We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Val di Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Val di Sogno
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Val di Sogno for a weeks much needed break in May. The hotel itself was in a lovely quiet location, with stunning views overlooking the lake. The hotel was a little smaller than we anticipated but nevertheless it was a lovely hotel and very much up to date in style and decor. The staff were very nice, helpful and made you feel very welcome. The walk from the hotel in Malcesine was half an hour at a steady pace - again the views along the lake were stunning. The only downside to staying at the hotel was the food. Having booked half board we did expect a little more variation from what was being offered. The cooked breakfast was limited to bacon and scrambled eggs the other egg option being hard boiled. There was a limited selection of prepackaged biscuits, a small selection of pastries, together with a small selection of cereals and fresh fruit . The orange juice tasted very synthetic and certainly was not freshly squeezed. The evening meal which we had to pick from a menu card at breakfast was again limited, although well cooked. The salad buffet bar was very poorly presented, limited and resembled a salad bar at a supermarket. There was an a la carte menu available at lunch time, we also noted that they did not have a light lunch/snack menu which is usually available if you do not want to have a large meal at lunch time. Apart from the food we had a lovely stay and would not rule out going back to the hotel but only on a bed and breakfast basis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAH1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
122
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We were here in May of 2004 & it was outstanding! We had arranged to be married in the Castello & Silvia & Michaelo made sure our stay was unforgettable! Nine yrs later & I think of them daily!!! Food was great, accommodations satisfactory, & the hospitality unbeatable!!! Thank u, thank u! We will be back next yr for our 10 yr anniversary :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeyondDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed just one night when delayed near Lake Garda by a vehicle breakdown. The accommodation and location were very good and we were well pleased with our room (except that the hair dryer did not work). However, dinner was a very different matter. There appeared to be a very good a la carte menu available but the only offering to visitors on dinner, room and breakfast terms was a very limited set menu. When I saw the written menu, I thought that, for a four star hotel, it would turn out better than it looked. It didn't. The general impression both for quality and presentation resembled a British two star hotel in the 1960s. First was the buffet of salads. It was just that - a choice of basic salads. There were no special items with some originality or perhaps fish content - with the sole exception of a bowl of quite good small artichokes. The next course was a choice of pasta or fruit juice (fruit juice as a starter in the UK went out in the 1970s). It was just a pile of pasta in the middle of a plate. Nothing special nor any attempt at appealing presentation. The main course offered a choice of fillet of Sea Bream (widely farmed nowadays and therefore probably the cheapest option they could find), Chicken (well known to be the cheapest meat) or Frikadele of Minced Meat (minced meat can be anything and is certainly a very cheap option). We had the Chicken which was just some pieces of chicken with sauce over it in the middle of a plate. It was OK but nothing special. Here again there was no attempt at appealing presentation. A bowl with broccoli and potatoes was also placed on the table. The desert choice was just Coffee and Cream Pudding, Ice Cream or cheese. Knowing the excellent reputation of Italian ice cream we both chose this. We received three scoops each of assorted flavours (their choice - were not asked what flavours we wanted) in a china bowl of average quality ice cream - not the superb ice cream one expects in Italy. If you go to any basic bar or cafe in Italy and order ice cream you will be offered a choice of flavours of excellent quality, magnificently served in a glass probably with some cream and other garnish.

The breakfast the next morning was buffet style and just about satisfactory. However, here again it certainly did not particularly impress for what is supposed to be a four star hotel.

The hotel was expensive but if the food had matched the quality of the accommodation it could have been considered good value. My "average" rating is based on very good accommodation and very poor food. Italy is supposed to be one of the great countries of the world for food. It can be, but if you want good food avoid the Val di Sogno.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake front - probably little difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeremyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the last week in September just before the end of the season. Our room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the lake. The breakfast was the usual continental style but also with a small choice of hot food that was cooked to perfection. Definately worth booking half board as the restaurant food was excellant and if there was nothing suitable on the menu they were happy to cook something especially for you. The only small thing is that dinner is between 7.30 & 8.30 so quite early for us & service a little rushed. Reception booked a tour for us which was added to our bill being very helpful to us. The walk into Malcesine is a good 30 mins which is fine on a dry day but less so in the rain especially on the way back from a night out. There is a tourist bus available but it could be more frequent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaze_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything about this hotel was lovely. We were very impressed. Gorgeous rooms overlooking the lake. Excellent food. Plentiful and varied breakfast. Set menu for dinner on half board but really good. Friendly helpful and smart staff. The walk into Malcesine is lovely, a cobbled path along the lake shore. Great for an after dinner evening stroll. Takes around 25 minutes but didnt seem like it as it is so pretty. We had a Splendid room which was really nice with a great bathroom and fantastic shower. Sheets changed every couple of days and nice toiletries and beach towels (handy for that limited room in your suitcase). Missed the beach but was overall a great holiday. The cable car up Monte Baldo is not to be missed. What superlative views. (as are the lovely sunsets from the balcony of the rooms). Thoroughly recommend..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibee49P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, essex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and my wife got married at Malcesnie castle in May and stayed at the maximillian. We many other quests staying at the hotels around the lake, but none of them matched the Val di sogno, except maybe the maximillian.. The location is quiet and the views are stunning. We hada balcony which looked straight across the pool and lakes.

The hotel was quiet in may which is what we really wanted. We stayed half board and the food was petty good. They had a set menu which yoyu could choose from. Remember most of Garda is pretty expensive to eat out, so for the money it was worth paying for half board. that said we like to get out and about, so only ate there three times during our 7 day stay.

The staff are really friendly and happy to help with all arrangements. The reception staff also came in handy when trying to find out way around when we first arrived.

The hotel is a fair walk from the main harbour area, but Garda is not a beach holiday and walking is the best way to see the beautiful lake and real daily Garda life.

Overall I would definatly recomend this hotel to anyone visiting lake Garda!!

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon or getting married at the castle inform the staff and they will provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustergrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We actually were at Val di Sogno in July 2011 but cant add before sept on Trip ... regardless.... Val Di Sogno was a super hotel. Up to that point we had rarely stayed in a hotel, preferring self catering so for a 'new to us' experience Val Di Sogno was great.
Our room overlooked the lake and indeed we felt we could touch it almost from our balcony. To be so near the water was relaxing and romantic. We could watch brides who landed on the nearby jetty, walk to their reception - truly different.
The staff were very good and were efficient without being intrusive. We were half board and the food was good, especally the breakfasts. The walk from the hotel to Malcesine was not at all tiring, walking along the lakeside became part of the holiday. Travel around the lake was easy - a trip to Limone is highly recommended and also Verona if you get the opportunity or other trips - can't imagine any trip around this wonderful part of Italy would not be lovely.
We will visit the other Lakes as we love Italy but we do intend to go back to Garde and will stay at the Val di Sogno - hope thats recommendation in itself?!

Room Tip: You must overlook the Lake - great even in a thunderstorm - amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#21 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val di Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val di Sogno

Property: Hotel Val di Sogno
Address: Via Val di Sogno 16, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#14 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Val di Sogno 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal stay here on Lake Garda, where to live a relaxing experience discovering the area and beauties of the lake, themountain and the inland, lulled by the sound of water, the starry sky and ... the silence! The Hotel Val di Sogno is the ideal place, situated directly on Lake Garda shores. With its heated pool, its green garden and lovely view it is designed for your holidays in relax, among sports, nature and landscapes ... simply a dream! Passion for hospitality, familiar sleek approach, unforgettable experience of serenity and peace. And for those who love good food, our young kitchen brigade offers the best local dishes elaborated with enthusiasm and creativity in the new Restaurant DOLCIAQUE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Val di Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val Di Sogno Hotel Malcesine
Val Di Sogno Malcesine
Hotel Val Di Sogno Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing