We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad word to say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a bad word to say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We choose this hotel on the basis of other people's reviews and had a fantastic stay. We arrived on the day of our anniversay and having emailed the hotel in advance to let them know, Marco give us one of the best rooms in the hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and the food was fantastic, as good as any restaurant in our view. Rather than your typical half-board buffet style dining, there was an a la carte menu to choose from each evening which gave us chance to try many traditional dishes we may not otherwise have chosen. Perfect for foodies who like sampling something new! Drinks were relatively inexpensive too, with a bottle of wine costing around 13 Euros. I'm sure we'll return as having visited a few other places around the Lake, Malcesine was probably the nicest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkie_robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    80
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
254
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a trip in Italy in which we stayed in the Hotel Capri in Malcesine for four nights. I originally chose this hotel due to the location, positive reviews and the value it offered compared to other hotels in the area; I wasn’t disappointed on any front. We paid €142 per night B&B through the hotels own website. We paid extra to get a superior room with lake view balcony and I would definitely recommend doing so. I think it was an extra €10 per night, but we got a lot of enjoyment from sitting out on the balcony admiring the stunning view. I felt this hotel offered excellent value for money considering the location.

Location: The location of this hotel is excellent, it is less than 10 minutes stroll to the centre of the town, maybe 10 minutes by the more scenic lake walk. I would recommend walking by the lake, because the other route brings you along a busy road with no hard shoulder, so the lake route is definitely safer.

The hotel: The hotel is located about 50 feet back from the lake and the views really have to be seen to be believed. The hotel doesn’t look like much on the outside, but on the inside, it was delightful and modern. Every area of the hotel was spotlessly clean. The reception area was large and there were a couple of different areas to sit. The pool was lovely (although very cold!) it was very clean and there was never a shortage of sun loungers. Again, you were able to avail of those amazing views while you sunbathed. The hotel came with free parking which was plentiful and also free wifi which had a very strong signal. There were nice security touches, like the gate to the road and the parking area being opened by your room card. The front desk staff seemed very friendly, although we didn’t have a lot of contact with them. A little tip, they offer a 2% reduction on your bill if you pay by cash, so that is a way to save a few euro. The hotel also has a hot tub and gym, which we didn’t use, but looked nice.

The room: Our superior room was stunning; The room was a very good size with loads of storage and light. The room had a terrace with the most amazing views of the lake and mountains. Although the hotel overlooks the road, it is well hidden by trees and we never had a problem with road noise. The furniture was of good quality and the room looked like it had been recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the linens felt like good quality. The room also had a fridge, safe, hairdryer and good size flat screened television with a few English speaking channels. The hotel didn’t provide a kettle or tea making facilities which was a shame, but a lot of hotels in Italy don’t provide this. The spacious bathroom was also lovely, a really good size with a very large shower. There was always plenty of hot water and the toiletries and towels were of good quality. All areas of the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and well serviced every day.

Breakfast: The breakfast in this hotel was great. It was served on the beautiful terrace (outdoors in good weather, indoors in bad weather) with more of those stunning views. The choice was excellent with meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit, various breads and rolls and a wide selection of sweet pastries like croissants, danish and cakes. All washed down with as much tea, coffee and juice as you liked. They also offered scrambled egg and bacon which was a nice change from the usual continental fare. It was all delicious and it set us up extremely well until lunch time. The only slight issue we had with breakfast was that the juice was from a machine and was a bit watery, but that is only a tiny niggle, overall the breakfast was fantastic and the beautiful setting was a bonus. The hotel also offers dinner and a half board option, but we chose not to avail of this.

Summary: Overall, we had a great stay at the Hotel Capri. The location is unbeatable, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast is great. It really is very well priced in comparison to other hotels in the area. The views from the rooms, pool and restaurant are just magnificent; the temptation to stay and look at that view all day was great! Malcesine is a great town to stay in the area; we much preferred the mountainous north of the lake to the flatter south. There is loads to do in Malcesine, we loved the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo and we enjoyed getting a ferry to Limone across the lake. The castle is also worth a visit. We also used Malcesine as a base to explore the towns on the North of the lake and visited the beautiful city of Verona for a day. There are loads of shops, bars and restaurants, I would definitely recommend Malcesine for anyone looking for a base in Lake Garda and I would heartily recommend the Hotel Capri. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Worth the extra few euro to get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I were married in Malcesine castle last week and stayed at the Hotel Capri with our families! We were lucky enough to have an apartment with a stunning view of the lake & the castle. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel,the staff,the food,the facilities and the location! We had an amazing time. We celebrated my son's 1st Birthday on the roof garden terrace while Emil did a fantastic job of providing delicious food and a wonderful Italian style cake! The morning of my wedding I had a 3 bridesmaids,2 hairdressers and a beautician all in the room getting ready & we had plenty of space! Emil provided us with a beautiful breakfast to our room and additional mirrors. Nothing is too much for the staff at the Capri and I know for sure I will be returning for many years to come.

Room Tip: Every room has a wonderful view of the lake, even the side rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My whole family stayed her for my sister's wedding and I cannot rate the hotel highly enough, mainly due to the staff. I stayed in a lake view room which was quiet, large and comfortable with a good sized balcony and a breathtaking view and free wi-fi. The room was cleaned daily, including fresh towels and toileteries. There was a good selection of food for breakfast and the dining area is well presented, with a terrace for that view. The gym, spa and pool area are good with no waiting for sun loungers or gym equipment. The town is a 10 minute walk away which has a large Eurospar supermarket selling everything you could need. There are a number of maps and walking routes advertised In the receiption, however you have no need for this as both Marco and Emil know everything about the area and always available for questions or just a general chat. They will organise anything from birthday parties to airport transfers and could not have been more helpful.
Overall, we had an amazing time, made all the more special by the staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: A lake view is highly recommended as you will never get bored of looking out of your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Levo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Capri for our honeymoon. It was simply wonderful! Marco and Emil were fantastic, as were all the staff. We were given 5 star treatment. I was given flowers on arrival and we had sparkling on the terrace. We were made to feel so special. The view from our balcony was beautiful as is all of Malcesine. The hotel is lovely with a great pool area overlooking the lake. The food served in the hotel was absolutely delicious and my husband and I were delighted that we chose to go half board. There are loads of amazing restaurants in Malcesine and Emil was happy for us to choose between having lunch or dinner included in our half board. So we could still eat out when we wanted without wasting money. The hotel is perfect for going into Malcesine and travelling around Lake Garda. I can't recommend this hotel enough or Malcesine for a holiday destination. We travelled with Chrystal/Thomson and also visited Verona with an organised trip. Whilst in Verona we went to the opera at the arena. This was a fantastic experience that we would also highly recommend. We will definitely return to the Hotel Capri in the future.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the lake. It is worth paying for the superior room to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_D_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Capri Hotel 25 August for one week, booking through Thomson package. We booked a superior room with balcony and lake view which was air conditioned. To wake up every morning to the lake and mountain view was like a dream. The staff were so helpful and the food was excellent. Everything about the hotel was "top class". We would definitely go back again. Quite a few people we spoke to had been time and time again and we can understand why. Malcesine must be one of the best places on the lake with lovely lake walks, shops, castle and cable car (which is a must!).

Thanks for a wonderful holiday, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room No 57 to the front of the hotel with balcony overlooking the lake. Not noisy at all even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed in an apartment for 8 nights. The apartments are very modern and contemporary with a well designed kitchen, large bathroom and very comfortable huge bed (plus large sofa bed). The staff at The Capri are very friendly and nothing is ever too much for them. We particularly liked Emil who is always ready with a smile, welcome or a joke! The breakfast was very varied, plentiful and delicious (with freshly baked amazing cakes every day). We had one evening meal in the hotel - 5 courses for 16 euros and it was brilliant.

I cannot rate The Capri highly enough, we had an amazing time. The facilities (pool, gym etc) were great.

I didn't mind the short walk into town, it's only 10 minutes and you can stroll along the lake with an ice cream. Small price to pay for a fabulous hotel.

I will come back again!

Room Tip: The apartments are definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#10 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Via Panoramica 26, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Capri Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing