We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great setting although probably a little too far away from the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great setting although probably a little too far away from the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just returned from our hols in Malcesine. We booked this hotel through Thomas Cook and we also had our wedding organised through them (But that's another story!)
The hotel is lovely. Set in lovely gardens which have many private spots. The views of the lake and mountains are amazing.
The room we had wasn't in the main block, but in a separate building called villa Cristina. It wasn't the room advertised in the brochure but it was still nice and large and clean. We thought about requesting one in the main block but when we weighed up the fact that it is quieter in front of our building, we decided to stay here. (The main block has the pool and bar below and is generally busier than in front of the villa Cristina - although it is still a very laid back and relaxed atmosphere)
The restaurant is lovely and the waiters and waitresses are brilliant. There is a short waiter called Federico who is really nice and really seems to enjoy his job.
The food is second to none. My fave was cream of tomato soup with orange (Believe it or not these actually go together!).
There is always a few choices of each course. You will not be disappointed.
In the restaurant there is a dress code! Nothing major, but they like you to wear pants/dark jeans rather than shorts! I had a few funny looks from some of the other guests on my first night there!
My only quibble really is the distance from the centre. It took myself and my wife 30 mins to get there by strolling down the lake promenade. It takes around 25 mins walking the road way but this can be trecherous due to the lack of pavements.
There is a 'Tourist bus' usually Red in colour which can take you into the centre for 1 euro per person. This runs every hour from 8am to midnight and takes only 5 mins. Don't be fooled though as sometimes they use a white bus with no markings!
To be honest, the stroll to and from the centre is lovely. We had all our guests staying in the centre. Almost every day we walked to see them in the morning and then walked back to hotel in the afternoon. Then we would walk to the centre in the evening and then walk back again at night. Doing this for 10 days does take it out of you. If only the Maximilian was near the excelsior bay. I'd say that had the perfect location - not too far away and yet not too close to the centre so you can hear all the morning noise (Roadsweepers, glass bottle collectors - we had some of our guests at Hotel Modena and Hotel Vega mentioning this)
The hotel has free Wi-Fi which was really handy.
To summarise, the Maximilian is a lovely hotel. I can't fault the staff, food, cleanliness or setting. If only it was a mile closer to the centre it would be better.

Room Tip: We had number 49 in villa cristina. Clean and large. Lovely view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    33
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
171
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have recently returned from a two week stay at Hotel Maximilian From the moment we stepped though the door until we departed have nothing but praise for the friendly staff who we came into contact with.
We were fortunate to have a room facing the lake with "two" balconies - one had a lounge chair and the other two cane chairs and a cane table. Just sitting there and looking out over Val di Sogno and futher to the south of the lake, was our idea of a pleasant interlude. Constructive critism - the safe in the room was very small and the old type i.e. used a key. do feel the safe should be larger, could only fit our ticket holder/passports in. It would have been nice to be able to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room - maybe for us being British - something we felt lacked.
There were two bags in the bathroom with a Robe , Swimming towel and plastic slip slops for use whilst there.
When we arrived in the room, noted there was only one pillow each, on asking at reception if we could please get another one each and if possible "feathers", within no time it was done.
The food was top notch - as has been stated in previous reviews - and we certainly did not leave the table hungry or dis-satisfied with our choices on the menu. There was a good overall choice i.e. meat eaters, vegeterian option, fish etc. On the odd ocassion when I did not want the first course, I was offered an alternative that wasn't on the menu.
The grounds are well looked after and there was always somwhere to sit if needed.
The walk - or for us a stroll - into Malcesine was a delight in itself - it definitely took us more than 20 min as stated by others, but then who is in a rush when on holiday.
Sitting after dinner on the covered verandah in front of the dining room - was bliss - on one occasion our "entertainment" was watching lightening over the mountains.
We did a couple of ferry trips, visting Riva, Limone and Sirmione. We walked a couple of times to Cassonne a delightful small "village" going "south" from the hotel - as well as walking numerous times into Malcesine. We went up Monte Baldo on the Cable car.
Another point of interest , when we checked in, we were not asked for our credit card or how we were going to pay for supplements etc. We had wine, Water, coffees , lunch on one occasion etc. etc. etc. and never once asked for our name , room number, etc. etc. and when the day before we left asked for a printout, saw that everything was as it should be - that is what I call good customer relations :-)
Would have no hesitiation in recommending the hotel for anyway who wants good service a fantastic holiday in a glorious part of Lake Garda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorsethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

best hotel i've stayed in, food perfect never had a bad meal in 2 weeks, staff friendly
beautiful place lovely and peaceful. Beautiful walk to Malcesine around 20 mins.
you wont be disapointed with this hotel
perfect xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel was absolutely first class. My wife and I have visted Italy on 16-18 occasions including staying at five star hotels. This was one the best, if not the best hotels we have stayed in. The location was superb with gardens and the pool on the edge of the lake and overlooked by mountains. The room had a balcony with a lake view. We have had larger and better accomodated bedrooms but what made this hotel special was the level of service provided by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We both also considered that the standard of the evening meal was first class. We the facilities of the Spa were also of a very high standard. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjacksonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My fiance and I just returned from a week's holiday at the Hotel Maximilian and would recommend it very highly.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Most of the hotels we saw in the area have a road or promenade between the hotel itself and the lake whereas the Maximilian is set in a beautiful garden that drops straight down to the lake. The garden is very well laid out with lots of little private spaces on three different levels and a lovely infinity pool in the middle so it avoids the impression of plastic loungers packed in a ring around a concrete pool area. It felt quiet, luxurious and restful even though the hotel was full when we were there. We had a large and airy ground floor room with modern furniture, a patio and a great view of the lake and mountains. We had requested a balcony room and nearly changed rooms but we quickly realised how nice it was to be able to step straight out into the garden and pool and the hotel was very quiet so noise wasn't an issue at all.

There's also an indoor pool but it's not quite big enough for exercise. The spa was nicely laid out but seemed to open at random hours.

The 25 minute walk along the promenade into Malcesine didn't feel too long at all, especially with such lovely views along the way.

The restaurant was as good as any of the tourist restaurants in Malcesine with decent vegetarian and fish options for non-meat eaters, but it's cheaper to buy wine in the local supermarket if you're staying in for a drink. Our only criticism was that the breakfast wasn't up to the standards that the hotel sets in other areas - the selection wasn't great and the food didn't seem particularly fresh.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Maximilian Hotel in Malcesine in June 2011. The Hotel was beautiful, the rooms large and airy, the views magnificent. The staff were excellent and the food was very good. The town is a good 20 minutes walk away along a footpath by the lake.
It is a beautiful walk with fab view of the town, lake and mountains. You can walk in the other direction to a small town called Cassone which is very pretty with a picture postcard small harbour.

Room Tip: tourist bus costs one euro and goes from the shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinCarolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

It was avery nice hotel and the staff were very nice, but its definatlely not a family hotel. We were in the indoor pool teaching my grandson to jump in and we were asked to keep the noise down. Not happy, after spending £2k to spend a week there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entwistle_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#20 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Localita Val di Sogno 6, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Maximilian Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing