We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greathotel in a fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Greathotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were a party of 20 guests that stayed at the Alpino from the 2nd-9th June for our wedding. We chose this hotel partly because of the location and partly because of price. The hotel is set outside of malcesine which means it is in a lovely quiet location with unrivaled views of the lake. The walk into Malcesine is about 30mins but is flat and is a lovely way to walk off the Italian cuisine! As we went to Lake Garda during the English spring bank/Jubilee holiday the prices for the rest of the hotels in Malcesine centre where very high so this hotel offered great value for money as we stayed half board. The hotel reception and dining area is spotless and quite modern. The rooms are quite basic but lovely and who spends all their time in their room when in Malcesine...?! We were at the front with a great view of the lake but as others have said this is the nosier side of the hotel because of the lake road. The rooms at the back overlook the lovely pool area and are a bit quiter. All of the rooms have a safe and air conditioning but these are at an extra charge. The staff in the hotel were great, so helpful and friendly, particularly when helping us organise taxis etc for the wedding. Our party found the food in the restaurant a bit hit and miss to be honest. The food is not traditional Italian but a mix of Italian and German. Some nights is was good, some nights not so good. However due to the good value we didn't mind eating out in Malcesine some nights. The hotel is in a very quiet location with only a couple of hotels and restaurants so for more lively nightlife we did get the tourist bus into Malcesine a few nights. The tourist bus is great, 1 euro oer trip (no matter where you get off) and stops just outside the hotel. We found that the bus was often early so get there at least 5 minutes before just in case. Sometimes the bus was very busy and lots of pushing was required to get on the bus (as the locals do, when in Rome...). However the verona/Riva buses also did the same trip for 2 euros each so a good alternative.
Overall this hotel is a good value little gem, run by a lovely family in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view but are nosy at night. The Wi-fi is better in the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I have just stayed at Hotel Astoria for a week and had a truly wonderful time. Having read some of the other Trip Advisor reviews pre departure, I was a little concerned. However after our stay, I have absolutely no idea why people have found fault with this hotel. The food was tasty and plentiful (better than I would have expected for a 3 star), the staff were friendly and helpful despite our lacking Italian. The room was clean and comfortable, the light in the bathroom was broken on arrival, but it was attended to immediately without problems. The pool was clean with ample sunloungers, the bar prices were also very reasonable. The location of the hotel is excellent, a 30 (ish) min walk into Malcesine, but right on the lakeside so spectacular views over the lake from the restaurant. We would highly recommend this restaurant for a comfortable and reasonably priced holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the same resort last June but in a different hotel and this hotel really impressed us.The staff were very friendly, especially the waitresses in the dining room. They treated you with respect and you had the personal touch throughout your stay.The manageress of the hotel is very helpful and friendly and speaks excellent English. The hotel itself was beautifully clean and all communal areas were immaculate. The rooms are very comfortable. One thing I would say is that if you require a hairdryer it is probably best to take your own as those in the rooms are very old and not that great, especially if you have long hair!
The food was lovely every evening. You choose your meal for each evening the night before. The choice for vegetarians was limited so if you do require a vegetarian meal make sure you inform the hotel at the start of your stay and it's probably best to mention it at the time of booking your holiday. They are however, very accomodating and will let you choose what you would like to eat within reason if you require such meals. The food is traditionally italian and you get plenty to eat. You will never leave hungry! If travelling with children to this hotel as we did and they would not eat an adult size meal we found it best to write "small portion" by the side of the menu choice each night or they will receive an adult size portion. The hotel staff made a real fuss of the children and they thoroughly enjoyed their holiday too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, couples and singles. It has beautiful views and is right on the lake front. The tourist bus stops right outside and goes past every hour costing 1 Euro per adult to take you into the town of Malcesine. This was great value for money as taxis are expensive. Our children are 8 and 6 and we did not have to pay for them on any public transport.
If travelling before June it is much quiter and some of the shops do not open again in the evening. After June the town really comes to life in the evening as well as the day although all restaurants, etc were open until late in May.
Overall a great place to stay! We have now booked to return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: This hotel sits right on the lake front so if it's views you like request a room on the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in room 104 and the view was a stone throw away from the lake! We could see the snow on the Dolomites and a beautiful view of the north east of the lake. The rooms were simple and immaculate , very comfortable and not noisy. Air con available. The hotel was extremly clean. The food was served on time and hot. No meal was repeated. The meals involved 4 courses. A salad bar, pasta dish, meat dish and dessert. Meals were pre ordered the night before and we never went hungry. The staff were more than helpful. If we werent going to be there for our meal they would have a cold plated dinner left for us in our room. Drinks were very responsibly priced. The walk from the main town of malcesine was stunning along the lake which took about 30mins or a tourist bus was available for 1 euro , kids under 8 travelled free. Reading some of the other reviews baffeled us as we could not fault this hotel. Highly recccomended place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romeosdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I think the previous reviews sum the Hotel up. I found it very clean and the staff pleasant.I was also in Room 114 at the end of September. The weather was lovely but the room was only just bearable heat wise.Could not stand it in the height of Summer . Malcesine is a lovely place . Do visit the Castle . Very good value for money. Beautifully kept. Also Ristorante Mignon Malcesine on the road up to the castle. Yummy food. Lake Garda is a lovely place to visit but would stay nearer the town if i stayed there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fliss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

You know how it is, you look down your Trip advisor reviews, you evaluate them and make your decision then book, then you start to read some bad reviews and you wonder if you've done the right thing!, well I'll give an honest account of our findings and hopefully it will help some future readers.
Firstly some positive points; lake garda is a beautiful spot, very relaxing and brimming with lovely ancient towns and villages, an artists dream! We visted Riva, Garda, Torbole, Trento and of course Malcesine (pronouned mal-chezy-ne). The hotel staff seem to work quite hard (as im sure most do in this profession), extra credit goes to the cleaners and Manuel who is a nice guy. If possible hire a car (best to book before you go, we find its much cheaper that way), we drove up to Trento it is lovely up there. We also went to Arco, this little town holds a special place for us as we had our honeymoon there 5 years ago and we love it there!
Now to the not-so-good points! Hotel location as you will already have read is a fair way from town about 30-40 minute walk, it is a nice walk, safe and quite flat along the lake side and mostly away from the road, one thing worth mentioning here is that the path is quite gritty, so best not to wear sandals, the surface changes to crazy-pathing when you get into the towns border. The tourist bus runs every hour (apart from three to four, when they have their break) but the buses are pretty small and often full. The same thing applies to the larger ATV buses that take you further afield, but you take the chance of getting stranded, and have a hefty taxi bill to pay! it really is every man for themselves at busy times, the weakest just get left behind!
Now the hotel...(big breath)...We were allocated room 114 which has a lovely view of next doors carpark! we were woken many times by cars arriving late playing music etc. Room 114 is a dark dismal room and more than a bit depressing, we cannot believe in this day and age that a hotel has no air-con in a warm climate such as Italy has, believe me in July and August you are gonna roast!! The rooms facing the road (hotel is right on the main road) do suffer badly from road noise,so it might be quieter in the rooms facing the mountains. The beds are a bit on the hard side, and we got a twin room instead of the double that we had requested.
Regarding the meals, breakfast are pretty standard fayre and enough to fill you as it is on a buffet option, so you can go back as much as you like. Evening meals are ordered on the night previous, and a very limited choice, small portions, and not very good quality. A salad is presented every other night as a buffet, why not every night? Drinks are fairly expensive, but you tend to expect that as this is how they make a large chunk of their profits, the contents of the glasses varied a bit too! On being shown to our table we noticed we were the only guests to be sharing a table with other people (Linda and Barry were a lovely couple thankfully, and were very good company), then on day three we realised why, THE KIDS ARRIVED!!!!! Now if your idea of heaven is eating in a school canteen with the cast of any American teenage TV programme, you would have loved it here. 40plus American 13/14 year olds decended on us! We could not believe it, you can imagine the noise this lot created, all these kids were on some sort of sports holiday, very excited, and very, very loud!!! When they finally went after four days we thought we'd gone deaf!
We tried to complian but when the manageress was on duty she woudnt come off the phone so we gave up!
So to sum up, Lake Garda's lovely, but Hotel Astoria's has had it's last euro from us!

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms at front, but noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karlos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned from a week in Lake Garda staying at the Hotel Astoria, Malcesine and intended to write a review on my return. I’ve just read DNK77’s review and most of what I was about to write, he has already said.
However, these are my comments.

The hotel appears to be family run as the people that work there seem to do everything from serving at the bar to serving in the restaurant or replenishing the food. In general, I found them all pretty friendly, maybe mother is a bit stern.
The hotel is located in a good spot that looks directly across to Limone and has bus stops right outside the hotel to take you in either direction. To walk into town it is a pleasant 45 mins walk during the day.

Our room was very spacious, very clean and couldn’t be faulted – except – there is no air conditioning. I suppose I should have known but missed it.
We were there in September and it was hot and very humid and had to sleep with the French doors open (I can’t imagine what it would be like in July/August).
We had a lake view which was fantastic but….back to the fact that the doors were open at night, as the hotel is only a few meters away from the main road that runs along the lake – the traffic noise is bad throughout the night and even worse at weekends.

Breakfast was the same every day but there was enough choice to have something to eat.
Dinner is at 19.00. There is only one sitting. I saw people arrive at 19.45 and they didn’t get the salad bar – cleared away.
I thought the food at dinner was mostly out of the freezer and certainly didn’t resemble what you expected when you ordered the night before. I think even the waiters were having a laugh when they asked people on the next table ‘do you like Italian food?’ I think it was a bit tongue in cheek.

Agree about the bus mentioned by DNK. It left to go to Malcesine at 10 to the hour, every hour, so going for dinner at 19.00 meant that you missed the 19.50, leaving you the option of 20.50 or stay at the hotel. To be fair, the prices for a drink in the hotel were no different to in the town. A beer worked out at €4 for 0.4Ltr (or €10 a litre – and I thought petrol was expensive!). The hotel was pretty quiet at night, on one night at 21.30 we were sat on the veranda on our own.
The comment regarding no drinks in the room is obviously aimed at going out to buy beer or wine from the store nearby and drinking it in your room – not that you couldn’t take a drink from the bar to your room.

The grounds around the back of the hotel where the pool is, is very relaxing and well looked after.

We may well go back to Garda but will try another resort.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet at night, choose a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satriani100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#41 of 71 in Malcesine
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#58 of 71 in Malcesine
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Gardesana, 400, Localita Campagnola | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Astoria Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing