We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My fiancee (now my wife!) and I spent a week at the hotel prior to and immediately after our wedding in Malcesine. I can honestly say that for us the experience we had at the hotel was the finest we have received anywhere in the world. It was the first time I have been greeted at a hotel reception by an extremely polite, good humoured and attentive concierge by my name before I had approached the desk! The entire staff were attentive, professional and discrete making the whole experience relaxing and enjoyable. The room (we stayed in 304) had the most breathtaking view of the lake and surrounding mountains; sitting on the balcony looking at the spectacular scenery one could feel the pressures of work melt away.
The meals were also first rate with an expansive breakfast (omelets made to order) setting you up for the days activities. Relaxing in the grounds on the sun loungers or in the bar and restaurant with dedicated and friendly staff is the striking memory I will take away with me from this stay. Both my wife and I are already looking forward to returning next year! Well done all at the Castello.

David John Oakley

Room Tip: ANy west facing room looks directly onto the lake and mountains beyond, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    81
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
135
509
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friends recommended this hotel, we had a comfortable and relaxing stay. Good location, comfortable room with A view of the lake. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant was very pleasant and reasonably priced. Would not hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: Worth getting a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne9837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and myself stayed in Hotel Castello Lake Front for two nights in July 2014. The location is beautiful and we had a lovely room obverlooking the lake with a balcony. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel was really comfortable and spotless.

John, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

In July 2011 we were staying in Malcesine on a bed & breakfast basis, and one evening dined in the Hotel Castello’s “Al Bacio” restaurant .

After enjoying the whole experience so much, we vowed we would return at some time in the future and actually stay in the hotel. Well, this was the year we finally managed to get ourselves organised to do so.

Would it live up to our expectations, we wondered, with nervous anticipation? Well I think it would be fair to say - it actually surpassed them!

Despite delays related to French Air Traffic Control disputes, our airport transfer from Verona - organised by the hotel - worked smoothly, and we arrived to a very warm welcome and just in time for dinner, after depositing our bags in our spotless room.

We decided on the half board option, on the basis of our previous positive experiences and we were not disappointed. Every evening we had delicious five course meals, and it was always an enjoyable challenge to decide what to order from the choices available for the next day’s dinner.

There are many nice restaurants in Malcesine, and having stayed in other hotels on a B&B basis on other occasions, we have eaten in many of them. But “Al Bacio” is the best for ambience & atmosphere, good food and value for money. Breakfast too, was first class with plenty of choice including omelettes and fried eggs made to order.

The hotel is a friendly, family run establishment and from our point of view, just the right size (about 30 rooms) so that the staff quickly got to know you. They even tolerated my wife’s attempts to practise the Italian she has been learning, when it would probably have been easier for them to communicate in English!

It is ideally situated on the lake front below the castle, and what an amazing view over the lake we had. It was a real pleasure to sit on the balcony of our room and watch the world go by.

We chose an energy room which was perfectly adequate for the two of us and had a shower room about the size of an ensuite bathroom at home. Soap & shower gel were provided, you need to bring your own shampoo and moisturiser.

I did find Lake Garda a tad cold for swimming, and I have been regularly frozen from early childhood on the beaches of North East England. We preferred going in the hotel’s whirlpool hot tub.

From our perspective Malcesine is the jewel in the crown of Lake Garda, and a great place to stay for tourists. This time we managed to get the cable car up Monte Baldo on a really clear day and the views were fantastic. And we enjoyed some walks between towns – Torbole to Riva, and Garda to Bardolino, after using the lake ferries. The “Welcome “ cards supplied by the hotel ensured we received discounts on the ticket prices
.
I noticed an increase in impromptu music on the cobbled streets of the old town compared with previous visits, with violins, acoustic guitars, blues duos etc all entertaining the public . More formally we went to a very entertaining “ Best of the Arias” Opera concert in the Castle theatre.

A really enjoyable stay which was perhaps summed up by Mr Treccani kindly helping my wife with her case up the Via Paina when we were leaving for our Airport transfer from the bus station.
This hotel is a gem, you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our second trip to Hotel Castello, as we previously visited in 2007 for our honeymoon. We had such a good time last time that we were not sure that we would be disappointed by returning, We most certainly was not disappointed, Matteo and his family welcomed us like old friends and there had been lots of tiny little improvements that only added to our break.

All of the staff are lovely, food terrific, and Malcesine is a great town.

I have recommended this hotel to everyone I know as it mixes a great hotel with a personal experience, nothing is to much trouble, and I will be returning soon.

Sarah and David Tysall

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed two nights as part of a touring holiday and found the hotel to be in a very good location within Malcesine - right next to the lake and historic centre of the town.

The room was clean and serviceable with great views of the lake. Nice private "beach" area with sun loungers and very friendly staff. We didn't have dinner at the hotel as there were plenty of nearby restaurants but the breakfast selection was very good.

We found Lake Garda a little too commercialised when compared with Lake Como, but that's just our personal taste. Malcesine was a busy little town with a "holiday resort" feel - nice for an evening wander through the cobbled streets.

Room Tip: Lake view but not sure if there are any without?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife Deborah and I, have just arrived home from an eight night stay at this wonderfully classy hotel. The location is perfect, very close to the heart of the charming old centre of Malcesine, yet in an idyllic peaceful lakeside location. We stayed in a "Dynamic room" which was attractive, comfortable, large, spotlessly clean and had a spacious balcony overlooking Lake Garda with great views to Limone and the mountains on the other side of the lake. At night with the windows open, the only sound we could hear was the lake lapping at the shore.

The Scaligero Castle towers impressively above the Hotel and can be appreciated from the fabulous terrace bar restaurant area and the immaculate private beach below.

Breakfast was a real treat with a great array of options including a fantastic Omelette bar and even a quality Spumante!

We dined at the Hotel Restaurant, Al Bacio, several times and we can highly recommend it. It really does deserve the praise it gets on the review websites.

The staff at the Hotel are very friendly and were happy to provide assistance and information to enhance our stay.
I can recommend this luxurious romantic hotel whole heartedly.

Many thanks to the Treccani family!

Alan & Debbie Ramsay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Property: Hotel Castello Lake Front
Address: Via Paina 21, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Green Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello Lake Front 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing