We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel clearly relying on its views and location for its success.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful location very handy for the town, hotel very clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. Particularly Marcello the head waiter, and Rachel the receptionist impressed me the most, very helpful and informative.
Our room was very basic none of the usual 4 star facilities such as tea, coffee & complimentary water on arrival. The bathroom although adequate had one miserable bar of soap, no shower gels etc. I have travelled all over the world and always stayed 4 star plus, this hotel is not 4 star. Breakfast was adequate, the usual omelette, toast, cereal etc. The first evening we asked if we could sit outside and was told it was reserved for a la carte! The evening menu was unimaginative and quite taste less, lamb cutlets you could have soled your shoes with! Scampi shells on a plate of pasta! We ate out a couple of times and really wished we had booked Bed and breakfast, drinks in the hotel are usual hotel prices extortionate.
My advise would be to go B&B at this hotel, or even better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joelAlKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is located on the lakeside about 5 minutes walk from the main town along a promenade which also provides lovely evening strolls. Being in the northern part of the lake the views are of high mountains in all directions.
We stayed in a lake view room at the front of the hotel for 12 nights, the rooms are not over large but adequate and comfortable. There was sufficient room for clothes and the small balcony provided a space to sit out in the sun and admire the views. There is a room safe in the wardrobe on top of the drawers and and fridge which you can have stocked from the bar (or add your own drinks from supermarket and much cheaper cost. There are larger rooms but they overlook the pool rather than the lake. The pool itself is large enough for modest fitness swimming as well as just cooling off.
There has been some in our opinion unfounded criticism of breakfast. If you want a full English every day they frankly don't come to the Italian Lakes go to the Lake District instead. There is a good selection of Fruit Juices, cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurt every day with toast and a selection of jams. There is a hot food service with one chef preparing perfectly good omelettes with a wide range of fillings or just plain fired or scrambled eggs. If you want cooked breakfast you may have to queue but your on holiday so what's the rush. Just what do people expect.
The normal procedure is for the dinner menu to be presented at breakfast and you tick the selection you require. I expected this to be annoying but actually worked very well. In the Italian style there are 3 savoury courses with various choices. There is a fish dish option every day.
The waiters then come round after main course giving you the choices for desert. Some people had all courses and some less depending on their appetite. I do agree that some dishes were more successful than others and if you are unlucky you could choose a poorer dish on several occasion's, we only had one really poor dish which was rather solid walnut dumplings with blue cheese sauce. However if there is a problem all you have to do is quietly mention it to the head waiter or the head barman (who is actually the hotel manager !) and an alternative will be immediately offered. Overall the we ended each evening both full and very content. A seafood soup was memorable and and Squid ink pasta and seafood dish outstanding. If you really do have a problem you can always eat al a'carte at extra cost but you get 30 pct off the cost of the food in lieu your half board dinner.You can also 'swop' your evening meal for a packed lunch and eat out in the evening to add some variety.
The waiting staff were outstanding, could not be more helpful and great fun provided you are prepared to chat to them.
In the evening there is a live entertainer every night which very pleasant. They seem to rotate between singer/guitarist and /singer keyboard players. You sit on the terrace enjoying drinks and coffee and enjoying the night views of the lake.
As we had a lake view room we got to each on the open terrace, guests from other rooms ate in the dinning room. Although the terrace has nice views in some ways the dinning room is more comfortable as it is air conditioned. It was very hot in August and we quickly decided not to come to our table for dinner before 19.50 as the setting sun was blazing down until that time. Maybe at other times of the year this is not a problem as not so hot.

This was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had and much of that was down to the hotel so recommended.

Room Tip: If eating al fresco on the terrace is important to you then choose at lake view room or one of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCofEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed August 2013.Stunning position and friendly efficient staff.Small room with poor outlook.Only one real complaint that the food was not good enough.When you are paying £1100pp for a week you are entitled to expect good food and while breakfast was adequate some of the evening meals were not.Overcooked steak,soggy broccoli and 4 small reheated roast potatoes are not good enough.Also if you are staying half board you may not be allowed to eat your evening meal outside on a nice evening as they keep this for the "a la carte" guests and passing traffic.Instead you will be put inside behind the glass which isn't nearly as nice.If you kick up a bit (lot) of a fuss you may be lucky and get moved.Our nicest meal of the holiday was the one night we went into town and ate out!Our advice would be to stay B&B if you can and enjoy one of the many excellent restaurants in Malcesine.

Room Tip: You pay a lot extra for a lake view which isn't really necessary as you can always go onto the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prassanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If this hotel was worth its reputation, it would be in the top 5 hotels in Malcesine, instead of down in 19th place. But I have to concur with the (surprisingly) few very low ratings from other reviewers.

There might be superior rooms, at extra cost, which some found acceptable, but from those I saw, and the appalling, so called "standard" room we were allocated; not too many. And I can't recall staying at any hotel where disgruntled guest were so openly critical of its facilities.

I think the blatant cost cutting, mentioned elsewhere, is the reason, so it might be unfair to blame the staff. The buck should stop somewhere higher up!

No need to repeat all the complaints already listed; but although comparatively trivial in the scheme of things, might add: minibars in bedrooms empty, so they're losing potential income, but they would need refilling and monitoring - so extra staff hours to pay for: insufficient parasols by the pool: cushions removed from snack bar chairs, never replaced: safes almost at floor level, so difficult to access for the elderly. Plus a couple of possibly non-recurring problems, so I won't mention, but handled very badly, with minimal customer concern by the reception.

The food, cleanliness and service generally, were up to standard. But that's not enough; not by any means!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my family for a week in August. The weather was brilliantly sunny all week with one thunderstorm which was amazing to watch! The hotel is situated right on the lake and breakfast is served outside on the terrace with a beautiful view of the lake and the mountains opposite. It is just a ten minute walk from the centre of Malcesine which is well lit and nice to walk down both daytimes and night.

The rooms were very clean and a good standard with a safe, air con and a fridge. If you have preference of having a bath, I would recommend asking for this as my room had a bath with a shower but my parents just had a shower. The cleaner was very particular and even lined up our shoes and arranged our books! Was also cleaned before 10am every day - usually whilst we were having breakfast.

If you go half board you get a continental breakfast with breads, cheeses, ham, fruit, cereal, pastries, fruit juice and hot drinks. At breakfast you get a menu of the evening meal which you tick your choices. There was a starter, two or three pasta choices or soup, four choices of the main course (one vegetarian) and there is also a large selection of desserts. If you are vegetarian I would maybe opt out of half board as the options mainly consisted of cheese and not much else. The rest of the menu however was very good and the food was of very high quality. The staff were friendly and very attentive. I have an allergy to tomatoes and after saying this on the first night our waitress came every morning and told me which dishes I could and couldn't have and even substituted sauces for me.

I'm not sure how often this happens but on our last night we had a 'Gala Dinner'. This was a full 5 course dinner in which everyone came down at the same time and it was candlelit. When it was time for the main course which was leg of pork two waiters came round the restaurant with the pork on a trolley with sparklers in it!! This was a sight to see and they stopped for photos and also did this with a MASSIVE dessert. It was a lovely atmosphere and a brilliant way to end our holiday.

Malcesine itself is a pretty town with lots of shops, bars and gelateries (lots of yummy ice cream!) Nearly every night when we went down there was entertainment of some sort - one night there were fire dancers. All of the shops stay open till about 10. We went on boat trips to Limone and Riva which were both worth the trip! Definitely do these by boat as you can't trust the local buses to show up anywhere near on time! We also had a coach trip to Verona which included a two hour tour guide whilst we were there. Verona is also a must as there are many pretty buildings and the history is very interesting.

All in all I would highly recommend visiting Lake Garda and indeed staying at the Hotel Excelsior Bay!

Room Tip: There are rooms that are 'underground' so definitely avoid these and if possible ask for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimiRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant annex to this hotel (open to non-residence) offers a fantastic selection of food and the wine list is exception. We got caught in a thunderstorm and spent an impromptu few hours enjoying great food offered by fantastic staff and very reasonably priced. Stunning view over looking the lake. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Providing some of what Italy is great at...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bladebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is as perfect as described and the food and service up to standard in a pleasant restaurant and reasonably priced snack bar overlooking the lake. But from there it goes rapidly downhill.

Though we had requested an upper floor room when we booked some months earlier, this was blindly ignored and those rooms allocated to people ahead of us at reception on checking in. We knew this request could not be guaranteed, but it was clearly never even considered and we were horrified when we saw our tiny, drab and dimly lit 1st floor room, barely big enough for two very narrow single beds and with insufficient storage for clothes for two people. Eventually we were, moved to a larger room (which hadn't been let as it had faulty electrics); apart from its size, it was no better than the first.

There are countless other aspects of this hotel, albeit somewhat less important, that fall way below the 4 star standard we have experienced in numerous previous visits to Italy. These range from minute TVs in cheaply and inadequately furnished bedrooms (why no waste bin?), to all sun loungers being disabled so the angle of the backs can't be adjusted. I could go on...

The staff do their best but it's very obvious that they are under pressure from the proprietors (who make no attempt to engage with guests) to cut costs wherever possible.

It's a shame, but a beautiful location and breathtaking views of the lake and mountains cannot justify a 4-star rating.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room; but don't expect them to take any notice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iflyer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 71 in Malcesine
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#20 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Address: Via Lungolago 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $210 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing