We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to all the praise”
Review of Hotel Val di Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Val di Sogno
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for 9 nights and wished it had been more. Perfect location with all balconies having lake views. Town of Malchesnie we found to be the most charming on Lake Garda and an easy walk from the hotel. Hotel food excellent without a repeated dish the whole time we were there. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Plenty of sun lounges and always spaces available. Only way to improve the rooms would be to have proper double beds rather than 2 singles pushed together. We hope to return to Val Di Sogno in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: All seem to have equally good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJH28460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

We came back here in July and found it even better than before! The location can't be beat and now the food is a match for everything at this wonderful and spotless hotel. We shall return again sometime. Thanks Simon & Michelle Johnson

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks for our wedding in July, This was our 2nd stay at the hotel Val Di Sogno and yet again we was made to feel so welcome, We stayed in room 310 and it was great, we had so much space and the view from the balcony is amazing. The breakfast was always good served from 8-10. We only stayed on bed & breakfast but some of our family who ate at the hotel in the evening said the food was really good. The pool area and gardens are lovely and so well looked after. There are a couple of shops at the top of the hill for buying water etc. The walk into Malcesine takes about 20-25 minutes along the lake front and its a beautiful walk. All the family and staff at the hotel are fantastic and we can't wait to return :-)

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparkle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location, location, location... but this one has boasts an extremely comfortable hotel to boot. We stayed for 7 nights in early June. Fine dining, spacious modern bedrooms, friendly, very competent staff and management. I don't think I can fault anything........even the weather was perfect....... I want to go back!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms that I am aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We returned last Friday after a two week stay for a holiday / family wedding, and the scenery from the hotel is out fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much for any of the staff, from the owners to the bar staff.

We were travelling with a small child ( 10 months but mobile ) so had purposely asked for a ground floor room. We were allocated room 54 and this was described on the website as a "garden room" and although it did not open up onto a garden it has a very large balcony and more than enough space for 2 adults and a child and all the gear that comes with a child. There is a walk in wardrobe that is separated from the bedroom area by a two way mirror so even this had views of the lake. There is a shower but no bath and a small fridge. There is no kettle which we knew but we took our own for making the babies bottles. Now the views from the bedroom to the lake were out of this world. With a large sliding window to open up to the vista and the waves of the lake lapping just feet away it was perfect for nodding off at night, and sometimes during the afternoon.

We went half board and to be honest there was probably no need for us to do this but, the evening meals were all of a good standard and although I have eaten better else where there could be no complaints about the food.

The bar is well stocked with pretty much all you could think of. There is a lovely pool which was marginally warmer than the lake but very nice for a cooling dip all the same. There is a small supermarket within walking distance up the hill with most things. We also found that the Eurospar stocked Aptimal baby milk which we found very handy.

There is a tourist bus that is 1 euro 20 for all journeys and runs every hour until midnight apart from a break around 3 pm.

All in all a great family hotel with very helpful staff and the most fantastic views would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 54 ground floor accessible by three steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 5 nights here and had a lovely relaxing stay. The service was good, the room was modern and big enough to spend a number of nights without having to wonder where you were going to put everything.

There were a few little things that, while not problems, could have made the stay better. The food was good but limited choice in the evenings. Wi-Fi is only available in public areas (and a few bedrooms) but is payable and you have to hire bath robes. These are small points but at a hotel like this, I expect to have these small things included.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Our room on the second floor had a lovely view of the lake and the balcony made it possible to enjoy the location to its maximum.The hotel is right on the lake shore, unlike some others in this area where you are separated from the lake by the main road. It is about 1 mile to walk to Malcesine itself but this means the hotel location is quiet.

We went up Monte Baldo in the cable car from Malcesine which is well worth doing on a clear day and also had a trip to Venice. This was a long 12 hour day trip but worth doing if you can as we felt one day there was enough to see the city.

Overall, we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Absolute fantastic holiday. Every staff member to owner, were always happy to advise and explain any questions you may have. The hotel is spotless. Food is fine dining, don't expect large platefuls. But what you will experience is beautifully cooked and tasteful food. We never came away feeling hungry.
I would happily recommend this hotel as one of the best I've stayed in. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Janic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 71 in Malcesine
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#21 of 71 in Malcesine
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val di Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val di Sogno

Address: Via Val di Sogno 16, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#14 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $89 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Val di Sogno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal stay here on Lake Garda, where to live a relaxing experience discovering the area and beauties of the lake, themountain and the inland, lulled by the sound of water, the starry sky and ... the silence! The Hotel Val di Sogno is the ideal place, situated directly on Lake Garda shores. With its heated pool, its green garden and lovely view it is designed for your holidays in relax, among sports, nature and landscapes ... simply a dream! Passion for hospitality, familiar sleek approach, unforgettable experience of serenity and peace. And for those who love good food, our young kitchen brigade offers the best local dishes elaborated with enthusiasm and creativity in the new Restaurant DOLCIAQUE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Val di Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val Di Sogno Hotel Malcesine
Val Di Sogno Malcesine
Hotel Val Di Sogno Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing