We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Malcesine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I visited Malcesine for 3 days for a friends wedding.
After a lot of research online we decided to stay at Hotel Castello since it actually looked the nicest out of all the hotels in the area, we were not disappointed, perfect location, very homely and everybody at the hotel was very welcoming. The food in the hotel was great. If we came back to this area again we would definitely stay at the Hotel Castello.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 826 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in late October with my boyfriend for one night and was very pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome upon arrival to the hotel, giving us recommendations for dinner options as we arrived late at night.

The room was well furnished and comfortable with a fantastic view of the lake and castle. Waking up to the sound of the waves from Lake Garda was very relaxing. The hotel breakfast is of a very good quality and there was a good selection of food on offer.

In terms of location, the hotel is in a fantastic spot, close to the bus station and next to the Old Town and castle with the property backing onto the lake itself. Very good value and would recommend staying here if you are visiting Malcesine

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel Castello has a great location right on the lake and within easy walking distance to the castle and the winding medieval alleyways of the old town of Malcesine. We were there in late October so, as we expected, the hotel was not very full. We asked for a room with a view of the lake on a high floor and were told that we had been assigned a first floor room (room 106) with a view of the water and the castle. The room was very small and faced the restaurant. The only way to see the water or castle was to go out on the balcony and look to the side. We pointed this out and asked if we could pay more to move to room 108 right next to the lake but were told that it wasn't being rented, No other room was offered as an alternative so it was clear we would stay in 106 or lose our deposit. Breakfast was good with a cappucino machine and fresh made omelets as well as the usual assortment of pastries, cold meats, and cheeses. And, the front desk said we could leave our car in the parking lot past the 10 am (doesn't that seem a little early) check out time. Perhaps the contrast in room, service, and view was so stark because of our stay the following two nights at delightful I Due Roccoli in Iseo (see review). I wonder if their unwillingness to offer us a better room may be based on reserving the room through booking.com since more than one hotel has commented that they get less when guests book through them instead of directly. Has anyone else had that experience?

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms with a ¨view¨ don't really have one. Room 108 was right on the water and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Owner at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We take a cue, from this kind review, to a general consideration on bookings made via internet through travel agencies portals.
The trend seems to be to book, between the various rooms for sale, one in the base class, then expecting a free upgrade from the hotelier: In case this does not happen, the guest feels "dissatisfied". In particular, Mr. X has privileged the choice of a Superior Room at the expense of a Junior Suite which would have had a much better view and comfort.
We point out that even at the end of October our hotel, thanks to a numerous frequent guests, has an excellent room occupancy but it 's possible that some customers who stays only a night may not have the perception (in October most of our guests leave in the morning and came back in the evening since the season suited to excursions and cultural tourism).
Finally we rebranded that if one of our guests want to spend more to get a better room than previously booked, if available, we are always happy to satisfy it!

Saluti Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Castello offered us a very good place to stay at our five days holiday in Malcesine.
Staff was very helpfull and professional. Hotels restaurants was one of best we found in Malcesine.
Breakfast vas very good. We liked also the exiting combination of warm jacuzzi and cool lake Garda.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reijo_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I got married on the 6 th of October and most of the wedding party and some of the guests stayed at the Hotel Castello for 4 nights.

Location

We arrived in the evening and so it was dark - the following morning when we opened the curtains we were literally speechless at the view - absolutely stunning. The Castello is right on the lake and pretty much next door to the castle. You will not get a better location for a hotel in Malcesine.

Rooms

We stayed in a junior suite which was lovely - large room and large bathroom although there was only a shower and no bath. We had a large balcony that had a couple of chairs and loungers on it. I also saw the superior rooms and these were also to a high standard with great views. Be warned - there are no irons in the room if you need anything pressed you will need to get the hotel to do it at a small cost.

Service

This is where the Castello excelled. As I said before we were there with a rather large wedding party and I have to say most of the wedding party were " merry" most nights to say the least... I have to say that there was some drunken behaviour (not from me I might add! :-) ) and although it was all in good spirits it was rather loud at some points. The two brothers that run the hotel were very patient and courteous and good natured with all of our guests even when they were a little boisterous! This was very much appreciated and just shows how important good customer service is to them. On the evening after my wedding we came back to our room to see a beautiful bunch of flowers from the family that run the hotel - a very nice touch.

Food

We went half board - definitely worth it. For only an extra 10 euros per person you get your breakfast and an evening meal. The evening meal is not a buffet - it's a la carte with a choice of meat and fish with pasta and salad. The food is beautiful and amazing value - you get 4 courses for 10 euros!


Marco and Matteo - thank you for looking after all of us (and our guests!) and for making our wedding weekend so special - we cannot thank you enough :-)

Vicky and Steven

Room Tip: Junior Suite beautiful room and really good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seamuscoolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel with good standard, close to the Garda lake (private beach),
Wi-Fi in room, private car parking, clean rooms, very good service.
Good breakfast and excelent dinners. Stay in Hotel Castello worth recomendation and the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Castello Is located on the banks of the lake and has unrestricted views over the lake to the mountainous backdrop.The rooms as well as the dining area all share this excellent scenery.The rooms are to a high standard which has a daily maid service.My wife and I have stayed and dined in top end establishments all over the world so this is an easy review to write, we could not have had a better hotel to stay in for our first visit to Italy.This family run hotel has got it right from the attentive and relaxed way they conduct the day to day running of this beautiful hotel.Food is first class and wine selection extensive.The Attention to detail and friendly staff impress.Location is five minutes walk from the castle and around ten to the Harbour area with the many eateries to enjoy whilst out for a stroll.Mr & Mrs G.Bennie 10/10

Room Tip: High floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Address: Via Paina 21, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Green Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $191 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello Lake Front 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing