We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views from above but awful organization ”
Review of Monte Baldo

Monte Baldo
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We took a cable car at Malcesine to go up the mountain, and the views over the lake from the top were really spectacular! But there are certain points to take in account before making a decision whether to go to Monte Baldo or not. I think the best solution is to come at the cable car station as early as possible after a night in Malcesine or somewhere in the vicinity. That will help you to avoid crowds. Otherwise, be prepared to a long and tiring waiting in line to catch a cable car. Frankly, after visiting several famous mountains in Austria and Germany, we could say that the organization at Monte Baldo was by far the worst: the line extended for a three-floor height staircase, so you find yourself locked in a narrow and crowded passage for about an hour. And it was a weekday at the end of September! Hard to imagine what is happening there during high summer period!..
So, if you have limited time, maybe a boat trip, a stroll in the charming town of Malcesine and a visit to the Scaligeri castle would be a better option)..

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank CatherineBulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 939 reviews
"lake garda"
in 240 reviews
"amazing views"
in 131 reviews
"walking boots"
in 24 reviews
"half way"
in 87 reviews
"hang gliders"
in 20 reviews
"avoid queues"
in 22 reviews
"early in the morning"
in 31 reviews
"long queue"
in 29 reviews
"tourist office"
in 29 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 35 reviews
"sunny day"
in 27 reviews
"well worth the wait"
in 22 reviews
"mountain top"
in 26 reviews
"an hour and a half"
in 20 reviews
"tourist information"
in 22 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 22 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 3,593 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

Visiting Monte Baldo is a great experience with the panorama funicular and the many trails available on the top with great view. However, got prepared to the long waiting on the bottom (we waited approx. 1 hour in the line to go up and as I now see in the reviews we were lucky as there were no additional line at the ticket office...) and to the cold weather on the top. As the weather was absolutely nice at the bottom and actually we were wearing shirts only there, we did not bring our jackets only 1-2 pullovers which were DEFINITELY not enough as there were wintery 5 Celsius degrees and hard wind at the top :) Much colder than we expected. The weather was not great either when we were there so we could not see much panorama due to the fog, you need to expect on this sometimes but it is still worth going up in such days, the hills and the alpaca farm there were really nice.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank juno_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Our trip up to Monte Baldo was one of the highlights of our northern Italy trip. The views are just stunning and there are many options and levels of hiking trails available. Just make sure that you bring appropriate clothing - when we went it was pleasant down by the lake, but quite chilly up top. I would also recommend getting to the cable car early (especially in high season) and giving yourself some spare time for the trip down as lines can get quite long

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

To my opinion the attraction no. 1 in Malcesine. However, be sure to plan your trip. The funivia is popular and there is mostly long lines waiting to try it.
There is three stations - one in Malcesine, one half way up to The top of Monte Baldo and then the one on the top. It is possible to break your tour in the middle if you want. Eg. if you wish to walk up or down from the middle station.
To avoid the longest waiting time here is some advice: Go either early or late. Buy your tickets online then you skip most of the waiting lines. And don't go in the weekend. Ticket is 15 eur for single trip, and 22 eur for return.(full tour) You can also only take the tour from Malcesine to the middle station (San Michele), it is cheaper, and then walk up from there (it is quite tuff).
If you decide to do part of the excusion to Monte Baldo by walking then note that the area from Middle Station to the top is the worst and the longest.
When you are on the top of Monte Baldo there are fine walking areas and a fantastic view to Malcesine and other small towns and to a big part of Garda Lake.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Klynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Should have read the tripadvisor reviews before going. The que was very long, compounded by some tv filming going on that day. I’m very fair and simply couldn’t stand to be stood in the blazing sun for sun long despite wearing sunscreen. It seems mad to me to not even provide some shade while people are waiting especially when most people in the que were Northern Europeans.

Gave up after 40 mins and the que hadn’t moved. Wasted trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Baldo also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Tremosine, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing