We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cornwall
2 reviews
“Top class hotel in a stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The most enjoyable part of our Lake Garda holiday was Malcesine and the Hotel Castello, with its amazing beach front location and views that took your breath away. The family run hotel was spotlessly clean, full of character, with friendly and efficient staff. Each evening we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks and cocktails in the lounge, delicious food and wine in the restaurant... and the breakfasts were fantastic too!! During the day we enjoyed exploring the beautiful cobbled streets and cafes of Maclesine, ascending the mountain in a cable car - a must do with stunning vistas and walks at the top, visiting the castle and taking a boat trip across the lake. If you are planning a trip to Lake Garda I would highly recommend stopping at Hotel Castello and Malcesine for a few nights it was certainly the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms with a lake view and the views both day and night were breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    78
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
131
494
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Perfect lakeside location. Accommodation of a high standard. Rooms spotlessly clean. A dedicated team of staff go out of their way to be helpful Together with a clear pride in the hotel and attention to detail ensures guests have an enjoyable stay.
Food wine and service in Al Bacio restaurant was excellent and the breakfast spread was of a superior quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORoieley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place, having own beach and located right next to the lake under old castle, you cannot choose better venue. Breakfast is great with assortment of fresh fruit, egg station and champagne, we had dinner there as well and it was very tasty, the service extremely quick and the view makes your dinner very romantic.
Old town is just behind the corner, we were lucky to get to a public concert outside in the central square under the trees. Nice shops, great restaurants around.
The road to Malchesine if you travel over the hill is great along olive trees, would recommend that way, a bit longer than along the lake but the views are difinately worth seeing:)
Would be happy to return

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here recently for our wedding. It was lovely, a great location although the hill up to the centre of the village was a bit steep for some of our wedding party. The family were lovely and very helpful. Our room was a bit basic but we didn't pay any supplements so that was to be expected. Over all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently spent 7 days in a suite at castello for our sons wedding . Suite fabulous complete with welcome bouquet of flowers, very high standard indeed. Staff excellent informative and helpful, breakfast great , sadly didn't get to eat in restaurant as busy but food looked fabulous . Situation of hotel incredible as literally on lake front, will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our small wedding party of 5 stayed at the Hotel Castello in early September. From the minute we arrived late on the Saturday night (the electric gate to the car park opened as we pulled up) to the day we left a week later (having left the fully packed car in the car park for the day whilst we took a ferry ride before going to the airport) the family and staff went out of their way to ensure we were all taken care of.

My husband and I had a suite on the top (3rd) floor which was superb. The balcony was big enough for 2 loungers as well as chairs so on hot, sunny days we occasionally took in the amazing view over the lake. Our witnesses had a premium deluxe room on the 2nd floor, which was the top for that part of the hotel, and we would definitely request that room on a return visit given the suite was only for this one off special occasion. The toiletries in the bathroom were always restocked every day, the bathrobes provided were big and comfortable and the flip flops instead of slippers made a pleasant and very useful change. The bed was always turned down each night and a chocolate covered coffee bean on the pillow. I make comment of these touches as the 4 star hotel we moved on to in Lake Como provided none of these extras and was more expensive that the premium deluxe room occupied by our witnesses.

We did not opt for the half board option as we like to try different restaurants but did eat in the hotel restaurant on 2 evening occasions and one lunchtime. The food was excellent and very reasonable in comparison to some of the restaurants we did visit. The breakfast choices were vast but as I had a dress I needed to fit into I was unable to make the most of what was on offer. The same cannot be said for the others and I watched enviously each day as they tucked into cold meats/cheese, omelettes and chocolate crepes. However, a couple of nights before the wedding the guys had the tiramisu and I had small taste. It was devine and I joked about having one for breakfast the day after the wedding. When I joined the others that Friday morning there was the tiramisu waiting!

I could go on but all that needs to be said is the family and staff really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and ensure you are enjoying your stay. There was a bottle of Prosecco in our room on arrival and we had a beautiful bouquet of flowers delivered the day before the wedding. The hotel is in an excellent location near enough to the town without being in the centre. The gardens open up to the lake edge where you can swim. I would suggest taking some waterproof shoes to swim in as this is not a sandy beach but pebbles which are hard on the feet. The previously mentioned flip flops are great for the garden area but not suitable to walk in and out of the lake. The hill is a little steep walking up but is short enough and allows for the consumption of the wonderful Italian ice cream. The rooms are superb based on what I saw e.g. suite, a premium deluxe and a deluxe.

Book early to avoid disappointment. Return visitors, of which we hope to be a part, mean this hotel is very busy and gets booked up quickly.

Marco - good luck with the marathon!

Room Tip: Room 210 was the premium deluxe and had 2 small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent a wonderful week here in this wonderful family-run hotel in the charming little town on Lake Garda. It is very central but tucked away from all the crowds. Excellent restaurant and most attentive staff. Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Property: Hotel Castello Lake Front
Address: Via Paina 21, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Green Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello Lake Front 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing