We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Best location in area! Amazing room!”
Review of Hotel Val di Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Val di Sogno
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in June! On our arrival we had been upgraded to one of their best rooms, on the ground floor with a huge bedroom, massive bathroom and large balcony, very private as it was towards the end of the hotel! Our shower was immense, the size of three normal showers with a huge picture window looking onto the lake. Being a family run hotel meant staff were very friendly and attentive! Meals were fab, over 7 nights we only had one starter we didn't like. ( we were half board)
A few things I would point out. The hotel is a good(but pleasent) 25 minute walk along the water front, which includes a large hill! Not a ten minute stroll, although we found this a good thing as val di Sogno is far nicer than malcesine!
The hotel itself is very popular with German families so if you like to go somewhere with lots of Brits this may not be the place for you.
We loved our stay at the hotel and would recommend and would go back.
Pool was fantastic btw!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this lovely family run hotel in June 2012 for a week. Very friendly staff, good food and a perfect location/views.

Helen

Room Tip: The larger rooms on the top floors are worth paying the extra for as they have wonderful views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a large hotel room with balcony, overlooking the water. Modern bathroom, wood floors, great king-sized bed with firm mattress and soft linens. Breakfast was included in the price and it was fantastic! Scrambled eggs, fruit, cheeses, juices, coffee, pastries..... you name it. And it's an easy walk to town. Just go to the top of the hill, turn left to go down the next hill and you'll find the cobblestone path that leads along the water right into town. Gorgeous walk, especially in the evening. Once you've explored the little village of Malcesine, take one of the many ferry boats to the town of Limone for shopping and lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony over looking the water. We used booking.com to make the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachfuzz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We returned to the hotel this June after being there for the first time in June last year and wondered would it be and feel as good as we remembered.

We need not have worried as it was just as good.

The hotel is smallish, (36 rooms), but this allows the staff and management to build a closer relationship with the guests than might be expected in a larger hotel. The Staff are attentive and friendly without being intrusive and you can have a laugh with them.

The hotel is right on the edge of the lake in a very peaceful setting, although there is always plenty of activity on the lake to watch.

The restaurant/food is good and you can even eat out on the terrace at the edge of the lake if you're down quickly enough at meal times.

As mentioned in other reviews the view across the lake from the terrace or the room balconies are stunning and even if it rains, with mountains rising up sharply either side of the lake, the views are still fantastic.

There is an easy walk along the edge of the lake to Malcesine where you can get ferries to other lakeside towns. Limone is the nearest and perhaps the prettiest one although its not very big.

Would we go back again ......yes without a doubt.

Room Tip: Most, (if not all), of the rooms have a lake view but make sure you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Val di Sogno was in the perfect setting along a small bay near Malcesine in Lago di Garda. The hotel was modern, clean and the views were gorgeous. It was quiet and serene. The breakfast had so many choices, could easily walk to Malcesine (which is a darling town). Great base to explore the area. I could go back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel about a year ago for our honeymoon, and had a lovely time. On arrival we were greeted in our room by champagne. The room itself was a good size and sectaular views across the lake as its situated right on the edge of the lake. We hired a car to explore around the lake but you can easily walk in to town (about 15mins) which we did every night to eat in different restaurants. The staff cant do enough for you and a very welcoming. We would love to revisit someday and enjoy following hotel news in facebook. Its not cheap, but its well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a room on the second floor of this hotel with the most amazing view out of the balcony of the lake. You are literally right on the beach and town is only a pleasent 15 minute walk around the coast. It's a great setting with some good resturants and cafes around. The bustle of town is not far at all. For those on half board or full board, you will be very happy indeed! The choice of food is great and one of my dinners there was literally the best thing I've ever put in my mouth! Everyone speaks English but they tolerated me trying to practice my Italian and were very happy to help with that. The room was fabulous - clean, big comfortable bed, great 'waterfall' shower and plenty of space. Hairdryer and toiletries, towels, safe, TV provided. Staff as friendly and accomodating as they get. Heated outdoor pool with a poolside bar, games room and internet access. We were there as guests for a wedding. Recommend throughly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KookyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val di Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val di Sogno

Address: Via Val di Sogno 16, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#14 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $176 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Val di Sogno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal stay here on Lake Garda, where to live a relaxing experience discovering the area and beauties of the lake, themountain and the inland, lulled by the sound of water, the starry sky and ... the silence! The Hotel Val di Sogno is the ideal place, situated directly on Lake Garda shores. With its heated pool, its green garden and lovely view it is designed for your holidays in relax, among sports, nature and landscapes ... simply a dream! Passion for hospitality, familiar sleek approach, unforgettable experience of serenity and peace. And for those who love good food, our young kitchen brigade offers the best local dishes elaborated with enthusiasm and creativity in the new Restaurant DOLCIAQUE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Val di Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val Di Sogno Hotel Malcesine
Val Di Sogno Malcesine
Hotel Val Di Sogno Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing