We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot and noisey, but pool great and food good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antonella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Antonella
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot and noisey, but pool great and food good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We booked 'lake view' which is very attractive, but also very noisey at night, especially from scooters. We had to close the one door (no window) to get any rest and then cooked! After first night asked for room fan which helped and was free.

Matresses a bit worn out and single pillow like brick.

Good points were the pool which was very well maintained together with pool furniture (always available) general cleanliness and food which was more than adequate for price. Previous comments about staff correct in as much as they find it difficult to communicate with British, but not a problem as helpful and willing to try.

Best value, view and eating experience in Malcesine is restaurant situated at half way point on Monte Baldo cable car (Locanda Monte Baldo). Just superb!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresmycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    20
    9
    0
See reviews for
14
77
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Bedroom with lovely lakeside balcony view, traffic noise slightly intrusive, very clean, friendly helpful staff, nice pool, reasonably priced drinks, 95% good food but Brits generally do not like lightly cooked red meat, nice roof terrace for evening drinks with lakeside views.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyMedium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at the H. Antonella from the 17th. May, 2009. The first thing we noticed was the friendliness and attentiveness of the Marchiotto family which owns and runs the Hotel and the Ristorante e Pizzeria da Gigi downstairs. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and our every need was catered for immediately. They all work so hard, that I wondered if they ever slept! The evening meals were a choice of beautifully cooked Italian food, produced by Sra. Marchiotto and her daughter (with advice from grandmother, who started the hotel in 1960), and we ate and enjoyed every morsel. Son Max - the bar-tender, waiter, computer whizz-kid and general factotum - even made time to make a printout of all the lake's fish, to satisfy my curiosity. Then there was 'Flipper', the family's friendly golden Labrador, who was very popular with the guests on the terrace after dinner, and would sit for ages to be petted. We loved him!
There was a lovely view of the lake from our room/balcony on the third floor and also a terrace, front and back on that floor from which we had views across to Limone and the Monte Baldo range at the rear. As usual, I hired a car (from Avis at Riva) so that we could explore the other towns and villages around the lake. and return to our favourite paradise, lovely, peaceful Lago di Ledro, up in the mountains to the N.W. of L.Garda. It can be reached only by road, preferably through the 4.3 km dead straight tunnel through the mountain above Riva - an experience in itself! Being about 2,000 ft. higher than L.Garda the temperature is always 5 or more degrees lower than Malcesine - when it's hot we always head for the mountains! Boy, was it hot! The temperature ranged from 25 degrees at the beginning of the week to 39 degrees on Saturday, when we took the car back to Riva, and had to trudge back from the ferry (about 10 min. even with a knee replacement and a dodgy heart between us). It was so wonderful to collapse into the air-conditioned coolness of the bar / dining room area with a cold drink! The main road outside the hotel is noisy, the only drawback, but you can watch the mad motor-cyclists cutting up the other traffic. The hotel and rooms have excellent double-glazing, but we daren't shut the door in that heat. If only there was air-conditioning in the rooms it would be perfect!
It was delightful to be looked after by a family, and we certainly didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We have just returned from the best holiday we have ever had, the Antonella is everything we could have wished for. The family/staff are warm ,welcoming and friendly. Our room overlooked the pool and was delightful with clean fresh decor, we had fresh soft towels daily and there was always lots of hot water for showers. Food is amazing, fresh,tasty,plenty of it and above all served with a smile. the hotel is 10 min walk from the town center which is just superb. We are both in our 60s, but ages of visitors was across the board. I cannot fault this delightful friendly happy place and thank the Marchiotto family for making us so very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbygirlClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely week's holiday in Malcesine, staying at the Antonella Hotel. It's a small hotel but with pool and roof-top terrace, a nice bar and best of all it's run by a charming family who couldn't do enough for our party. We booked courtesy of Newmarket Travel, who fly from regional airports, eliminating the need to go through the horrors of Gatwick and Heathrow.
Our room at the Antonella had a balcony overlooking the lake and the whole hotel was spotless and immaculate. The food was excellent and the family were so flexible in providing early breakfasts when we were off on trips. We really must extend our thanks to the lady owner who was always on hand and worked so hard, as did her son, who was always on hand to answer queries.
One night we had a festive meal after which we were treated to songs by the owner to accordian accompaniment. He had a beautiful voice, a genuine Italian Tenor.
Malcesine is gorgeous, just a short walk from the hotel along a promenade. The ferry operates every day making trips to other villages easy and pleasant, but Malcesine is so nice it's all too easy to just sit with a glass of wine and enjoy the scene. Can't wait to get back to the Antonella and Malcesine which I think is the prettiest village of all those around Lake Garda.

  • Liked — Situation, cleanliness, view, helpfulness of family
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonna Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Stayed at the Antonella on a last minute booking from topflight. I knew it was a three star hotel and had read reviews on Tripadvisor. Yes it is definitely a three star but makes up for it with a charm of its own. The owners/staff are friendly, efficent and very hard working. The food is fine, sure breakfast is typical continental and repetitive but you won't go hungry. Dinner was very nice but as there are so many lovely reasonably priced places to eat within a ten minute walk I would do B&B next time. The pool is grand with plenty of sunloungers and was not busy at all. Hotel was very clean. It is true that the road is noisy and I was dreading this as we live in the country, however it wasn't a problem as I tuned out to traffic noise and instead was blown away by the unbelievable views of the lake and mountains. My husband however did find it intrusive so if traffic noise bothers you this is really not the hotel for you. There are hotels like the DuLac and Excelsior bay which are actually on the Lake and if you get lakeview rooms these will be quiet. Melcesine is definitley the best resort to be in on the lake as a trip up Mount Baldo is fantastic and again a ten minute walk. It costs 17 Euro and the restaurant/bar at the top does good food at a fair price. It is just stunning to be at the top of such a high mountain. Try to get there early as mid morning the queues get long. Choose a clear morning and take a jacket we were in brilliant warm sunshine but I heard it can be chilly. Also try the ferry that runs around the lake from Melcesine takes you to Riva del Garda,Bardalino and Limone, you can buy a 15 Euro ticket and hope on and off between these places in a day. Great value. We hired a car and went to Venice for a day, it suited us to be able to come and go as we wished, I want to visit Venice again but off season when it will be quieter. The early morning there was especially lovely. By afternoon it was manic and I wanted out. You can buy food and drink much cheaper away from the main tourist areas in Venice, just buy away from the Grand canal and St Marks square. All in all a clean good value hotel in a great location. I would strongly recommend this holiday to couples and people who want to avoid egg and chips and bingo and instead want cocktails and people watching and stunning scenery.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Road noise and no air con
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Just been to this hotel for the third year running. Still as good as every. Lovely family , it has everything we want. and the location could not be better. Everyone is very friendly. The hotel is very clean too. Cannot fault it. We will be back there next year.

  • Liked — Location and Friendly Family
  • Disliked — Some of the balconies are not very private
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker58Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#18 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#10 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Serena
Hotel Casa Serena
#31 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#7 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#29 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antonella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antonella

Property: Hotel Antonella
Address: Via Gardesana 212, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antonella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antonella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonella Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Antonella Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing