We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Monte Baldo - on top of the world

If you are visiting Lake Garda don't miss this. It's in Malcesine just off the main road and is... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
markyg2017
,
London, United Kingdom
Monte Baldo - Mountain Magic

bought ticket in tourist office near to harbour after taking express boat from Pesciara - 45km away... read more

Reviewed October 21, 2018
Pedros0nTour
,
Fife, United Kingdom
Read all 3,593 reviews
  
Reviews (3,593)
Filter reviews
3,593 results
Traveler rating
2,343
910
187
72
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,343
910
187
72
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car lake garda amazing views walking boots half way hang gliders avoid queues early in the morning long queue tourist office buy tickets sunny day well worth the wait mountain top an hour and a half tourist information worth a trip
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,593 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

bought ticket in tourist office near to harbour after taking express boat from Pesciara - 45km away - 2.5hour superb trip in it self, nearly full length of lake Garda. Meant straight away just joined queue for actual cable car - revolves 360 degrees on ascent and you change from a 80 person capacity pod half way up to smaller 45 person capacity.
superb Alpine views all around and alpacas and plethora para gliders on summit ridge just added to the trip.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Pedros0nTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Did not do our homework and as such were surprised by the long lines to both purchase a ticket as well as the wait to go to the top. Managed to bypass the ticket line by purchasing on line, wait time for funicular was about 45mins to an hour. Ride up was a little cramped but still able to see out, once at the top appreciate the views which were amazing. Lots of people taking advantage of the views and having picnics. It was definately much cooler at the top so layers are a good idea, saw people in hiking gear and poles but did not find those items to be necessary if just doing the regular walk.
Although a little expensive a worthwhile experience.
We went later in the morning, coming down in the afternnon noticed no line, not sure if this is a regular occurance.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in malcesine last year and went up Monte baldo so did not go again this year. Great views from the top and the restaurant

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Christine54b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Just wish we'd read the reviews first, as it should have been a wonderful day. We chose a beautiful sunny day during the last week of September, like many other people. We purchased the combined bus and cable car ticket for 22 euros, but found out we were only given a voucher for the cable car ( you still partly pay at cable car ticket office).
We walked from Malcesine bus station ( about 5-10 minute walk), then found the queue, which we stood in for 1.1/2 hours!. Then just reached the ticket office to be told they had to close ( couldn't say how long), as the queue of prepaid customers was too long! After waiting 55 minutes we purchased our tickets only to find we had to queue another hour!!!. We were told there were no queues at 8am or 4pm!.
When we finally arrived at the top the views were amazing but it had turned chilly, so would advise anybody to take extra clothing.
Also, definitely purchase your tickets the day before, at least you will only queue for the last part. It did actually take us almost 4 hours to get to the top, from starting at the bottom. This is unacceptable.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank HampshireJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Absolute must if you are in Malcesine. Morning lines can be several hours so I recommend going later in day. Round trip can be several hours but so worth it.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kallynrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews