We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Castello. We run a business ourselves and are well aware of the difficulties of dealing with the general public but we were so impressed with the overall customer care of this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff from the owners, reception, bar staff and cleaners. The position of the hotel was as good as it could possibly be with a beautiful terrace overlooking the lake for after dinner drinks. The half board option is wonderful value and the food is as good as many high priced restaurants. We had a superior room overlooking the lake which was a pleasure to come back to every night. The only fault we could find was that the hotel was very difficult to leave! Loved it.

Room Tip: The view is to die for so it's worth paying extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    82
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
144
542
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Following the excellent reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor, I took the time to email the reception and request rates, as the booking form on their website was not working.

I received a response to explain that they had a Superior room available for the first 6 nights of my stay and I would have to move to a Classic room for the final night.

Because of the upheaval of moving rooms on the last night of a holiday, I requested a discount via email (in a very nice manner).

The response I received was curt and rude. It was simply this "....No". Absolutely nothing else in the email whatsoever.

Upon thanking them for the speedy, yet curt response, I received another email simply saying "....see you :)". I feel this to be a very sarcastic and un-called for email.

I don't know about you - but I would not consider staying at or recommending a hotel with staff that can be so rude to potential customers. I would not stay here at half the price of the tariff or even if someone paid me to do so. Imagine how rude they may be in person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazukiNakajima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
.... and here we go again ...
we are curious to know why among the many reviews received, none of the people, who wrote the nasty ones, have EVER stayed, received a service or even seen with their own eyes our hotel. Mania?
They consider us rude, unprofessional, etc. .. also in front of about 300 positive reviews from guests who have stayed with us and that judge us excellent? A case or a deliberate fraud?
However, to keep faith our reputation we wish to respond to this criticism: since when answering "no" to an inappropriate or pretentious request has become synonymous to rudeness?
After an extensive correspondence and a subsequent explicit request for a big discount (30%) are we not hosts in our own house to refuse? By now we are all hostages of possible reviewers that with techniques like “mafia” try to ask for impossible things. We run the necessary risks but we always apply consciousness our policy: not to keep prices high and then discount, but to offer the guest (and all in the same way) the best possible rates for the requested period.
We welcome any constructive criticism because we know that improvement is always possible but we would prefer to receive them by those who have actually evaluated our home and our service.

PS the booking engine on our website is open 24 hours and it works great: certainly can’t show rooms available if we do not have on the dates request. Of course, in the case of rooms available, it provides the BEST possible RATE you can find all over the web .... we guarantee it personally!

PPS from Wikipedia: A happy face, smiling face, smiley, or :) is a stylized representation of a smiling humanoid face, commonly occurring in popular culture and it means happiness ... definitely not sarcasm, but we know that everyone interprets things as make him more convenient

Matteo :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We both enjoyed our stay at Hotel Castello for the 3 nights and the hotel management made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay from the first instance!!
The staff were also excellent in serving our drinks and food when needed, both drinks and food were of very good taste and they served to make sure we had a wonderful time, with added extras they had decking chairs, sun beds and the lake water to swim or paddle, also not to forget to add the wonderful scenery on a very warm day and evening.
Recommendation to go again in the near future, is must go again!!
Paul & Janet Merrifield

Room Tip: Room with balcony best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a wonderful family, staff, hotel, and view! We so enjoyed our one week stay and would return again. We had a suite with a view of not only the lake, but of the castle where my son and daughter-in-law were married. I can not speak highly enough of our experience. We recommend this hotel to everyone. We are looking forward to our return. Presto! Grazie!

Room Tip: Suite with a view of the lake and the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Castello in may for our wedding week!! We chose the suite and would so everytime if money was no object, truely worth it for special occasions!! It was absolutely wonderful, the location, staff, food and cleanliness were A*. We had a number of guest staying with us from the age of 30 up to 87 and everyone couldn't thank us enough for booking this hotel! We can't wait to return and stay agian!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coalzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A big thank you to Hotel Castello Malcesine.
After a" not so welcome" welcome at Hotel Du lac ( see review) where we had originally booked for 8 days, my husband and I were fortunate enough to be able to get a room at Hotel Castello for the remaining 7 days. What a difference a welcome makes! 
"we are at your complete disposal for any particular requests or dietary needs" are not just words in Hotel Castello's welcome book. 
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and family of this hotel. 
When enquiring about the availability of a room,  Marco apologized and stated he had only one room left, "would we like to look before we booked as it was small and on the bottom floor". The room was lovely in spite of being on the smallish side, had its own little balcony area and opened onto a beautiful little garden right next to the lake. 
We  booked the room right away. When we arrived with our luggage (right at the front door) we were welcomed  by Marco and Francesca. Francesca gave us a complete overview of the hotel and Malcesine  and a discount brochure for various tourist activities in the area. We were then helped with our luggage to our room and " left to settle in". 
During our stay nothing was too much trouble, Francesca, the hotel receptionist, was an absolute delight -she had a fountain of knowledge on the area and assisted us with various travel plans. The hotel sits at the base of Scaligero Castle,  is very close to the centre of town and all the wonderful little shops, restaurants and eateries and easy walking distance to the chair lift up to Mt Baldo.  We spent an idyllic 7 days wandering the lake side, visiting little villages which are all accessible by the ferry, car or bus ( just remember the bus runs on Malcesine time).
We ate at several different places and really enjoyed every meal, be it from the local pizza bar to lake front restaurants. One of the nicest restaurants was at Hotel Castello- al Bacio.  The meals and service could not be faulted and the view over the lake is one of the best in town.
Thank you to the Treccani family, Francesca and all the staff at Hotel Castello for making our stay a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the lake would be wonderful but all have easy access to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 7, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow Bucks England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Castello for four nights in May.

This was our 7th trip to the Italian Lakes and the 4th to Lake Garda and we both agree that Malcesine is the best town we have stayed in. So much character and dozens of great restaurants and bars.

Hotel Castello was an inspired choice. From arrival to leaving nothing could be faulted. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service from the family run establishment and all staff excellent. The room, although not large, was well appointed and had a great lake view. Housekeeping was spot on.

The hotel restaurant is very good indeed - we ate there first night and would have done so again if there had not been so many good restaurants in the town. Breakfast is very good. Fresh eggs and omelettes on request from the egg bar and loads of fresh fruit/cheese/meats/bread. Great view of the lake as well. Very very good and the best we have experienced in many trips to Italy.

The position of the hotel is perfect - just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the town.

All in all a truly excellent hotel which is very well run by a truly excellent staff team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilofMarlow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, March 7, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.3 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
576 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
312 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
602 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Property: Hotel Castello Lake Front
Address: Via Paina 21, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Green Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello Lake Front 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing