We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All over too quickly”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Fantastic views over the lake were just part of this wonderful experience. All the reviews we saw were spot on. The staff could not do enough to make our stay very comfortable, the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, the food was excellent and the surroundings very pleasant. Oh the weather for our 8 days was just brilliant so the walk to Malcesine was delightful. We also took a trip to the opera in Verona and saw Carmen - it was just spectacular. We had a garden room number 44 which was superb and cannot wait to step into Hotel Maximilian again.
The Edwards family

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rowland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 269 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Like most people, I looked at tripadvisor for inspiration and a bit of knowledge before booking the maximmilian. Most reviews were excellent and the odd slightly negative one. Here is my view of Hotel maximillian.
My Wife and I booked through Topflight to spend a week in the Maximillian to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.Good flight from Belfast city to verona. Easy pick up and coach transfer to the hotel with a running commentary from the delightful sarah, the topflight rep, on the history of the lake and the various high points surrounding our area near the top of the lake.
The scenery is just breath taking. I reckon the area around Malcesine (pronounced malchesney) is the most scenic and spectacular area of the lake.
Malcesine is a great little town with lots of shops some very good quality and some as you would expect. A plethora of bars and restaurants are available for all tastes and are great for people watching. i reckon things area more expensive than uk. Also while the proscecco is great you might be surprised by the large glass only a quarter filled?
The hotel is just great. There was a slight communication problem over the room we thought we were getting and the room initially offered. But Anna in reception really calmly sorted it and as a result we spent the week in the villa soffinna, room 11.Fantastic room.Very modern and very bright.Great balcony overloking the bay, infact as long as you choose a balcony room in the hotel or the villas you will always have a fantastic view. THe mountains climb either side of the bay to an enormous height and sitting on the balcony after dinner with the lights of the villages on the other side flickering it is just magical.
The food is superb. No fancy expensive cuts of meat,but beautifully prepared and presented.
It is a bit fast paced though.No time between courses(4) and some might think the portions are not huge although I thought the starters were too big.The staff are excellent, really courteous and welcoming.Pleasantly surprised to find the linen,towels etc all changed daily.
Some have mentioned the walk to malcesine along the promenade. Yes it is a good 20 mins plus. Great to do a few times over the week but a bit tiresome everyday if you need to. Take the tourist bus 1.20euro does a circuit of the area every hour. Just hop on and hop off.Take the boat trip to limone on the tuesday for the market. Take the cable car to monte baldo. Amazing!!
We also did the wine tour which has a bit of a drive but the 2 visits are good.Worth noting not really a place for teenagers. Little night life and no beaches just pebble shore line in places and rocky under water. Be aware also that mostly german and italian voices and attitude!

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room in the main hotel or villas. In the soffina room 11 seems to have the sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank terry2trench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

About 2K form the centre of Malcesine this is hotel faces south overlooking Lake Garda with landscaped gardens and pool. The restaurant served excellent food, not huge amounts but exceptional quality, five courses in the evening with waiter service.
Exceptional receptionsists only to0 willing to help. Very comfortable rooms with balcony overlooking the lake.
Morning and evening views beautiful form balcony.
To access Malcesine there is a footpath down and back up a slope close to the hotel before walking along the lake. You can cheat and take a local busThe town has lots to see including castle, restaurants and a cable car ride to the top of the adjacent mountain at 2000 metres where amongst other thinks people throw themselves off the top and parasail to the lake below.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location was just wonderful - beautiful views of mountains and lake. We could not have asked for better.
We stayed in a suite which had a glass front overlooking the lake. It was quite expensive but was definitely worth paying the extra for the suite. All we had to do was open the sliding glass doors, cross the garden and we were at the lake. The suite itself was spotless and spacious. We were given a very handy bag with flipflops, towel and robe inside for use during our stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
We were unfortunate with the weather on a couple of days during our stay so the indoor pool was extremely handy, as was the pool bar where you could buy drinks, ice creams or a nice lunch. Prices were reasonable at the bar.
Would definitely recommend to friends and really hope to return sometime ourselves!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank jetsetteriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for 10 nights at this amazing little hotel, we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. the room was spotlessly clean and was more than adequate as a base, we had a double balcony and the view from the room was stunningly breathtaking. The quality of food and service in the restaurant was a joy, the waitresses were very good and their service skills a delight. We highly recommend the trips to Verona and Venice, If you can squeeze in the Opera at the Arena Di Verona, you won't be disappointed.The enjoyed the walk into Malcesine town, the scenery of the lake and the mountains amazing.We are now home and can't stop talking about the whole experience we had at the Maximilian, we are already looking to book again at this oasis on the lake.

Room Tip: We had room 14, we really enjoyed the room for comfort and easy access after a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of May this year. The staff are so polite and helpful it's hard to believe. The inclusive meals are also first class. It's situated just 15 minutes walk from the centre of malcesine but this is ideal as you can pop into town when you wish but don't have the noise of the visiting tourists. We upgraded to stay in villa Stephania which is a new annexe with really modern rooms and a good lake view. We will be going back. Well done to the staff!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank scottish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked with Citalia and were pleased to book a private luxury transfer car. We exited arrivals to an iPad bearing our name and straight to a Merc and 90 minutes later were at the hotel . The guy sat next to us on the plane arrived by coach two hours later by which time I was on the sun lounger and settled into our room .
The room was number 10 which was located on the ground floor next to the cafe . It had a small terrace and chairs outside the double patio doors that opened onto the gardens and a view over the lake . The room was simply furnished with two single beds zipped together a small two seater sofa a TV with two English channels news and more news . And a shower room. Very small safe and furniture could do with updating it was quiet worn.
Plenty of sun loungers available outside and lots of places to tuck yourself away in the gardens all day for privacy .
We stayed half board for 5nights cost £1800 .
Breakfast included was continental and you could sit wherever you wanted and on the terrace overlooking the lake was stunning. You were offered tea /coffee and it was rolls ham cheese fruit yogurt and there was scrambled egg and bacon and three cereals . The same breakfast was offered every day . Eggs were available for order I think at 3 euros each.
Lunch not inc could be had at the cafe next to our room there were panninis , burgers , toastie and salad . The salads were 10euros for motzerella and tomato salad and the toastie about 4euro.
Dinner inc .. Was a bit different for us as many have said you needed to order at breakfast . I didn't mind this as it perhaps saved waste but sometimes I didn't know what I might like and my mind was not on an evening meal . Four courses offered , anti pasti same for everyone and often meat included. Starters were three choices usually soup and a pasta . Main course meat ,fish and a vegetarian option . Dessert was always ice cream , strawberries and ice cream, and a cheesecake . Always came with synthetic squirty cream and a wafer. We found dinner difficult on a few levels..
Out of five days three meat choices were Veal ,then suckling pig,then beef cheeks. Not a piece of chicken anywhere . Courses came at lightening speed sometimes before you had finished the previous one . Wine was from 21 euros a bottle and what you didn't drink was out on your table for the following evening which in principle was a great idea but it seemed to be placed at 7:00 which if as we did you got in at 8 it was warm .. We also could not under any circumstances it seemed change tables so every night same table . Some were at the back of the restaurant and had a view of the cars others were placed at the front overlooking the lake but never outside . Also there was a salad bar for dinner which was pickled cabbage , grated carrot , rocket ,cherry tomatoes, seeds,olives which again was the same every night .
Quality of food was good but some variation at breakfast and dinner would have made it much better. Could have done with background music in the restaurant or a piano as it was sooo quiet a sneeze was an event .
I would recommend a trip to the spa for a massage 23 euros for a half body 30 minutes was amazing .
Cannot add anything to others reviews about the walks to towns and little boat trips but on the day we went to Limone we just came back as it was so small and so many people .. Pretty though
Lots of leather coats , bags and shoes to buy .
Hotel staff were curious and friendly the gardener certainly worked hard they were beautiful. Pool was small but not many people were in it so that was ok it was beautiful. I didn't understand the whirlpool in the corner of the garden which you had to pay for ..
Indoor pool good on rainy days wifi also very useful when it rains and we got reception everywhere.
We did make sure we got a room in the main hotel before booking and I'm pleased we did .
We needed an away from it all totally quiet relaxing holiday and that's what we got bit overpriced but lovely time lovely scenery and lovely weather :-)

Room Tip: Get a room in main hotel . bit out on a limb in complexes but some like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boxyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Via Val di Sogno 6, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $236 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Maximilian Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing