dreams). There is a Malcesine tourist bus which is always on time. It's one euro no matter how far you go and only takes two minutes to town centre. It runs till midnight but the walk back to hotel is breathtaking with a promenade right along the lake. We walked back on our wedding night in bridal attire and it was so romantic.

The town itself is gorgeous but not many young people, the average age was about seventy. This might have been down to the time of year as kids were back at school. If anyone is thinking of getting married there I have to say it was more than I could ever dream of. The castle is stunning and weather permitting you can marry on one of the turrets outside. After the wedding you walk through the town and everyone claps and cheers, it makes the day feel really special.

Overall it was the best holiday and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank justmarriedWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed for one week in August with 2 friends and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel. We had a warm welcome on arrival, cases were delivered to our rooms and any additional requests such as an extra pillow were seen to immediately. Rooms were spotless with superb balconies and views of the lake. Food was top class and we enjoyed having to choose our dinner choices over breakfast when we had plenty of time to peruse the terrific choices - never repeated during our 7 days. We were never once asked for our room numbers when ordering snacks or drinks, or had to sign chits, as all staff already knew!!. We were worried about our final hotel bill but it was correct. Outdoor pool was small but uncrowded and great for a refreshing dip before dinner. Plenty of room in the indoor pool and even more in the lake which was widely used. Lovely walk from the hotel to Malcesine and a very useful tourist bus which stopped close to the hotel and did a trip about 6 kms either side of Malcesine. We have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Maximilian.

Hilary, Moyra, Victor and Jack

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJCBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We visited this hotel for a week in July 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Pleasant reception and waiting staff, comfortable modern style rooms with excellent bathrooms and a view to die for! Meals in the restaurant were delicious and of much better quality than we had anticipated. We were at first surprised to have to choose our evening meal at breakfast time, however by day 2 we were looking forward to knowing what we would be eating later on in the day!

The outdoor pool was small, however there were plenty of loungers always available, scattered in little groups over the lovely gardens, and because it was right on the beautiful lake, a longer more energetic swim was always possible there.

The hotel appears to be very well run, with a very high standard of cleanliness and all mod cons. The only criticism we could make perhaps was the fact that an iron/ironing board was not available for use by the guests - the hotel did however offer to iron the garment themselves free of charge - however we would have preferred to be able to borrow an iron ourselves.

The hotel was a pleasant 20 minute walk into the centre of Malcesine, although there was one small section of the walk which was very steel and quite hard work on the walk back up! Alternatively it was easy to get either the public bus or tourist bus for the 5 minute journey into the town.

We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s1ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

A lovely, quiet hotel.
We got married in malcesine clastle and stayed at the hotel for 11 days .
Our room was spotless and we didnt want to leave the beautiful lake view.
The staff were very polite although a few of the reception staff were a little miserable.

Not much choice of food from the pool bar at the day, only a few sandwiches and the wine was expensive, but the 4 course meal evening was fantastic! And there was a decent gym and indoor pool to work the calories off!

There was no entertainment in the evenings.

The hotel is a plesant 35mins walk along the lake into town, however there is a reliable hourley bus service which runs morning and evening outside the hotel.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with a lovely pool, beautiful veiw and spacious room I would recomend this hotel

Emma Howells Davies

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmmaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

This hotel exceeded our expectations by 150%. It was a truly devine stay, all necessary details were looked after as were we and the staff did not do that awful grovelling that some top notch hotels do - they overly fuss you. This was not the case here. The food was spectacular; proper 5 course meals; not a buffet - although there was one available for one of the courses, if you wanted it.
I woud thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet secluded place to be in, away from children - there is a huge amount to pay if you want your children to stay there too, and no one under the age of 10 is permitted in the pools. There was a young couple with a wee baby; but the coochi coos of that child was hardly audible if compared to children running free and knocking people off their feet! The hotel has 40 spectular large rooms, the gardens are well kept and tended to.
Some people may not like the fact that the hotel has little room for children, but i think it is an excellent idea. We didn't want kids tearing about the place, screaming and ruining the tranquility.
You may think it is expensive, but half board (ie Breakfast and a waited served evening meal, plus extremely nice rooms, start at €115, which compared to most top notch UK hotels is impressively good value.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Once you have got past the less than helpful reception staff this hotel is a very pleasant place to chill. There was no offer of help with luggage, just a vague pointing in the general direction of an annexe. Even our new daughter in law, arriving still in wedding dress, was not offered any assistance. The wine for honeymooners, as advertised, had to be demanded several times before it made an appearance.

However, It is modern, clean and the rest of the staff cannot do enough to help. The rooms are large, well appointed, and many offer wonderful views over the lake from private balcony or terrace.

The evening meals were delicious. Four courses each evening, with three choices of first and main courses. Over four nights there was no repetition. The portions were sensible so we were able to enjoy every course. There is a basic snack and salad bar for lunches.

There is a very small outdoor pool and a slightly larger indoor pool as part of the spa where we enjoyed massages and a facial.

The hotel is situated just outside the town and there is a pleasant lakeside walk into town - about 20 to 30 minutes - or a regular tourist bus will take you into the town centre.

Would not recommend the hotel for children or those that want a lively nightlife.

1  Thank BarnetMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#19 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Via Val di Sogno 6, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $233 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Maximilian Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing