We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Piccolo, which we were recommended by friends. We were warmly welcomed by Maria, who, as per previous reviews, speaks excellent English and is ever helpful. We had booked a 'confort' room which has a balcony and wonderful views of the lake, I would imagine it had been recently refurbished as it was modern, stylish and spotless. (Excellently cleaned daily while we ate breakfast!) The room rate included A/C 'at the discretion of the management' which meant from about 5 p.m to 1 a.m. I was well aware of this in advance and could have chosen to pay the extra to have the A/C available all the time but chose to save the money (only regretted this a bit twice in the middle of very hot nights!!). We obtained a free Wifi code from reception, which should have only worked in the public rooms and restaurant balcony, but as we were right next door in room 9 worked just fine from our room!
The breakfast was good and was refilled as necessary as far as I could see ( we weren't particularly early!). We also ate dinner in the hotel on two occasions, as other people have mentioned this does have to booked earlier in the day, however the food was excellent and very good value at 15 euros for 3 courses. By the way drinks are also reasonably priced, in fact cheaper than most restaurants we ate out at when visiting other resorts. Cold drinks (both alcoholic and other) and coffees, teas also snacks (bruschetta, paninis etc.) are available throughout the day from the bar, perhaps this could have been mentioned at check in as we didn't realise this until about day 5! To be fair, we did travel about quite a bit, perhaps if we'd been hanging around the hotel more in the daytime it would have been obvious. We used the pool area (only one other couple there ... had other residents found it?) It is small but clean with good sunbeds and wonderful views of the lake. You can also sunbathe on hotel sunbeds down by the lake, yes it is across the road but only a very short distance. Also the hotel is 45 minutes walk from town, which is along a safe and scenic path, but again knew this in advance and was happy with it and when we were just too hot (or in my case lazy!) to do it , the hourly bus was fine! By the way if you're intending to take the cable car up to Monte Baldo, if you stay on the bus, after It stops in central Malcesine, one of the other stops is right outside the cable car entrance.
To summarise; Great time had, absolutely no complaints, would love to return!!

Room Tip: Go for 'Confort' room or above, to ensure wonderful views of lake and A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiJoRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been left somewhat confused by some of the reviews I have read about the hotel, particularly those which criticise the owners/management.

Maria, I believe the daughter of the owners, was one of the most helpful hoteliers I have ever dealt with. I was in touch with her before our stay via email during which she sent me pictures of the suite in which we would stay and the surrounding views. She also arranged our transfers.

Maria spoke very good English and was always on hand with directions/help with anything we needed. She printed bus timetables and price lists for theme parks off for us and even put us in touch with a reasonably priced boat hire company. Our poor Italian lead us to buy 12 litres of fizzy water instead of still water from a supermarket in Malcescine by mistake - Within half an hour Maria had changed the fizzy water for us! I really felt as though she had gone out of her way during our whole week’s stay. When I read the views about her being ignorant and rude I can only assume that these people have mistaken her with a different person!? When checking out we were overcharged. This was as much my error as the hotel’s as they had forgotten to deduct my deposit from the final amount. I hadn’t even touched down in England when I checked my emails…. One from Maria apologising for the mistake and refunding me immediately! Im sure some travellers would not have noticed, and some hotels would not have been so honest!

We forgot to pack our own beach towels and within 5 minutes of us arriving, a maid delivered two nicely laundered ones to our room. Whilst on the subject of the maids- they somehow managed to clean our room every day whilst we were at breakfast, thus not interrupting our sleep or entering our room while we were there. Luck, or good management!?

Our suite was large, clean and modern. The balcony was huge and had a great view of the lake. The swimming pool area was clean and quiet. The hotel have their own private beach right on the lake which was beautiful and clean and equipped with plenty of sun loungers.

There was always a good choice of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, yoghurts and fresh juices and coffee for breakfast. We were never hungry!

The location is perfect, the most beautiful part of the lake in my opinion. Around a 20 minute walk to the centre of Malcesine which is fine is you enjoy walking. If not, there is a tourist bus which leaves from directly outside the hotel every hour and returns every hour too. It only takes around 10 minutes on this bus and 1euro to get into town.

The owners did not speak great English but to us this didn’t matter. We were staying in Italy for the culture! They were polite, helpful and hospitable.

All in all, the hotel was well positioned, clean, modern and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: If you want air con, choose a room with one... dont moan about it afterwards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms were clean. Owners couldn't speak English though. The main disappointment for us was that we had travelled all day and wanted to chill out in the hotel. We had checked in at 7pm and asked to have some dinner.. The owner told us (via the receptionist who translated), that we couldn't get any food in the hotel because we needed to book in around breakfast time?!
They would not help at all but gave us names of local restaurants within walking distance .
We walked to the local sailing club and this was fantastic! We would recommend eating here with great views over the lake.
Back to the hotel.. The pool would have been lovely but it wasn't cleaned within 4 days we were there, so it had floating bugs and flies. If you don't mind this..then all great.
Location is ok apart from having to cross a main road to get to the lake..or get to anywhere.
It's a budget hotel. What you pay for is what you get!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over looking the lake. Yes we had the view.. But only when we stood up looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently spent an eight night stay at the Piccolo Hotel and was fully satisfied with my stay. We had a lakeside view room (which is recommended to ask for when booking) and the view was spectacular.
We were bed and breakfast and whilst the breakfast is unspectacular it serves a purpose and offers a decent variety.
The location of the hotel might put some people off as it is not in the centre of Malcesine and is a 45 minute walk, but this is a blessing in disguise. If you take the path via the lakeside to the town centre it provides great scenery and the amount of pizza and pasta you're going to eat, you'll need the exercise! There is also the option of the tourist bus which stops right outside the hotel and costs One Euro one way and runs hourly.
On previous reviews I noticed some people made remarks about the staff and was slightly concerned with this. However, during our stay I found the staff of the hotel to very warm and friendly and more than accomodating.
Anyone visiting Malcesine should seriously consider this hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibaldwin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When reading the reviews before booking this hotel the only thing I was concerned about was the location. Having just got back from my stay I can 100% confirm the location just outside of Malcesine isn't an issue. It's a lovely 40 minute walk along the lake on a cycle/ walk path into the town and there is also a tourist bus which stops every hour outside the hotel for 1 euro.It was lovely to be away from the hussle and bussle of the town and have the option to walk or catch a bus. There is a few restaurants around the corner and a local shop selling basic groceries, everything you would need. The hotel itself is modern, clean and has fantastic views over the lake. The staff were fantastic and helped with everything that we asked of them and much more!!!!! Although their English is not great ( apart from one lovely cheery memeber of staff) it is certainly better than my Italian and it wasn't an issue. The breakfast included in the price was basic but this seems to be the case in most hotels in Italy. The only issue maybe was that the air conditioning turned off at 12 and the room quickly heated up, although I was fuly aware of this at the time of booking the comfort room. Maybe next time I would upgrade to get air conditioning on constantly but this would be the only reason as the room was modern with a great bathroom and balcony overlooking the lake. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked the Piccolo Hotel at short notice and after a bad experience last year were a little worried about what we'd get when we arrived at this hotel. When we did arrive i was surprised just how lovely everything was for us. The hotel is run by a family who are just wonderful and can't help you enough, the rooms are spacious and very very clean. We were in room 5 which was bright, airy and had air conditioning. I've read some reviews where people have complained about no air conditioning and no view however if you don't book it then you won't get it so i really don't think you can write bad reviews based on that. Our bathroom was lovely and the view was just to die for. Breakfast is standard continental however still nice. The pool area is private, quiet and idealic and they also do a lunch time special every day for around 5 euros. We didn't hire a car so be warned it is a 40 minute walk into Malcesine however we like walking and it is a beautiful walk and there is also a bus every hour that only costs 1 euro so it was fine, the bus runs until 12:40 so theres no rush to get back.
We were very sad to leave but very eager to go back and will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked this hotel following reviews on this site and friends recommendations a few months before travel. We booked a 5 night stay with breakfast in a standard room costing approx €450. We arrived in the beautiful Malcesine at around 1030pm following a long day of travel to a very pleasant 28degrees! On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly female night porter who directed us to our room. The room was very basic but appeared clean. Unfortunately, the room didn't have a fan or any air-conditioning and was therefore incredibly uncomfortable. The room was situated at the rear of the hotel with a window opening out onto a mountain wall so therefore had no air flow to cool it down. The requested double bed was nowhere to be seen but was cleverly substituted with two single beds pushed together. Amenities in the room were very basic and the room layout wasn't user friendly and definitely not a 3* standard. As my wife was pregnant and unable to sleep, we requested a room change some hour after our arrival. Unfortunately, the hotel was busy but we were offered three room changes to cover us for the duration of our stay. This was obviously unacceptable and we requested to check out prematurely much to the hotels disgust. We were informed we HAD to pay for the entire stay despite them NOT meeting the advertised standard. The hotel offered to resell the room as means of compensation and refund our money if successful. We returned to the hotel at the end of our trip to be told they were unable to resell the room, not that we were surprised!! If you are considering a stay at this hotel then DEFINITELY upgrade and confirm the rooms amenities before booking as this HUGE mistake on our part cost us dearly. Be aware, there are lots of hotels in the beautiful Malcesine of which provide excellent customer service, better location and great value for money!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#56 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#28 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sailing Center
Hotel Sailing Center
#42 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel

Property: Piccolo Hotel
Address: Via Gardesana 450, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing