We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Malcesine”
Review of Hotel Antonella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Antonella
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming Malcesine”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is well located for walking into Malcesine, and if you take the route by the lake rather than the main road, made a very pleasant stroll which took no more than 10 minutes. Malcesine is a charming and pretty resort, with plenty of shops and places to eat and drink. We visited a few resorts around the lake, and I definitely think we made a good choice in Malcesine, it is so pretty.

Our room itself, although a little small was extremely clean, which is much more important. I know it has been mentioned before on other reviews regarding the lack of air conditioning, and I can imagine it would be very stuffy in the height of summer, however, I slept very well.

We ate half board, and the food overall was of a good quality, if a little dull. It did seem a bit of a shame we were not eating in Malcesine and soaking up the atmosphere.

The best things about this hotel was the location, cleanliness, the view, and the pool which was nice to relax by after a day sightseeing.

PS. I discovered the best Amarena (cherry) ice cream sold just by the steps of the castle..mmmm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mintevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
19
84
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at the Antonella 9th to 16th June 2012, Hotel and rooms were kept immaculately clean. We had a lake view room with a stunning view. The hotel is situated on quite a busy road about a ten minute walk from the centre of Malcesine, but as others have stated there is a lakeside path which takes a little longer but is a beautiful walk.
Breakfast is served 8.00am to 9.30am and is a buffet style consisting of fruit, yogurt, breads, cold meat, cheese etc. with fruit juice, tea or coffee. Dinner is served from 7.00pm to 7.30pm and consists of four courses; the starter course (antipasto) is a salad buffet. 1st course (primo) usually has a choice of pasta, soup etc., 2nd course (secondo) is meat, poultry etc. finally a dessert course with various choices of cake, ice cream etc. We found the food to be of a good standard with generous portions. After dessert you order your meal for the following evening from a choice of three dishes for each course.
Generally, the hotel is run by a friendly and efficient staff. Food, excellent. Cleanliness, excellent. Service, excellent. Lack of air conditioning a great shame.

Top things to do:-

Trip up Mont Baldo on cable car (choose a clear day)
Ferry to Riva on market day
Cruise on two masted ketch the Siora Veronica

Room Tip: If it's going to be hot, forego the view and take a rear room, unless they have since installed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clogheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Not too big and very friendly and clean.Food excellent. The only fault worth mentioning is the lack of airconditioning or at least a fan in the room. No balcony .Thank you very much. We will certainly come again soon

Room Tip: ask for a balcony looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Spent a week half board in August at the Antonella. Room was a good size although like others have said, didn't have air con & it was pretty hot at night. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom fine.
The location of the hotel was good - just a wee walk into town although along a busy road. It was pretty flat too so would recommend for older people as quite a few of the hotels in Malcesine are on steep roads. Would recommend wearing light coloured clothes at night so as you are seen or take the route along the seafront for safety. You pass a little supermarket on the way into Malcesine from the hotel so you can pick up water etc there.
The pool area was great - nice pool and enough sunbeds for residents. It is quite a small pool so you have to hope that the other residents show consideration for others around the pool - which they didn't always do.
Don't worry on the first night when you may not have a choice of menu - we were worried that we had no idea what we would be served all week. At the end of the first night's meal you will get a menu for the following night to choose from - 3 starters - there's usually a pasta dish for a starter/3 mains - usually meat/fish/veggie dish/3 sweets - fruit etc plus every night you get to choose from a serve yourself salad bar. The food is more than passable & it took away that need for searching for a restaurant every night.
We did the Venice by night trip - great - really worthwhile and gives you plenty of time to see the city.
Also did Verona by public bus but that was disappointing as it took ages to get there at that time of year. Verona is worth a look though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank yvscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just returned from a week at The Antonella. Access via steps not a problem for us, but may not be so good for elderly visitors though there is a lift. All areas of the hotel very clean and well maintained. Rooms are very simple but functional. Beds are very firm and pillows are like bricks, but you sort of get used to them. Shower room fine. Plenty of hot water and nice soft bath towels, changed several times in the week. There is no air-con, which we surprisingly did not miss as the weather was very warm all week. Think a front facing room may have been more of a problem as in full sun. Our room (109) was on the side overlooking the lovely pool area. Only problem was that the pool has a constantly running cascade which is surprisingly noisy and for 2 nights of our stay, the hotel did not turn off the water supply, so it ran all night and we had sleepless nights. The hotel is not manned overnight after 11.30 so you could not ask anyone to resolve the problem. There was no noise problem at all when the water as turned off. We did not notice road or other guest noise at all. there is a safe in the room chafed at €5 for the week ( your set your own PIN code). Pool towels were available at €1 each per week. The pool area is great, lots of nice loungers, shower room and WC in pool area. Pool is not heated, but in hot weather it is nice and refreshing - again beautifully clean and well kept. There are 2 routes into Malcesine. The quickest along the road (quite busy and some parts no pavement) takes less than 10minutes to the town centre. The lake side route is lovely but takes a little longer and involves quite a few flights of stairs through a litle park/garden area. (you need to turn left from the hotel and walk along the road for a few minutes until you see a a gate in the wall across the road. There are quite a few cafes / restaurants along this stretch too if you don't want to go all the way to town. There is also a private run ferry that goes across to Limone for just €8 return.
Breakfast at The Antonella is served from 8 to 9:30. Simple continental style (nothing hot). Sliced meats and cheeses, breads, cakes and pastries. Lovely fresh fruit salad and creamy natural yoghurt and usual array of continental cereals. Weak fruit juices out of a chiller. Hot drinks from a machine that take ages to dispense so always a queue. Toaster was completely useless and only warmed the bread. But you sort or work round all that and make the most of the good bits which was nice enough. We were on a Half board deal, but we ate out every night, so I cannot comment on the food, but I have not doubt the other reviewers were correct about it being good. Personally we did not like the idea of a single mass sitting at 7pm and all the other guests were older people who all seemed to like to socialise, and I am afraid that is not our cup of tea. We enjoyed exploring Malcesines and finding restaurants in the winding back streets to make more of the evenings. Our favourite was called Mignon ( fantastic bruschetta and lovely pasta dishes.). All in all the hotel was a great base for our super holiday at Lake Garda. Better pillows would have improved the stay considerably...but I guess that is a minor detail.

Room Tip: In summer, probably avoid room at the front due to lack of air conditioning, but if the view is ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MumbyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went to malcesine with newmarket holidays sept 18th and 2 days before we travelled we were told they had overbooked and our chosen hotel was full so we went to antonella by default. The reviews were great so I was optimistic. The room was okay, clean but basic but the hotel is situated on a busy highway and a lakeside room came with the traffic noise which kept me awake all night.
You couldnt open the window for the noise and the room was humid as no air con.so poor sleep quality, the neighbours could be heard snoring through the wall and even using the bathroom! The walls were so thin!
The balconies had absolutely no privacy.( see photos) The hotel was situated up a steep hill 10-15 mins from town centre and for first 3 days we walked on the road which had no pavement before we discovered you could cross over the road and climb down some steps and walk along the lakeside instead.
Breakfast was continental, hams, cheeses, fresh bread rolls and cereals with chopped fruits. there was a toaster of sorts but it took forever to toast the bread and you burned your fingers getting the toast out of the metal contraption.! You then completed a menu tick box to choose your evening meal for the following day.
Weird and wonderful choices (semolina soup?) there was a help yourself salad bar and then a starter of soups (delicious!) pasta etc followed by a main course of meat which was saturated in sauce and two potatoes and cabbage... and a mousse type dessert or apple pie. To be fair it was okay, but not alot on the plate. Half a carafe of wine was 5 euros .
The other guests were all british and the holiday was mainly over 50's.
On the plus side, the shower was always hot, the towels changed often,Max the son of the owners was pleasant and it could have been worse. A coffee though was 2.5 euros and the Italians dont cater for the british by allowing kettles in the rooms. Malcesine is stunning, the pool area of the hotel was very relaxing.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are noisy and some have a big olive tree blocking the view so if you want a lakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DorsetSusiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My Husband I and stayed here on the last week in August.
Everything good, the pool is very nice. Inghams are a very good tour operator to travel to malceisne with, the reps very approachable , welcome tour a must for an overview and tips on where to eat etc (if you have any room left from all the food you are given in the Hotel!)
Lake Garda is Fantastic and the Antonella very well placed.
Yes the road outside is a bit noisy but as townies didnt bother us. just be careful as is busy.
The staff very nice in the Hotel, would definatly go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mareEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Casa Popi
Hotel Garni Casa Popi
#32 of 71 in Malcesine
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#30 of 71 in Malcesine
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vacanze 2000
Hotel Vacanze 2000
#10 of 71 in Malcesine
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#21 of 71 in Malcesine
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antonella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antonella

Property: Hotel Antonella
Address: Via Gardesana 212, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antonella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antonella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonella Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Antonella Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing