We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such an experience never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Smeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Smeralda
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such an experience never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

First of all some positive impressions: The quiet, uphill location with a great panoramic view over the lake, everything within a short walking distance from the very center of Malcesine. You might also like the nice swimming pool and the hotel interior in really good shape. These were "Pros" and now come "Cons": Our beds were extremely short as if the beds were tailor-made for Mr Danny De Vito (sorry for this comparison). Neither me nor my 18-years old son (187 and 182 cm) could put our feet on the bed while sleeping. And next - very poor breakfast's buffet matching no standards we found elsewhere in Italy (the same, repetitive buffet's choice for the 7 consecutive days, no croissants, no youghurts, no fresh fruits but fruit salad, no juices but something tasting like Fanta, one kind of cheese in slices which tasted rather cheap etc.). And the dinners (HB) was another awful experience. They probably tried to please their German guests and instead of some cooking success they offered the guests some food one could place in between the German and Italian way of cooking. The result was bad and hard to consume (I will always remember the "trout" you would not probably guess it was a fish because of it nasty taste and look). To be honest: once we found their pear"s dessert excellent and the last dinner was also amazingly acceptable.
The service it is a story itself. During our stay they accomodated perhaps 40-50 guests and had only 2 waiters for serving dinner. Absolutely insufficient number of personnel in terms of time we had to wait until they served us the complete dinner. The fellow guests were predominantly (over 90 percent) from Germany and we, as Poles, were every day the last to be served irrespective of whether we came sooner or later to the dining room. Personally I have nothing against the German people but the hotel management probably had something against us because of our nationality, I do not know. We should have been treated the same way like other guests were because the money we paid them were the same, not fake. But we were not. The last dinner ended with a very unpleasant incident - my wife wiped away herself empty dishes from our table while we had to look on it seating idle for about 40 minutes and the staff ignored us all the time passing by. But there was still no reaction from the staff and we left the dining room before we were offered some sweet. This extremely low, demonstrative service happened only to us and obviously to a very gentle couple from France (our personal greetings to Jean-Louis and Monique if they read us by chance). Monique was also irritated and said to us before we left that it was a remarkable lack of kindness. She was right but I would say that it was an unprecedented arrogance as well. We have never before met with such a rude treatment in any hotel elsewhere in any other country. We were very happy indeed leaving this hotel the next morning. Mr Sama did not feel apologetic for what has happened. He said to me that perhaps he made a mistake. But what kind of mistake? And why I should pay for his mistakes? He did understand nothing from the situation and did not took the lesson. I think the hotel management is much pro German and probably Sama family has some problem with their national identification. All the information you can find in their hotel is written in German. The safe instruction, the wheather forecast on the reception desk, all the labels in their bathrooms, everything in German only. It can be disturbing if you do not understand German like me. I can speak English, French and understand written Italian but not German. Malcesine is within the region of Veneto, rather Italian speaking part of Italy. But even in German speaking parts of Italy like Alto Adige we have never found hotel with German inscriptions only. Always Italian came first and then other languages, not only in German. I am almost sure what they do in Villa Smeralda is not in line with the Italian specific law.
And the last question I cannot comprehend. There are 14 hotel Smeralda reviews on the Tripadvisor. 9 out of 14 reviews (almost all very complimentary) are published by non German guests. How it can come with the fact that 90-95 percent of the guests are from Germany? Iwould like to see the authors of these compliments. Strange thing anyway.
My overall estimation of the Villa Smeralda is maximum 1 point only out of 5 scores because of the very, very disappointing service, very bad atmosphere and very poor non Italian cooking. This downscale my review. Otherwise Villa Smeralda would get an average note. Villa Smeralda was by far the worst place we popped in over the period of 2-3 years somewhere in Europe. This is a hotel you would not like to come back even if you paid nothing on your return trip over there.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
43
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

fantastic hotel in a gorgeous location - made extremely welcome - bit of a walk to town but worth it for view from rooms and pool and roof terrace - aboslutely stunning -

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

I booked this hotel after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor, the purpose of the visit was a surprise birthday present for my wife and several of our friends came along and stayed at the hotel.
We had booked a lakeside view superior room and the view from the balcony was absolutely stunning. The rooms were modern and clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The hotel was quiet and only has about thirty rooms so there was never any problems with loungers etc. We were the the only english there although I am aware they are keen to have more.
There were no children at the hotel although this was probably due to the fact that it wasn't the school holidays.
As I have said the hotel is quiet and relaxing and a large majority of the people staying there tended to go out during the day, but that is no surprise because Malcesine has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.
The hotel is managed by Alessandro who is brilliant, he can never do enough and just enhances the experience further.
I find it hard to believe that tfhe hotel is only three stars as I have stayed in several 4 star hotels that don't compare, in fact I think I would rather stay at the Smeralda than any of the local 5 star hotels, theres just something about it that struck a chord with all of us.
Some reviewers have mentioned the walk back from town , but its not that far and its a pretty gentle hill that lasts about 1/4 mile.
To conclude - Utterly Fantastic and I would recomend it to anyone that wants a relaxing holiday break in a sensational location.
Well done Alessandro!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We went for a wedding and had we known how big Lake Garda is and how charming Malcesine is we would have stayed at Hotel Villa Smeralda for a week. It's a modern, clean hotel just a short walking distance from town. Be prepared with sneakers or comfortable shoes for your trip; taxis are limited, but you will want to walk Malcesine anyway! Alessandro and staff were more than helpful and speak English, Italian and German. I highly suggest the hotel if you're looking for a getaway or if you're visiting the town for a wedding or special occassion.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMcD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

The Hotel staff were all happy, efficient and helpful without being obtrusive. Restaurant food was not exotic or flashy but was tasty and filling. The rooms were tasteful, airy and spacious, with a great view of the sunset over the lake. The pool was clean, and a real treat after a day out. The hotel is quiet, away from the main lakeside road. There is a steep direct walk back from beach, but gentler routes available. Malcesine is beautiful, a short walk away, and just lively enough, with lots of places to swim and sail.

  • Liked — Feeling relaxed with plenty of space
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests on the veranda area at night below our window - occasionally
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandovery, Mid Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just returned from attending my nephew's wedding at Malcesine Castle and we stayed at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are to a very high standard and the air conditioning is bliss! The hotel is located on a quiet road which is a plus as the roads can be very busy in the centre of Malcesine. There are wonderful views of the lake and the views from the balcony in our room were superb. I booked direct with Alessandro through the hotel's website and everything went without a hitch. He also arranged transport from the airport and back again. There is a bit of a walk back from the centre of Malcesine but it is worth it to stay at this gem of a hotel.

  • Liked — Standard of rooms, air conditioning, views, good service
  • Disliked — Walk back up the road - about 10 mins from centre of Malcesine
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rhianmenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

My daughter was married at the castle in Malcesine this summer and we picked the Villa Smeralda as a place to stay by sticking a pin in the list of hotels that came up in TripAdvisor.

We found it a clean, comfortable and very well run hotel. There are lots of good hotels in the area and competition must be keen.

Plus points were :
- location off the busy main road so quite quiet,
- good, quiet air conditioning - it was 30+ degrees C in July and it was needed.
- view from the lake side rooms was fabulous, always something to watch on the lake from the balcony,
- good swimming pool
- very friendly and helpful service by all the staff. Alessandro the manager made us feel esepcially welcome.
- choice of half board or B & B each day if you fancy eating out one evening. (beware of the walk back !)
- most staff spoke some english, many were very good
- food was to a good standard, although to predominantly German taste.
- bathrooms to excellent standard

Only negative point :
- there's a 15-20 minute walk up a gradual hill back to the hotel, which after a long, hot day can be a trial.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, views
  • Disliked — hill up from the town
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mcnollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanze 2000
Hotel Vacanze 2000
#8 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Serena
Hotel Casa Serena
#33 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Da Tino
Hotel Da Tino
#48 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#18 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Smeralda

Property: Hotel Villa Smeralda
Address: Strada Panoramica, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Smeralda 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Smeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeralda Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Villa Smeralda Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing