We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in beautiful Malcesine”
Review of Hotel Malcesine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malcesine
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had already booked our holiday in this hotel when we read some of the dreadful reviews given in trip advisor. They filled us with dread as to what our holiday would be like. We have just come back from two weeks of complete happiness and relaxation. The hotel is very clean - sheets were changed every two days and towels daily. The staff in the restaurant could not have been more friendly and helpful. If you don't like Italian food, don't go to Italy. We found the food to be very acceptable and the portions were very generous. The bedroom furniture may be old fashioned but it is perfectly functional.The location is superb, right on the lake side and 100 metres from the centre of town. Malcesine is a very beautiful place and when we go there again, we will definitely stay at Hotel Malcesine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed the last week in june 13. Restaurant staff first class .Bar and outside staff spent more time moving and repositioning tables,putting out condiments then putting them away again, too busy to serve customers and guests. Good bar staff could double their takings. Menu,for guests-Antipasto good the rest below par for this type of hotel , IN short too many staff , most of the service given by a few .

Room Tip: Take your own needle and cotton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better, right on the lake front, and the building itself is comfortable and pleasant. But an unpleasant experience would prevent us from ever going there again. When we checked in, as is usual, the desk clerk took our passports, stating clearly that we could pick them up later that afternoon. When we went to do so, another clerk was on the desk, and she refused to return our passports until our hotel bill was paid in full. This was in direct contradiction to what the first clerk had told us. After some time discussing the problem, the new clerk came up with the statement that it was customary for them to require payment in full at check-in, a policy we have never encountered in almost fifty years of travel in Europe and over three years of permanent residence in Italy. In fact, I cannot help wondering whether it is even legal to hold US passports as collateral in this way, especially since no pre-payment policy was mentioned in any of the online or printed documents we received. Had we been informed of the policy in advance, we would have been prepared to pay. As it was, we had to leave the hotel and go in search of an ATM before we could get our passports. This is especially serious since I have serious medical issues that making walking around without a passport as positive ID unwise and possible dangerous to my health. Incidentally, the clerk who promised us our passports earlier was present and heard the entire situation but did nothing to help. We expect better treatment that this at any hotel. We are sad to have been made to feel unwelcome at the Hotel Malcesine, but we simply cannot consider returning, even though we do visit the lovely town of Malcesine regularly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florencelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having booked our trip to the Hotel Malcesine before we checked TripAdvisor, we were quite horrified at some of the comments left by others and eventually dreaded going on the Holiday, especially as we had booked through Newmarket Holidays and the worst reviews were from people who booked with them!
As it happened, we found a lot of the comments to be unfounded based on our personal experience.
There were remarks about getting to the hotel at midnight and finding no food, but when we went on the same trip we arrived at about 10:30 and there was a hot meal waiting for us.
There were complaints that the staff were rude and unhelpful, but we found the exact opposite.
Some people complained about the food and the fact that you were consigned to a table with the same people for each meal, this has been our experience on each of the 7 occasions we have visited Italy, that is just the way they do it out there. Someone stated the food was inedible, whilst they certainly won't get a Michelin star, I would not say it was inedible, though I would say it was the low point of the holiday and we did end up eating out some nights.
There were others who said the furniture was old, again that 'classic style' is typical of Italian hotels.
Some people complained about not having air conditioning in their rooms, this again is far from unusual in Italy and is something you just have to accept, plus despite temperatures being in the high 20s during the day, we didn't find this an issue.
What I would say is important is that the whole place was spotlessly clean, it was comfortable, the staff could not have been more helpful and the location is 2nd to none, right on the lake front and smack in the best part of Malcesine.
We did suffer the 'side lake view' room where you actually get a tree view rather than a lake view for the first night, but boy did they make up for it on the 2nd night with a room which had French doors leading on to a large, albeit shared, sun terrace and looked directly onto the lake. It isn't clear whether the hotel was at fault since they say a side lake view was requested by the tour operator, whilst the tour operator claims the hotel was to blame.
All in all this was a very successful holiday which I would gladly repeat.
One tip for anyone going there, don't accept room 308 as that is the room with the view of a tree. If you are offered room 104, snatch their hands off!

Room Tip: 104 or the rooms either side are great. Avoid 308 unless you like trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent location and the staff were very helpful at all times, will stay at this hotel next time . we were on half board and the breakfast choice was great and the evening meal was ok.

Hotel very clean with fresh sheets and towels every day, rooms are basic but not in them for long.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights here with my mother. Beautiful location with a terrace overlooking the lake. The weather was pretty rotten during our stay and the staff made us feel welcome making use of the lounge. We could sit inside admiring the lake and mountain views outside.
The rooms and facilities are very traditional but comfortable.
The receptionist was extremely helpful and we felt she would do anything for us.
If travelling to Verona airport ring the hotel and they'll organise a transfer with discount.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#33 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#45 of 71 in Malcesine
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malcesine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malcesine

Address: Piazza Pallone 4, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: $89 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malcesine 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malcesine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Malcesine Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing