We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tennis location”
Review of Club Hotel Olivi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Hotel Olivi
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our 3rd visit, ten tennis players from Bedford.
Plus points - hotel lovely as ever with friendly staff, excellent food, wine and service. The clay tennis courts are super to play on and are maintained very well. Location good, 5 mins walk to lake and 20 mins into Malcesine town. Hotel gardens and pool absolutely beautiful, at least when the sun shines.
Not so plus - weather in May not reliable, we had 30 hours continuous rain. At least there are 2 covered courts. Rooms in blocks 1 and 2 are good but not fantastic (no bath, small shower) but I guess this is why it is 3 star. Costs like much of Italy a bit on the high side. Ferry costs on the lake gettinng a bit steep.
Hotel quieter than previous visits - affects of the recession in Germany?
And we felt the earthquake in Bologna - quite violent even 120 miles away!

Room Tip: Avoid the "family" block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is my 3 rd stay and each time the stay has been very enjoyable The staff make you very welcome especially the family that run it 2 lady twins and one of their daughters.The location is close to the lake. There are a good selection of tennis courts. The food is plentiful with 2 buffet garden parties during this stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

very good tennis courts,incl.the option of playing indoors on 2 clay courts if wet.the tennis coaches are brillant,my 2 children enjoyed their time with francesco while we were impressed by Giorgio's coaching(speaks 5 languages fluently!).
the hotel rooms:basic but functional and very clean.no noise at night as the hotel is situated in large generous gardens which are kept beautifully.who wants to spend much time in the room anyway here!
the beds were very comfortable.
as we took only breakfast i cannot comment on the dinner option but breakfast was very basic and a bit of a let-down.with children a fridge would be great in the room which they said would be integrated in next winter's renovations.
one restaurant we found in malcesine is the Taverna dei Capitano,wonderful,they make their own fresh pasta,read my separate review for this please.
we will definitely be back to clubhotel olivi and their very friendly and attentive and helpful staff and hope they continue to improve the rooms a bit and the breakfast a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Arrived at hotel, having booked 3 months previously - play a lot of
tennis and had spotted this hotel.
Promising start - reception modern and staff friendly . Taken to room in
Family and Friends accommodation. Very disappointed in the room - on
first floor at the back. View of a brick wall from the balcony - dark
inside. Inside clean, but stark. Furniture badly chipped in places - bit
like student accommodation. There are no pictures of this accommodation
on the website, so unlike the other rooms actually shown on the website.
No indication given at time of booking that there was a difference, or
that there was no view whatsoever. These are the 2 room Family and
Friends rooms and appears that they are all at the back with no lake view.

Had to wait for a day to speak to the manager who was not around - she
was not helpful at all. Did not take any of our points on board, was evasive
and said that there was nothing that could be done. Said that we were
thinking about leaving, and she offered to call round local hotels to
find something else for us - got the impression that she wanted rid of us.

Were put into another F&F room one floor above where we were, but still
no view, and also exactly the same set up.

On the last night we had to move rooms, and were put in one of the
Junior Suites, which was the other room that we thought about booking to
start with, but since we believed the quality of the rooms were the
similar went with the F&F. These are smart rooms - certainly live up to
the reputation the hotel is trying to foster.

Food
Disappointed in the food - at breakfast given a choice sheet where you
chose the starter and main for the evening. Sat at same table every
night. Buffet starters - OK, next two courses came out in double quick
time, buffet desserts, which our son enjoyed - in at 7.30 out at 8.30.
The staff were clearing tables and setting out next days breakfast while
everyone was still eating. Our son said it was just like school dinners.

Facilities
The facilities are good - tennis courts and pool. There were storms,
which meant that uncovered courts were unplayable for a time - when we
did play they were great courts. The swimming pool and lounger area were
excellent. Not a great deal to do in the rain though.

Summary
Setting is stunning - views down the lake with mountains on both sides.
Room poor quality - did not live up to expectations at all. Reception
staff friendly and very helpful - manageress not so. Food poor quality -
bit like being in a hospital. Overall did not represent good value for money.

I note that the Hotel has now revamped their website and now displays
pictures of the Family and Friends rooms - these still do not represent
the ones we stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just returned from a five day stay at Club Hotel Olivi, recommended by my sister. This is my third visit to Lake Garda and definitely the best value hotel I have stayed in. The staff were without exception pleasant, friendly and helpful and you get the impression that they genuinely take a pride in giving excellent service. It is well worth paying the slight extra for a lake view and I would recommend requesting a top floor [only two storeys] room near the pool. The food was plentiful and varied: dinner started with a superb salad buffet which often included prawns, parma ham and bresaola, then a choice of first course or second course [often fish] and desserts. We paid 15 euros each to be picked up at the airport which took all the stress out of travelling.

As for Lake Garda, it was still warm enough to swim and my top tips are: Take the boat to Castelleto and walk back along the lakeside - very pretty and you can make lots of stops along the way at cafes for coffee lunch. Go to Monte Baldo early [or you will queue] and then walk down from the half way stage back into Malcesine. Take the bus to Bardolino on market day - pretty, bustling little town.

All in all a very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was our first stay at Lake Garda, and we chose Hotel Olivi tennis center for a number of reasons; firstly, we both enjoy tennis, and so the hotel's clay courts in such a picturesque setting looked inviting, coupled to professional coaching available. Allied to swimming in the lake, a ferry trip or two, visits to the historical castle and the modern cable car ride up Monte Baldo offered opportunities to graze the locality without exhausting ourselves completely. These activities all went wonderfully, and so to the hotel. We made a late reservation and found ourselves in the main hotel with a room overlooking the gardens, facing the mountains and to the side a view of Lake Garda. The bed, bathroom (walk-in shower) and facilities were fine, and the standard of cleanliness was excellent.

We went half-board, with a buffet service breakfast. This was a treat, eaten outside on the terrace, in picture postcard panoramic surroundings. Dinner was a four course affair, guests helping theirselves to a dazzling selection for the first course. Courses 2 and 3 were served up by the efficient waiters, with quality rather than quantity being the watchword. Course number 4, the dessert was a self-service operation, with a choice of umpteen tongue-tickling sweets.

There were ample lounge areas to relax, but whenever possible the terrace or the pool area were the places to be. The pool deserves a mention, large, deep in most places, but with a shallow area railed off. The diving board made for even more fun, and the temperature of the water made it an ideal place to cool off. Although the hotel must have been almost full, there was a large number of sunbeds, and plenty of ground to find a quiet spot if one wanted.

For the energetic, amenities also included a pool table - with the narrowest pockets ever seen - a table football table (free), a full-size table tennis table (free). The tennis courts were easy to book, and the hotel would help you find opponents if you wanted. The tennis coaches, provided more concentrated training at a rate of about 20 Euros per hour, in small groups or individually if you wished.

There was one drawback to our stay at the hotel, in that our room's air conditioning unit did not work. This was very unfortunate, as it was hot at night. The hotel apologised profusely, providing a very effective portable unit. Sadly, it was rather noisy, and couldnt be left on during the night. What a pity the problem had not been solved before our arrival - a man on the roof above our room was evidence they were trying to solve the problem after all. I am sure that this was a one off, and it should not deter anyone from staying at this high class venue.

To sum up, this is a superb hotel, run with great professionalism and pride by all its' staff, from the top down. We hope to return at the same time, next year, and are already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickdvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

My family and I stayed at Olivi for a week at the end of May with another family. Our family's are a mixture of all different ages and it suited everyone perfectly. Being huge tennis fans we loved having tennis lessons every morning and we played almost every afternoon. The hotel's 9 tennis courts were very good and the coaching was pretty good. THe hotel also had a very nice swimming pool. The rooms were quite basic however very clean. The food was very average and therefore we ate out most nights and found some superb restaurants. The staff however were extremely helpful. THe hotel is run by twins and one of their daughters whom will do anything to help. The setting was idyllic, mountains surrounding the hotel and over looking the lake. We had a superb holiday and i would love to return in the future. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who enjoys tennis. Chloe 15.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloefox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Verde
Hotel Baia Verde
#26 of 71 in Malcesine
115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#30 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#56 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#53 of 71 in Malcesine
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#20 of 71 in Malcesine
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Olivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Olivi

Address: Via Gardesana 160, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: $153 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Olivi 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANOTHER WORLD ON LAKE GARDAFar away from the hectic world, nestled at the foot of Monte Baldo majestic mountains, at the shore of the mystical Lake Garda, lays our resort Club Hotel Olivi, a true hideaway, enclosed in a park of 30,000 m2 in the “Valley of Dreams” – Val di Sogno. The hotel is located 2 km south of the center of Malcesine and the lake shore is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel where a private dock is available for our guests. Within this spectacular realm, you will find that the Club features the savoir-faire of hospitality, entertainment, leisure activities, and sports which will assure your vacation is a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Club Hotel Olivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Olivi Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing